Trish McEvoy • Eye Base • Eye Primer

rated 4.3(21 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Arpita1 on 8/23/2013 7:54:00 PM more reviews by Arpita1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

HG status. I was shocked at how it brightened up under my eyes, and just made it look so much better. The MA swiped it under the "danger zone", which is apparently what you call the area under the eyes and the inner eye corner. I loved the effect so much. Must have in my makeup arsenal.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CarlaN on 8/14/2013 12:42:00 PM more reviews by CarlaN

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I am very fair (NW15 in MAC), almost 50, and the not-so-proud owner of The World's Greasiest Eyelids.

Also, I wear contacts, and, as an animal lover/respecter, I will not buy cosmetic products from companies that test on animals.

All that to say: I am extremely particular. I feel almost as if I have tried just about every eye primer/base on the market - some famous, others not. I like this one (in the shade "Bare") best, because it smooths, brightens, and evens out my upper lid area beautifully, and retards creasing. I do experience a mild case of the "Creasy-Greasies" after five to six hours wear, but, for me, that ranks as excellent. My only beef, albeit a minor one, with this product is the fact that you really need to blend it out immediately after application, because it sets quickly and it sets firmly. Once you get used to that, though, it is not a problem. I like to quickly sweep a smooth matte neutral cream/bisque powder eyeshadow (like Cinema Secrets' "Nude") over the primer, once it's blended - it's like an instant good night's sleep!

I would not mind if the price were lower, but in my opinion it is well worth $25 to get a high-quality, high-performing product from a classy, cruelty-free company.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cutie7 on 4/6/2013 7:40:00 PM more reviews by Cutie7

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a great eye base/primer if you use it correctly. I bought this a few years ago and wasn't "blown away" though I don't believe I was applying enough and applying it correctly. I've been wanting another primer and thought I'd check this out further as to why it didn't work for me before. I went on to Trish's website and watched a video on makeup application and this primer.
First, use good lighting! Also, if your eye lids are dry and/or you want to ensure a smooth, wide-awake finish, apply a lite eye serum on top of your eye lid (I use Chantecaille Nano Gold serum though Trish's Booster eye serum works well too) and let it dry a moment. Then, spread the product in two or three separate swipes across your eye lid (one eyelid at a time). Next, quickly take an eye shadow brush (I use Trish's medium eye shadow brush) and blend it across and downward/upward over your entire lid up and across your brow area. Viola! Your eyes will now look rested - you can wear the primer alone for a fresh look or apply eye shadow on top and not worry about creasing!

The video was helpful; previously I wasn't applying enough product to my eye lid and my blending technique was off. The serum on top of my eye ensures the primer "clings" to something and keeps your eye lid a little hydrated and helps ensure a smooth canvas (and no crepeyness).

Note, do test the eye primers as there are several colors. I chose Bare - it's a neutral light beige. Doubles as a base (wear a lone) and primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* micdeajones on 10/18/2012 1:45:00 AM more reviews by micdeajones

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good eye base that not only conceals dark eyelids, but gives eye shadows a very silky canvas to cling to. It's very light and dries fast so a light and quick hand is required.

The tube is a good size which makes up for the price. While there are other eyelid primers that can do the job of making a look last, this primer created one of the silkiest finishes I've ever experienced. Blending is effortless. This just may be my HG primer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laurenrbrown on 8/5/2012 6:43:00 PM more reviews by laurenrbrown

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

These have excellent coverage which is nice because bare eyelids typically have a lot of redness or even visible veins. In other words, they're great to use with or without eyeshadow, but eyeshadow will go on more vibrantly over the top. I have clients that get confused and attempt to use this product as under-eye concealer: Big no-no! These are only to be used on the eyelid.

These are VERY water-resistant and they dry quickly. You have to blend them fast or they will not budge. There are a handful of different shades so it's best to visit an actual counter where you can be matched to the appropriate shade. I wish they were packaged in a squeeze tube where you could get more product out.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lak30 on 6/3/2012 1:40:00 PM more reviews by lak30

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm now on my second lot of this, and find I can't really do without it! I'd previously used Boots No.7 eye base which was great for the price (recommended if you want a more budget version), but would stay a bit sticky meaning I could only use cream shadow over it. The Trish version does dry very quickly so needs to be applied speedily, but then makes the perfect base which lasts all day. I find it does a great job of brightening my dark eyes, and certainly means that eye shadow stays put and doesn't rub off. Sometimes I wear it on its own with eye liner and mascara for a natural look (used always to use Bobbi Brown Malted for this, which is a fab neutral, but now I have Trish eye base my Malted has stayed in the makeup bag...). A little goes a long way so I found my first tube lasted me several months, which helps soften the fact that it costs twice the price of the Boots version! I would certainly recommend this to anyone my age, the only caveat for older skin being that I'm not sure how well the dry texture would work when the skin is that much looser on the eye lid (might get my 64-year-old Mum to try it and see how she gets on!). A Trish winner as far as I'm concerned.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JavaJunkie on 5/28/2012 2:45:00 AM more reviews by JavaJunkie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Bought this in Bare after receiving a couple of trial sizes. I think I may want to keep looking. My HG primer from Lancome is no longer available, and I wasn't sure I was crazy about anything else I've tried. This base from Trish is good, and has great staying power, but someone else pointed out something that I'd noticed myself. If you don't blend in this base very well--and very quickly--it will dry into a crepy landscape. Not a good thing, because it's almost impossible to buff down once it's dry. That said, I often smooth a bit of this around to the area under my eye to hold my liner a bit longer, especially if I use powder to line. It really does keep my shadow in place, but I am troubled by the crepe effect, since I'm not 25 anymore and would rather not exaggerate problems in the eye area. I wasn't crazy about UD, so I may try for a better shade of LM--I do like that brand. All in all, I'm still on the hunt to replace my HG shadow base (sigh)...will keep trying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 citylady on 9/5/2011 9:48:00 AM more reviews by citylady

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I had gotten a sample of this in Bare and thought it was ok. Maybe looked a tad chalky but it did help my powder eye shadow last longer. I usually wear BB's cream eye shadow in Malted or stone as a base for eye shadow powder but they do change the resulting color.
Decided to try this in demure when Trish did 20% off online and I like it much better. Since I'm over 50, my eyelids aren't perfectly smooth but I think this makes them look a bit smoother. I just use a teeny bit. I think if you use more, you can end up with a slightly drier result. It has a teeny bit a sparkles in it but doesn't look like overall shimmer. I think the teeny bit of sparkle makes it look better than the Bare did (& I'm not fond of shimmer).
Would I be heartbroken if this was discontinued? Probably not. But I do plan on repurchasing.
Edit 10/11/11 - the teeny bit of sparkle was more than a teeny bit. I bought this in Sand and it seems a perfect match to my skin tone. It's not sparkly but it's not chalky either. Blends well and is more flattering than Demure.
5/29/12 EDIT - I find the new Edward Bess eye shadow base better.
3/17/13 EDIT - NARS is better than anything I've tried.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 3/31/2011 12:37:00 PM more reviews by julia178

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A few years ago I loved this product, it seemed like a convenient and effective cream to powder base to even out the color of my lids and a good foundation to apply eye shadow or on some days I would just use the base on its own. It looked really polished and the shade Sand was the perfect peachy beige which suited my cool fair complexion (MAC NW15, BB Porcelain) well. Fast forward to this spring: I applied the product from the tube that was about a year old and blended with with my fingers and I was shocked to see my eye lids all crepey and really old looking, actually much worse than without any product. Not the look I was going for, especially since my eye area looked well hydrated to begin with! I just wanted to even out the skin tone a bit. Yes, we all get older, but putting on product is supposed to improve things, not worsen them. So I thought maybe my tube was old and I bought a new one. Unfortunately, the same thing happened, no matter how little I applied my eye area looks dry and parched and crepey. So I am unsure whether Trish has reformulated this product or if I got another bad tube, or what else is going on, but sadly this is clearly not working for me anymore. I liked the Eye Base because it comes in a tube with a doe foot applicator which is convenient for travel. I will now use Paula Dorf's Eye Primer exclusively, that primer has not failed me so far. The Paula Dorf Eye Primer comes in a pot and it is best applied with a brush. Last step is applying a white or cream powder shadow with a fluffy brush to set the primer. So it's a little more work but well worth the effort considering the beautiful even results, please see my separate review for the Paula Dorf product if interested. Will not repurchase the Trish Eye Base.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Decoy2 on 12/9/2010 1:32:00 AM more reviews by Decoy2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I thought this eye base is great and sometimes I wear it just by itself and it is sort of a matte light skin type color, but doesn't blend in to your skin exactly, like some do. It's pretty cool stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Trish McEvoy products

More Eye Primer products