Unlisted Brand • Monistat - Chafing Relief Powder-Gel • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.9(830 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 skitles78 on 3/23/2014 11:33:00 PM more reviews by skitles78

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have very oily skin and was in need of an inexpensive primer that would help my makeup stay in place throughout the day. I read the reviews for it, and while they were very good, I noticed a few cautioning that this creates cystic acne. I ignored the reviews because I wasn't sure if it would break me out. But sadly it did. I got cystic acne on my cheeks right after using it for only one day. But if you don't have acne prone skin I feel that this would be a great option because it really made makeup application easy because my skin was sooo smooth and also my makeup did last long. BUT ACNE PRONE SKIN STEER CLEAR

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vixnkitten on 3/19/2014 2:26:00 PM more reviews by vixnkitten

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using Monistat Chafing Relief powder gel as a makeup primer for a few years now. I had stumbled upon it while watching youtube videos by several makeup gurus. I am amazed at how much this stuff is like all of the high end primers (MAC, Smashbox, BE, ELF - but that's cheap, LORAC, etc) that I have used. It is uber cheap, especially if you go to Monistat's website first and download a coupon for it before heading over to Walmart to buy it. Seriously, this gel makes my skin smooth and even and allows me to have a perfect application every time. I put the gel on, then apply my liquid foundation with a flat top kabuki brush and then apply powder over that. It is amazing. I don't think I will EVER use a high end primer again. This stuff is HG status for me!!! Can't beat the price OR the quality!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 linwild on 2/25/2014 11:02:00 AM more reviews by linwild

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this based on advice from Jen (FrmHeadToToe) and love it. I was really skeptical, particularly because I have dry sensitive skin and a lot of products irritate me. This one didn't clog my pores, break me out, dry me out, or generate any other adverse effects. It just gave me a beautiful soft finish. I tried adding it to some homemade BB cream that was too greasy; it totally fixed it and gave me a perfect base for applying makeup. This is a definite staple.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chris4959 on 2/24/2014 4:06:00 PM more reviews by chris4959

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have used several primers in the past. I prefer a thicker, heavier primer for days that I am really going all out with makeup. Using this gel is best compared to the smashbox or sephora gel primers. In fact I would consider it a dead ringer and a lot more affordable.

The tube comes with a lot of product and with daily use lasts me close to 2 months. I have very oily skin and it will hold up most of the day. At the least I start with a smooth canvas using this product. Definately recommend

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarahashleymac on 2/21/2014 11:58:00 PM more reviews by sarahashleymac

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Grey    

I used to use Sephora's perfecting primer and thought it was amazing until i tried the monistat gel. It sounds bizarre, but it is so much cheaper and I actually like it better! You get a fair amount in the package and i prefer the tube over sephora's pump bottle. It blends into skin nicely and minimizes my laugh lines and pores on my nose. It makes my foundation go on smoothly and it is almost a hybrid between a gel and a powder. It dries nicely and does not cause my makeup to pill or slide off my face. Only downside is I live in Canada where this is not for sale so I tend to order the product on ebay (about $30 for 2 including shipping) so this is still less than half the price of Smashbox and just about half the price of Sephora's primer. Note: I have very dry sensitive skin and while it does not cling to dry patches or cause irritation, I am not sure how well it would work on oily or acne prone skin. Also, this product works better with my liquid foundation (Mac Studio Fix Fluid or Revlon Colorstay) than powder foundation (Mac Studio Fix).

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 knt2009 on 2/3/2014 7:16:00 PM more reviews by knt2009

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Found this at my local Walmart for around $6. It is a very good and affordable product. I haven't found anything miraculous about it but it makes my skin pretty smooth and my foundation stays on all day long. I will definitely be repurchasing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StarsnRocketsES on 2/2/2014 3:01:00 PM more reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Works well as an affordable primer. The key is- you only need a small amount. I find applying too much will make my foundation slide off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Funmib on 1/24/2014 2:30:00 PM more reviews by Funmib

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Made my foundation look lighter & wiped right off my face when I touched it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nappeal on 1/20/2014 4:34:00 PM more reviews by nappeal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I recently ran out of my Smashbox Photo finish primer, but since money is tight at the moment, I can't afford to drop $40 on it, I went for this Monistat primer trick I've been hearing so much about. First of all, I was surprised by how small the tube was...could be just the size that was available at my store, but that's not a huge concern. After I told my husband about this stuff, he was so grossed out that I was putting feminine product of my face, but I told him he had to trust this idea LOL The texture is that of any other kind of primer, but thicker than my Smashbox, which I liked. I was worried that it would give me a funky rash reaction or make my face break out, but has yet to in the 4 days thus far that I've been using it. I am so happy with how great my foundation holds thru the day; usually by 2 or 3, my redness is starting to show or my pores or the little imperfections, but with the Monistat, the coverage is even all day. I would question the first person who thought Monistat could work on the face, but I'm glad they did!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 loveintheasylum on 1/20/2014 2:54:00 PM more reviews by loveintheasylum

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I know what you're thinking when it comes to the brand Monistat, but throw away that notion because in this case their anti-chafing gel makes a GREAT makeup primer. About a year ago when I started out wearing makeup, I read you needed primer. Being on budget, I came here and read that this stuff helps keep your makeup on, ok, I'll buy it. It was funny as I was really disappointed that CVS didnt have it (more like the clerk didn't even know where it was) until saw it was in the feminine aisle. Anyway, came in blue and pink tube and the consistency was smooth, powdery and maybe a little greasy but left on your skin it had a nice matte finish. My foundation(Revlon colorstay) didn't budge or melt off my face; very helpful in humid, hot weather with oily skin. At CVS it was almost $9(!?) for a 1.5 oz/42. gram tube; a little bit goes a long way though because too much will make it 'pill' which isn't nice. Despite the price and the brand name, this is my HG product. I heard about others which are more pricier, but in the end, they contain the same ingredient: Dimethicone, a type of silicone. Yep, so why waste $ when you can get something way cheaper and just as effective? Save your money and get this, you won't be sorry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Primer/ Corrector products