Kiss My Face • Upper Management Styling Gel • Styling Products

rated 4.1(11 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 turquoiseginger on 2/21/2013 1:07:00 AM more reviews by turquoiseginger

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this gel. Kinky Curly Curling Custard is my holy grail for soft shiny curls, but when I'm in a pinch or need something that provides more hold - say when I want to slick my hair into a bun - I use this gel instead.

It's a great gel, firm hold, but not too crunchy. Fresh, light scent that doesn't irritate my sensitive nose.

UPDATE: I hadn't seen this gel for sale in months. I just saw it pop up in my local food store in different packaging. I'm not sure if they reformulated the product as well, so I can't attest to this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marley100 on 12/1/2012 10:02:00 PM more reviews by marley100

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using Upper Management for over a year, ever since my Korres lime gel was discontinued. It's better than Korres.


Like Korres, no buildup or cones, and it's better because it has more hold without gunking up my hair.


It has a fresh, clean mild grapefruit smell. And it's dirt cheap online at Vitacost and Swanson Vitamins--less than $6.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* emodel on 5/25/2010 3:50:00 AM more reviews by emodel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I think for a more natural hair gel, this is `as good as it gets`! Kinda light weight, soft grapefruit smell, and it holds my curls in pretty locks, no hard crunchyness... My husband is using it too, he likes it a lot too. I don`t mind the price, around $9. It lasts for months and months... I will keep buying this for sure... :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* onethousandcurls on 1/3/2010 12:41:00 PM more reviews by onethousandcurls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really hated this. It was pretty pricey for a gel - which is not a product I could ever justify mini-splurging on.

The gel itself is very thick, which is fine with me, but the bottle has a typical dispensing cap on top - after you use up some gel, it becomes more difficult to get the remainder out. The bottle should be inverted.

When I apply the gel, it seems to instantly dry up the water on my hair (I apply to very wet hair). This isn't something I want, and makes styling my curls difficult without the extra water. But it's got pretty average hold, so it does do its job.

The smell is also a fakey citrus smell that smells like a chemical dressed up as a grapefruit.

I'll stick with my trusty Herbal Essences Set Me Up gel, available everywhere for much less and smells awesome and does its job without being a pain in the butt!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GadoGado on 10/14/2009 7:57:00 AM more reviews by GadoGado

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

Upper Management Styling Gel is 100% awesome and I will use it until I die!


I've been using this medium hold gel for at least 9 years, and I am a lifelong gel user (strong hold only when I was a teenager). I have chemically-treated, long, curly hair, so I want something that will prevent frizz and hold well, but won't make my hair crunchy. I only air-dry it to reduce the amount of damage I'm doing to it. This involves one morning applying the gel through my hair while it is still damp after a wash, then putting it into two braids, allowing it to air-dry throughout the day, and then taking out the braids the next morning.


My hair is always soft (not crunchy), the waves from the braids hold until I wash it again, and my hair is shiny and smells lovely (grapefruit in French sounds so playful - "pamplemousse!").


For those who've experienced crunch, I recommend you apply it to your hair when it is slightly damp, or damper than when you previously used it. You can also try adding a little water to it in the palm of your hand.


Plus all the other benefits mentioned: it's made with certified organic ingredients, is biodegradable, doesn't have comedogenic ingredients, no SLS, no parabens, and the bottle is made with PETE 1 plastic (the easiest to recycle).


BEST KEPT SECRET ABOUT THIS: When I get down to the last little bit of gel in a bottle, I used to cut open the bottle and scrape the last of it out with my finger. With Upper Management you can add a bit of water, shake the bottle, and reconstitute the last bit. It doesn't weaken the strength of the gel at all. I've stretched several bottles a lot longer through this method (a couple of weeks!), and I have a TON of hair. The value of this little bottle of gel is great.


Do try this!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 7/20/2009 11:51:00 PM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This offers decent hold and really gave my curls a nice boost without looking stiff or sticky. My hair was soft and held body throughout the day. Plus I love the grapefruit smell. I would still like a little bit more hold, but I love that this is natural and does not contain chemicals that could wreck my hair. A bottle was nine bucks for me at Wholefoods.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wws1980 on 7/20/2009 5:45:00 PM more reviews by wws1980

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is the closest I've come to a HG in the short time I've been CG. I co-wash, put in a leave in and then scrunch in this gel. It dries quite crunchy but that's easily scrunched out. I'm left with nice, bouncy waves.

update: I'm no longer strictly CG but this is the only hair product that gives me consistently good results. It enhances my wave pattern, helps clumping (that's a good thing!), and gives me frizz-free, beautiful hair. I scrunch it in upside down and air dry. When it's dry, I SOTC with a light oil or leave in.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shannonannagins on 7/9/2009 2:58:00 AM more reviews by shannonannagins

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The first time I used this, I wasn't sure I liked it, but now it's my favorite hair gel, second only to Aveda's Confixor. The texture is thicker than I would have expected for a light/medium hold gel, but once it's in my hair, it doesn't feel gunky or sticky. I've used both for a blow out and for air drying my wavy hair, and both times, my hair turned out very nicely.

Also, the smell is quite good--a completely natural grapefruit scent, which is bright and clean.

This gel gives my fine, wavy hair a very nice texture without weighing it down.

Edit: Changed my mind. Over time, this stuff left a weird feeling in my hair, like it was drying it out, although I'm not sure which ingredient would be doing that. I'm using an Aussie gel, and I like it much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ABB on 6/14/2009 2:12:00 PM more reviews by ABB

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

This is a good gel for my thick, wavy/curly hair when I want a light, natural hold. Sometimes I need a break from all the chemicals that I saturate my body with, and this gel is a great alternative. It doesn't flake or weigh my hair down and the grapefruit scent is very pleasant. I just finished my first bottle and plan to repurchase since this is a good product to keep in my rotation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MacEng on 6/23/2008 10:21:00 PM more reviews by MacEng

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I find this gel interesting to use... when I scrunch it into my wavy hair while it's still wet, it really feels as if it 'sucks' all the remaining water out of my hair. Once I saw that one of the main ingredients is hyaluronic acid, I thought that might explain it, because hyaluronic acid holds water very well. Anyways, I got this gel because it doesn't have SLS or silicones, and it works all right for me, but it still leaves some of my hair strands stiff and crunchy, like most gels. So even though it's not bad, I won't buy it again and instead will move on to trying something else, in my search for that perfect soft hold...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kiss My Face products

More Styling Products products