Chanel • Stylo Yeux Waterproof - Black Shimmer 70 • Eyeliner

rated 4.8(18 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.94%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 3/3/2014 6:58:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love these liners, especially this color. I have so many shimmery and glittery black eyeliners but this is like the best parts of each all rolled into one. This has enough shimmer to show up well but it's not obnoxious or too heavy handed for a conservative eye look. The shimmer doesn't irritate my eyes or leave fallout everywhere. And it doesn't smudge or transfer at all. My skin isn't oily or anything where I would typically have issues with that, but darker liners do tend to smear on me sometimes.

As a lot of other reviewers have mentioned, it's a soft black. But it's definitely black, not deep gray. It's my go to black liner when I want something dramatic but not as intense as a rich, matte black. It goes on easily in a single pass and doesn't tug or skip. It has a nice texture, creamy but firm enough to get a precise line. Not waxy either. I like the simple packaging and the little sharpener attached to the end. So convenient.

I'd absolutely keep buying this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ninanina on 5/23/2012 8:11:00 AM more reviews by ninanina

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Thee best almost black eyeliner! First of all, this really is water proof not just a claim. The color itself is subtle while still black. It's not cheap, but it's worth it and I know because I've been searching from drugstore to he eyliners that this is worth the $30 and then some!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nikki526 on 10/23/2011 4:36:00 PM more reviews by Nikki526

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this product! It took me awhile to find the right black eyeliner that does not smudge, and I was very pleased when I tried this one. Even though it is waterproof it is not that hard to take off, all you really need is eye make up remover. And the best part is it stays on alll day!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 catlover9_9 on 9/29/2011 8:12:00 PM more reviews by catlover9_9

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a great liner! The color is softer than a true black, so it's subtle enough for day, yet can be built up for night. The shimmer isn't garish or harsh; you're not going to notice it unless you look really hard. The only thing I don't like is that the point can be a little hard during the winter, so you need to rub it on the back of your hand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miele2007 on 9/28/2011 3:50:00 PM more reviews by miele2007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Like a fancy version of Revon's Colorstay eyeliner. Black Shimmer has become my new daily eyeliner, with Espresso thrown in to the rotation. Softer than a true black or liquid, it manages to remain present all day, (thanks to being waterproof,) without being garish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kitajenn on 6/10/2011 1:45:00 PM more reviews by kitajenn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this on a whim with Rose Platine after a Chanel makeover, but it quickly became a staple eyeliner for me. It smudges beautifully and lasts all day without budging. Black eyeliner is too harsh on me, but this is a beautiful shimmery dark grey. The price per ounce kind of hurts when you do the math, but for something I love and use nearly every day, I think it's worth five lippies.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Paiger171 on 1/25/2009 8:19:00 PM more reviews by Paiger171

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love this liner. I wanted to get my original grey liner in the same line, but they were out. The SA told me black shimmer isn't as harsh as ebony is. She was right; this color is gorgeous, without being too harsh on my fair skin/hair, blue eyes. I love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LPomona on 1/13/2009 12:31:00 PM more reviews by LPomona

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Hazel    

Love it! Love it! Love it!

Calling this Black Shimmer is a tad bid deceiving, imho, as the "shimmer" is really, really subtle. That is to say that the only way I can detect any shimmer is by standing in direct sunlight & looking at my eyes w/a magnifying mirror!

Having said that, this gem of a pencil gives the most lovely dark line without the harshness of a traditional black liner. I first prime my lids with the lightest dusting of powder, & this pencil does not migrate anywhere. It sticks like glue & is there at the end of the day.

Brief word of caution to those not familiar w/waterproof pencils, as there was a bit of a learning curve for me with this one. I'm used to using Chanel Le Crayon Khol (in Graphite) which glides on like silk. Not so w/Stylo Yeux Waterproof. The first *several* times I used it I was not impressed with the jagged line it left on my lids. I tried warming it w/my hairdryer but I warmed it too much & the tip of the pencil broke off when I touched it to my lid. Damn - that was an expensive mistake. Finally, I've learned to sort of dab it on with the shortest little strokes right next to the lashline. For me, applying with one smooth stroke across the lid does not work with this waxy/dryish formula. Now that I've figured it out, I love this pencil to death.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 eunice866 on 12/17/2008 10:48:00 PM more reviews by eunice866

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love love love this eyeliner! This is my perfect everyday casual eyeliner. It does not apply as black - more like a shimmery charcoal. But because it is a waterproof eyeliner, it is a bit waxy, so during the winter or when it's very cold it will drag/pull on your skin a bit - but this isn't a problem, just heat it up a bit with your breath or hair dryer and it goes on smooth as silk. Also, the glitter isn't chunky - it's very fine. The only downside is that it can smudge a bit if you don't set it with some type of powder. I only apply this to my top lashline, but after some time, it always seems to smudge off a little onto my lower lashline.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nancygia on 12/15/2008 4:52:00 PM more reviews by Nancygia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

In general, regardless of whether they are waterproof or not, I find that black eyeliner smudges. Not this one, though. The shimmer is incredibly subtle and makes the color a little bit softer than a true black. I've tested it by using this liner on one eye and another brand on the other eye (I put them on alphabetically by brand so I can tell which is which) and this one never disappoints. So, it may be a little bit expensive but I really think it's worth a little bit extra to avoid raccoon eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Eyeliner products