Gigi • Dark Honee wax • Hair Removal

rated 3.6(8 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 mwwag on 12/19/2012 3:58:00 PM more reviews by mwwag

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

WOW!! I cannot believe I even tried this-- I attempted to give myself a bikini wax using the gigi dark honee wax and completely failed. the wax stuck to me but not to the strips. I was able to pull a few pieces of hair out but it was definitely not worth the clean up process afterwards. I will walk around for the rest of the day with wax on my hooha. Anyway, I do not reccommend this and would not try it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Haruhi13 on 3/13/2012 7:55:00 PM more reviews by Haruhi13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I hated this. It pulled the hair out, but it was super sticky and messy and got EVERYWHERE. :\ I don't think I'll be buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 valeria1025 on 7/6/2011 12:18:00 PM more reviews by valeria1025

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I google'd this product before I bought and read some really bad reviews. Thank goodness I decided to try it myself because I love it! I used to use the All Purpose wax by Gigi and waxing my legs took forever because that wax would leave half my hair behind. I'm no pro at waxing, but this wax was MUCH better at gripping and removing my leg hair, and remarkably, it hurt waaaayy less. So much less that I'm considering another attempt to do a Brazilian. FYI I tried the Gigi Hard wax for the brazilian and that was the worst experience of my life. Never again. I will do soft wax and this dark honee stuff will be what I try the next time I get up the courage to try for a neatly groomed (via wax) whoohah.

This isnt as sticky as I feared after reading all those bad reviews. In fact, I thought it was much easier to apply than the All purpose wax. THAT was a sticky mess! I will be buying Dark Honee again.

Also, because everyone's hair is different, Im a 26 year old woman of West Indian decent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Bchow1 on 2/16/2011 3:41:00 PM more reviews by Bchow1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was hoping that this product would be better than the All Purpose Honee but unfortunately, it was not. I found that it did not grip hair as well as the all purpose one. I used this on my bf's chest and had lots of hairs still remaining. Also, lots of wax still clung to his chest too. I bought this to try since it came with free strips as a promotion from Sally's. I will go back to using the All Purpose Honee wax instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bustedheadband on 4/3/2010 9:33:00 PM more reviews by bustedheadband

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this wax. I have very coarse hair and it definitely needs something strong to pull it out. Also, strangely, it seems less painful than normal.
As far as smell goes, I think it smells like wax. Nothing obnoxious.
One thing to know about wax, though, is that it is really hard to get off surfaces and skin. So, make sure to have baby oil (for skin) and Goo Gone (for surfaces).
But, I really like this wax and will definitely repurchase!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RUThereGodItsMeMargaret on 9/11/2009 12:12:00 AM more reviews by RUThereGodItsMeMargaret

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I use this to wax my legs. It says it for coarse hair and it worked quite well. It was fast and hardly any wax was left behind. Im going to purchase it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mollypop5 on 11/1/2008 10:32:00 AM more reviews by mollypop5

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the second GiGi wax that I've tried that I've been really disappointed with (the other being Brazilian microwave formula -- creamy green color -- it was awful too, but for different reasons). For this one I decided to go all out and do it right -- bought the GiGi space saver warmer, muslin strips and the Dark Honee wax. I decided on the Dark Honee because from the GiGi pull down wax guide at my local Sally's it said that it was the best for coarse hair and was "fast and efficient." Who doesn't want a bikini wax to be fast and efficient? What it did get it got all the way -- no strays. But I had a problem with it gooping together and much of it being left behind. VERY sticky, but removable with baby oil and hot water, thankfully. What I couldn't figure out was why one pull worked and the next didn't... very frustrating, it was a mess, I'm going to buy a new one and try again. Might try a Jilbere wax this time since I've been disappointed with GiGi twice now. (p.s. I'm not new to waxing -- I used the SH microwave formula for years and have had it professionally done; my reason to move away from the Sally formula is that don't think it has to be that painful.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* boo_hiss on 11/5/2007 6:33:00 PM more reviews by boo_hiss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Today I gave myself my first bikini wax with this great wax. I've tried to do the job with Nad's before but it was a nightmare. For the bikini line I feel like a person needs "real" wax. Anyway this doesn't leave any hairs behind at all. My Betty turned out a little uneven but that is due to my inexperience and not the wax itself. Anyway a 14 oz. can cost $13 or so at Sally's and I don't think I used 1/10 of it. I used the Gigi Space Saver warmer and the wax was the perfect consistency, not too thick so it didn't drip all over the place. I used to try to use Nad's on big areas but it simply will not work like a traditional heated wax will. This was quick and easy and anyone thinking about waxing themselves should try it!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Gigi products

More Hair Removal products