GHD • Original GHD Hairstyling Iron with Ceramic Technology • Hair Styling Tools

rated 4.3(124 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 MsZabz on 11/26/2013 9:03:00 PM more reviews by MsZabz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I would be so lost without this flat iron! I am a true believer in having the right tools for the job and at first I didn't think I really needed something as fancy as this since I have very fine hair but now when I look at photos of my hair before I started using it, what a big difference!

My hair never had as much shine to it and when I catch a glimpse of my hair in the mirror under a light, my hair looks so glossy. I also find that I barely have any split ends these days because the iron doesn't cause the same kind of damage that other ones have.

I went on vacation to the Mayan Riviera where it gets extremely humid and before leaving the room, I flat ironed my hair. I was told that the iron's features locks all the moisture in the hair so that it doesn't frizz up when exposed to humidity. Frizz is just a natural reaction to your hair seeking out more moisture so if the hair is kept moist enough, it won't feel the need to puff up to allow water in. The flat iron sealed in all my hair's natural moisture and when I stepped out into the humidity, my hair stayed flat as a board. I had other girls around the resort coming up to me with really frizzy hair asking me my secret product to keeping my hair straight. I told them that I spent $300 on the GHD iron. Plus, it also helps to use a strong hairspray to block out the humidity like TresSemme or Got 2 b Glued Freeze Spray.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cactus_Pear on 11/22/2013 6:00:00 AM more reviews by Cactus_Pear

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I balked at spending $200 on a hair straightener but decided to give GHD a chance, considering the only styling I do to my hair is straighten it, and I straighten it everyday. I figured if it was as good as people said, it would be worth it.

WOW! So glad I bought it. Prior to this I was using my CHI ceramic straightener since 2009 and I thought CHI was the best. Nope-- this GHD straightener is amazing.

the GHD beeps when it's hot enough to use. And it beeps within 5-10 seconds of turning on! How does it heat up so fast?

the barrel is rounded so that theoretically this can be used as a hair curler as well. I have never tried it so Idk how well it would work that way.

Plus -- it has an automatic shut off built in if you are forgetful like me. No more anxiety about "Did I leave the flat iron on??"

I was wary of getting a fake one from amazon or evilbay so I bought mine full price from Sephora's website.


Word of advice-- Read the handout instruction book that comes with this. It says wrapping the cord around the iron to store will cause malfunction of the wires. I've been doing that for years! Now I know

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FusiaFever on 10/20/2013 10:55:00 AM more reviews by FusiaFever

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Hands down, this is the best straightener that I have ever used. I used to use the straighteners that the sell at the stands in the mall. Check out my previous reviews. They are alright and cost $50 on ebay. At the time, they were my first straighteners. It took little to be impressed. But several straighteners later, this is the BEST one I have ever used.

I purchased this straighter from the GHD site to ensure authenticity. A lot of the people with poor reviews might want to check that theirs is authentic. There is a code to check whether it is registered on the GHD site. I bought mine on sale on GHD site, so that it came out to ebay prices. I even got a cute storage purse, clips, and book with it. Price was around $180 dollars, though I paid $3 in credit card fees for buying from London. Shipping was fast and FREE.

So far, no regrets. I have been using this straightener for one year now. It works just as well as the day that I bought it a year ago. AND THAT IS THE MAIN DIFFERENCE. You turn it on and it is ready to use in 5 seconds.It even beeps to indicate that. The size and shape is classic black and gold. I like that the top of the flat iron is curved, so that you can use it to make curls. It works just as well as a curler too!

Overall, I am really impressed. I hope to use this straightener for a longtime. I think the best straighteners on the market are CHI and GHD. GHD is bettter though, in my opinion.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hydra101 on 10/19/2013 4:20:00 PM more reviews by hydra101

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have used straighteners for over 20 years and they have come a long way. So over the years I've had various brands and this so far is my favourite - which it better be for the price. Now that my hair is older and more fragile, I'm willing to spend the money - if I was in my 20's, maybe not so much because my hair was stronger back then and I wouldn't have had the cash. Anyway, I was reluctant, but I knew I could return it, so I justified it to myself and bought it at almost $200.00 with tax! I got it the end of August and so far no regrets. It does not cut back on time though if that's what you are hoping for, but the results are impressive. My hair gets really straight and I have wavy hair that I straighten to smooth it out more than anything. In the morning my hair looks crazy, and this still gets it smooth. To me the cost is worth it if this lasts which I'm hoping it does because I will admit it felt odd spending that kind of money on a tool for my hair. But getting ready is better when you like what you're using and it makes you feel good. My advice - if you know you can return it, then try it if you are a daily user of straighteners and have been for a long time. I know it's not healthy to use one all the time, but who am I kidding. And the one setting doesn't bother me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 chrononaut on 6/2/2013 11:45:00 AM more reviews by chrononaut

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

First let me say, I LOVED this iron. I never really used it to straighten but when i did it left my hair sleek and smooth. Not only that but it gave me wonderful waves and curls. I used it about once a week and along with my hair regimen, I have no split ends.

I gave it one star because it costs 185 dollars.
I gave it one star because it costs 185 dollars and it quit on me after 2 months.
I gave it one star because GHD did NOT honor the warranty.

Would repurchase though, if I had the means right now.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Olipants87 on 5/27/2013 9:48:00 PM more reviews by Olipants87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I was so excited to try this straightener after my Sedu died, but sadly it's gotta go back to Sephora. I really really wanted to like it but since it only heats up to 350 it took me TWICE as long to do my hair with subpar results. I have very fine but super kinky blonde hair and this made it look dull and just couldn't cut out the frizz. I tried using tiny portions of hair at one time and still had to pass over the section almost 10 times.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 simskat on 5/6/2013 5:38:00 PM more reviews by simskat

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing straighteners. If you think that because it doesn't get as hot as other flat iron the results won't look as good, then you are completely wrong. In fact, it's the complete opposite. These ones glide through my hair like no other straightener ever did. I am so happy of my purchase, my hair never looked this good.
PS: It's not AS expensive as so many people claim it is. I mean, I got mine from a UK authorized reseller (you can check sites on the ghd website) and the prices were cheaper, international delivery included, than I thought they would be (around 94).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hellokatieeeeee on 4/3/2013 3:53:00 AM more reviews by hellokatieeeeee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely the best straightener ever. Yes, it is very expensive but it makes my hair so silky and smooth. I've had mine for over 2 years now and I am still so in love with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xxsaphxx on 3/20/2013 1:57:00 AM more reviews by xxsaphxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Best straightener. Insanely expensive for a straightener though......

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 zeusandcoco on 2/27/2013 6:29:00 PM more reviews by zeusandcoco

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased my first GHD back mid-2006 and, after using it 2+ times every week ever since, it sadly started to die (the heat would cut out and make a 'sizzling' electrical noise from inside the actual straightener).
So I purchased a new one expecting the same results as the original. What a disappointment. I cannot believe GHD have gone backwards. I used to be able to pass my GHD through a section of hair just once for a perfectly sleek section of hair, now with my new GHD I have to go over the same section 4 or 5 times to get a remotely straightened section, but nothing like the original. My hair gets frizzy much more quickly which I never had a problem with before the new model.
I am positive the temperature has been lowered on the new models, I've read up on the GHD website and they say it is because it doesn't need to be any hotter. GHD, I don't know who your product developers are but they are wrong. You have lost a devotee in me and I will not hesitate to let anyone on the market for a new straightener know that GHD's are definitely not what they used to be.
I used a laser thermometer on both my new GHD-straightened section of hair as well as directly onto the plate, the hair only heated up to 58 degrees celcius, the plate only heated to 160 degrees celcius. Unfortunately when I went to test my original GHD's temperature, it no longer worked but I am positive it would have heated much hotter.

GHD will need to do a pretty massive marketing campaign if they ever decide to revert back to the quality of their original model, because by the sounds of it they are losing a lot of original customers.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More GHD products

More Hair Styling Tools products