Penhaligon's • Lily & Spice • Fragrances

rated 4.2(14 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 airubgirl on 7/9/2013 1:01:00 PM more reviews by airubgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This fragrance opens with a soft dewy lily, not overly loud and yet still very much present. It has an earthiness that keeps it grounded and allows the flower to bloom as if in your garden, not a flower that you would already find in the florist shop, clean and denuded of it's pollen pods. The heart notes allow the vanilla to peek out and add a soft warmth. While there is a hint of musk in the final dry down, it stays true to the lily throughout. I get absolutely no patchouli, which for me is a great thing; I'm sure that is what is adding the earthiness, but it isn't screaming "patchouli" it is just adding a grounding note. Staying power is about average; approximately 6-8 hours on my skin.

I also have Antica Farmacista Casablanca de Parfum and while they both are amazingly natural, and they both are quite similar in that they capture the very essence of this feminine and voluptuous fragrance; for me the PLS is a more intimate lily and I must say that it is a clean smelling lily; not quite so heady as the AFC. I love them both for the subtle nuanced differences they bring to one of my favorite scents, and am so glad to have both to wear and enjoy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 6/28/2013 4:12:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Creamy lilies, but much softer than I thought it would be and almost too sheer and simple. The notes make this sound like it will be fantastic on, but in the end, it was a very simple lily scent, though thankfully without indole. I would wear it if given to me as a gift, but I wouldn't seek it out to buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gother on 7/17/2012 3:14:00 AM more reviews by Gother

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Violet    

Although this might seem overwhelming for some, it has personality and depth so it could be fantastic on the right person. Not me, sadly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BigEars on 7/16/2012 2:38:00 PM more reviews by BigEars

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have a lot of lily scents and for a long time I did not think anything could compare with DK Gold but I was wrong. This is rapidly becoming my favourite lily. I love the mixture of lily and saffron. It has a creamy quality I do not find in Un Lys for instance. Staying power is good and I actually got a compliment from dh on this one, which is unheard of.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EIGNA on 5/19/2011 7:27:00 PM more reviews by EIGNA

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this blend of light florals with the scent of saffron. It's strong enough to last in winter but not overpowering in the heat of summer, so I find I can wear this one year round. Very feminine and sexy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chrystelica on 4/2/2011 12:49:00 PM more reviews by chrystelica

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Not as good as Un Lys for me. I miss the creamy, vanillic base. I smell saffrony pollen but this is so sheer. Very weak EDT, extremely fleeting to my nose. Still, a good scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 1/4/2011 10:53:00 AM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Very pleasing and ladylike floral that I think would satisfy fragrance lovers with purist tendencies. This is a very realistic lily fragrance that has a very clear and sheer air about it. To my nose, it is both very fragile and at the same time very present. The use of spice captures the essence of lilies and to my nose, adds realism to the scent rather than giving it an edgy kick. On a oractical note, I find this much more wearable than Bluebell and Violetta, which do not like my chemistry at all. My only complaint is that my nose has gotten used to its spices very quickly, and nowadays it smells sweeter to my nose. I'm not a floral lover by nature and have moved closer to the genre through Van Cleef’s new floral because they were bright and clean. However, I find this more understated, wearable and natural than them. Good sillage and lasting power. I would rate it around 3.5-4.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PeeShee on 9/29/2010 6:18:00 PM more reviews by PeeShee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Lily is one of my favorite flowers ever, so as you can imagine I have all sorts of lilies planted in front of my house.
I had recieved a sample of this fragrance about 2 years ago, I smelled and and thought it was nice but could not decide if I really wanted it, was it worth getting a full bottle. So I put the sample away and forgot all about it. Then the weather got warm and my beautiful lilies started to bloom and the scent was making me crazy, I mean I wanted to bathe in them. And I kept on thinking there must be a perfume out there that smells exactly like this. So after the lilies petals fell of and the scent was gone I went on a crazy search threw all my samples, and there it was. I came across Lily and Spice and knew I had to have it. It smells JUST LIKE A LILY. It's lushious, delicate, ethereal. I am on my 2nd bottle. I wear it in the fall so that it reminds me of how my lilies smell and it instantly makes me feel great.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SensualSusanna on 9/25/2010 7:32:00 PM more reviews by SensualSusanna

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Someone at Penhaligon's knows their flowers!! Specifically stargazer lillies! I have been on a quest for years to try and find a perfume that smells of stargazers blooming in the hot summer sun; Penhaligon's Lily & Spice is it! One of my favorite flowers to grow in my garden or have in a bouquet --- one stem can fragrance an entire room. Now I can spritz this on and capture those memories of enjoying my favorite garden flower anytime. I am so happy! ! It's no wonder as saffron is a key note. True as the pollen on Stargazer lillies is a strong note.... but saffron is an anti-depressent aromatheraputically and internally. It's a great chummy scent that I adore. I am swooning over my new full bottle. If you enjoy the scent of stargazers or big oriental lillies of any type, you will probably love this. If not -- send me your full or partial bottles!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KatLyons on 12/13/2009 9:38:00 PM more reviews by KatLyons

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

With an order of full bottles of Sacrebleu and Le Temps d'Une Fete, both by Parfums de Nicolai, I asked Naz at the Perfume Shoppe in Vancouver BC to pick out samples to send me, given what she knows about my taste, and this was one of them. I love it. I am extremely tempted to buy a full bottle, but am holding back, as yet, because of the poor lasting power on me vs price. However, I like it so much, that it is unlikely I will be able to hold out for long. I go back and back to the sample of Lily and Spice and it is only half gone - I love the large 1.5 ml samples that Penhaligon's gives. I also so appreciate reading other's descriptions of scents. "Pennypencil" wrote an excellent review about this one. I am hoping to develop skill in articulating these fine distinctions by buying samples and smelling as I read other's descriptions. I think one of the things I like about Lilly and Spice is the high, almost sharp and spicy, white flower note that is so similar to the narcissis in Le Temps D'Une Fete. To me, they are equally complex, interesting and truly lovely. It does seem, though, that while both might be worn with equal comfort by more mature women, that Lily and Spice is more likely to be enjoyed by younger women, as well. They are both very feminine fragrances.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Penhaligon's products

More Fragrances products