Redken • Fresh Curls Curl Refiner [DISCONTINUED] • Styling Products

rated 3.8(24 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 jpe020 on 10/6/2013 12:10:00 PM more reviews by jpe020

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Best curling cream ever!! A friend of mine gave this to me (she had fine/thin wavy hair) and she said she didn't like it.

But I love it! It's the only curling cream I use. I have tried others, but I always go back to this one. It leaves my hair feeling light, and natural looking. I distribute a small amount in my hands and scrunch it into damp hair and leave it to airdry and my curls become more defined and light and bouncy. It doesn't weigh my hair down at all.

I would definitely recommend this to fellow curly hair people who suffer from thick puffy, frizzy hair!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rhiaxxx on 3/8/2013 8:33:00 AM more reviews by rhiaxxx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I started using this product almost 6 years ago now, and I simply cannot live without it anymore. I put it onto towel dried hair as a conditioning base to my styling product (Redken 07 curl perfector) and then diffuse and go. I use about a walnut and a half sized amount (but I have really long, really curly 3a hair - my hair isn't thick, but i have a LOT of it). It keeps my hair looking shiny, doesn''t weigh it down and dries beautifully. The product doesn't itch or cause any reactions (I also have very sensitive skin and a sensitive scalp), it doesn't leave a residue, and I always get complimented on the smell of my hair. I think it also really helps to keep it as tangle free as you can for 3a hair. I have used some awful products in my life that matte and tangle my hair to the point of where I've considered cutting out huge knots with scissors - but I really haven't had any of this type of frustration whilst I've been using this product. I also think that it has helped my hair to get healthier - it feels a lot better and i noticed the difference after 2-3 uses of the product. Also, considering how long my hair is, the prodduct lasts me AGES - over 5 months. So it works out really cheap too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 filipinolove on 11/28/2012 9:48:00 PM more reviews by filipinolove

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff! I don't curl my hair very often, but when I do this makes my curls feel soft and manageable. Lately, i've been curling it more since it's naturally curly and this stuff makes my curls look so wonderful! They don't frizz up or poof out and they don't have that awful crunchy feeling I hate so much. Definitely a repurchase!! It may be expensive, but the bottle i have has lasted me almost a year. But, I also didn't use it that often.This stuff is seriously the best I've ever used, though; and a little does a lot for my hair which is about 3-4 inches past my shoulders.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bermygirl1206 on 8/6/2012 9:54:00 PM more reviews by Bermygirl1206

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is AMAZING!!!!!!

I have medium-thick, coarse, looooong, mixed, brunette hair. I have tried EVERYTHING! Everything you can find in a pharmacy/drugstore, even salon brands such as PM, MorrocanOil, Kerastase, TIGI Catwalk, and the list goes on. This works the best!!!! My hair is prone to frizz since where I live, its basically 95% humidity year-round :(

I love the smell as well. The packaging is great because you can get every last drop unlike those annoying pump bottles.
It's extremely pricey though, one tube is about $30 where I live, and it makes it even pricier because my hair is very long so I have to use quite a bit, ergo it won't last me as long as other consumers. Now, it doesn't keep my hair 100% frizz free, and I wouldn't expect it to. But it makes my hair EXTREMELY manageable, soft and shiny and controls about 95% of the frizz.

I think I may have found my HG hair styling product. *Knock on wood* :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fiby on 11/24/2011 3:55:00 AM more reviews by fiby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not really sure what I think of this. It has some nice qualities and some disappointments.

+ Nice smell

+ Conditions well

+ Smooths down

+ Big tube, long lasting

- Doesn't enchance my curls as much as I wished it would (but my hair is rather wavy, so it's not perhaps product's fault...)


So basically I might buy this again just because of the smell and because of the fact that it is a good leave-in conditioner but for my curls... maybe not. Will use this tube without a doubt but probably try something else next.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ondreas1 on 9/11/2011 2:43:00 PM more reviews by ondreas1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I am on my second tube of fresh curls and I can't live without it. I have very long curly hair that is hard to manage. Fresh curls smells great and it actually lasted me awhile. I use more than one product on my hair ,but this is my starting point. It doesn't leave a build up and you can rinse it out without washing your hair. Also, I always buy mine at JCPenney salons where it is always $16.50 or less! They usually have some kind of special and/or coupons too. Hope this product works for you too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Elektra2070 on 6/3/2011 6:20:00 PM more reviews by Elektra2070

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I think this product is made for people who wash their hair everyday. I have coarse east-Indian hair, and on the second day my hair was in tangles. The softness I experienced on the first day did not translate to the next. I purchased this at a salon and applied as instructed by a Master stylist. Maybe this would be ok for a night out for someone with shorter hair who would wash it out when they come home. But yes, on the second day the frizz, dullness, coarseness, all come back.

So this is why I bought the Bumble & Bumble calming cream. If the REDKEN product worked for you, great, but it didn't for me. :)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JChrisBee on 5/27/2011 9:48:00 PM more reviews by JChrisBee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a creme "leave-in anti-frizz detangler for unruly curls". My stylist recommended it and said my thick hair could handle it. I was worried it would be oily or greasy, but I can apply a good almost inch long bit to my hair and it really does wonders with my frizzy waves. I also apply to dry hair (versus wet hair) with no problems with residue. I'm hooked. It smells very nice and clean, too. An 8.5 ounce bottle was $17 at Ulta.

Funny thing is my mother-in-law exlaimed, You got a perm! after I put this on. It is amazing stuff.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lylalies on 12/12/2010 11:27:00 AM more reviews by lylalies

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great product! It left my hair soft, tangle free, and curly. I used it when I had my hair really long, and it work great, and now that I have short hair it works just as well. I really recomment it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 clairekathleen on 8/4/2010 7:22:00 AM more reviews by clairekathleen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have fine, wavy hair and I give this product an average rating only because it DOES work to make your hair curlier. However, it really does dry out your hair, and makes it feel stiff rather than soft, which is a problem for me because I already have dry hair. I was using the Fresh Curls conditioner, and bought this because I didn't feel the conditioner was doing much on its own to define my curls, but I've stopped using it. Such a waste, because the packaging is HUGE.

The lady at the store I go to said the Redken line uses a lot of chemicals, so I've switched to a product that's less harsh and hopefully will help moisturise my hair better.

Verdict: if you have dry curly hair, don't use this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Redken products

More Styling Products products