Bobbi Brown • Neutral Eye Shadow Palette • Palettes

rated 4.0(11 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Sunshineyaaa on 1/23/2012 4:16:00 AM more reviews by Sunshineyaaa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Bobbi Brown eye shadows go on very smooth, stay in place and don't crease. The only problem with the palette that I bought is that they don't give you any kind of brush or sponge to apply the product. I used the brown to shade in my eyebrows as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hesperia on 1/17/2012 12:04:00 AM more reviews by hesperia

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not a fan of Bobbi Brown. 90% of her products are under-pigmented (don't even start me on her foundations). Having said that, I've had this palette for EVER (no, not gross if you keep it tightly shut and in sanitary conditions). I hit the pan on the two last colors and the ivory color is almost gone.


So, why does this shimmer/satin e/s gal like this so much? Because I never use these shadows on their own. I love Ivory as a base, on top of my primer, to make my lids soft and smooth, with a minimum of color, so that whichever other e/s I use glides on and blends flawlessly. I also dust it over my eyeliner under my lower lashes. Keeps it in place till I take it off.


The next shade after Ivory (I forget the name) is ok as an all over light taupe. The next one, which I think is called Cement, is a darker version of the former. i use it in the crease when I want a more subtle smoky eye. The last and darkest is Mahogany. I use this on top of Cement, to darken the crease, and also in the outer corner of the eye (the V thingy). And also if I want a more subtle line under my eyes.


Like all BB stuff these e/s are not very pigmented, and are a bit hard to blend (like all matte e/s). I always use a primer under these. Improves the performance quite a bit. On their own, they are rather meh. But if you use them as "accessories," in conjunction with other products, they are not bad. I'd give them 3.5, but since I don't have that option, 4 will do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gina2328 on 3/23/2009 9:04:00 AM more reviews by gina2328

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this palette. I bought this on Ebay since it is no longer available. I wanted to try this because the colors are different, very cool-toned and I love matte eyeshadows. I apply the lighted grey-beige on my lid, the next darker color in the crease. The darkest color makes a great liner. The lightest color can be a great all over wash or highlighter.

This is an amazing palette and definitely worth of five stars.
*ETA I also used a couple of the lighter colors for my brow and they are great for the brows also!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Karyn429 on 9/3/2008 7:15:00 PM more reviews by Karyn429

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I just picked up this palette at the CCO at $28. I absolutely love it! The matte colors are gorgeous and they do have staying power on my lid. I used MAC's Untitled Paint as the base. I have two MAC Smoky Eye Palettes and love them, but this one beats them by far. I think that mattes are best for those of us who are getting a bit older and don't really need that extra shine, and this palette has four subtle but beautiful ones! If you can't find it anymore, try your CCO.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 carray10 on 3/24/2008 8:23:00 AM more reviews by carray10

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I was so excited to get this eye shadow palette. I thought, "Oooo, Bobbi Brown eye shadows, so classic. I'll use these every day." BIG DISAPPOINTMENT! First of all, they don't adhere to the skin at all, even with an eyeshadow base. Secondly, the colors are not very neutral. They're warm browns, which really doesn't matter since they don't stick to your skin anyhow. Not worth the hype and definitely waaaay over-priced!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Waiting_tx on 12/18/2007 3:03:00 PM more reviews by Waiting_tx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Recently received in swap. I know I shouldn't have gotten it coz I never use matte shades, let alone these earthy color. When I got it I didn't even want to try them on for a long time, seeing how plain it looked in real, then I thought I must make some use of it...so yes I put them on. Ivory as a highlight, cement as wash, slate as crease and mahogany as liner.

Ivory is LE but you can find these kind anywhere. It's a true ivory color, soft and easy to blend as all other BB shades.

Cement is a good wash color but I feel slate could have more pigmentation. It can look messy and darken the eye area which I so painstakingly brightened up using lemon aid or whatsoever.

Mahogany can be used to create a smokey look if it's darker.

This look, when viewed from a distance, looks sophisticated and understated. It gives me the "fake deeply-set" eyes look. But when one looks closer, it just appears like some messy greyish/brownish colors around my eye.

This palette to me is too "blah" so I'm swapping it away... for reference I'm NC25 dark hazel eyes and black hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lizavet8 on 11/20/2007 6:02:00 PM more reviews by lizavet8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Wow, Instant HG. The first palatte I've ever had where I use all the colors. "Neutral" might me a bit misleading..These are cool, and matte, and great for a deeper smokey eye. Expensive, but the sort of thing you could travel with, and it would be the only eyeshadow you'd need.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 racket11 on 11/18/2007 4:28:00 PM more reviews by racket11

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am now going to double the average age of product reviewers here...
This palette was for me a happy surprise! Cement I have used before and liked, but Slate is a deeper grey than I would have chosen. I find it works very well to accent my eyes, both on the lid and blended over Cement in the outer part of the crease. Also as a subtle lower lid liner. And Mahogany is BB's best brown eyeshadow for lining in my opinion. A great understated look!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Chubbybunny on 11/16/2007 1:16:00 PM more reviews by Chubbybunny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love the neutral shades of shadows. I love either pinks/berry/or neutral palettes and this fits really nice. It's very chic and very pigmented with a bone color, cement, slate, and mohagany. The mohagony color is great for eyeliner which I'm still learning how to master it correctly. The bone and cement were very soft and great for day look. =) Love it. Oh and you should ask for the 10-step bobbi brown makeup booklet when you purchase their products because it's sooo helpful :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tanmh_88 on 11/7/2007 7:56:00 AM more reviews by tanmh_88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I guess it's different opinions! I bought this palette because I prefer matte eyeshadows. I must admit that it is a tad expensive! It is very similar to the Maybelline Expert Eyes Quad that I had many many years ago. I am thrilled to have found a replacement :) I guess I need not explain the shades. The pigment is good enough to show up on my skin (NW25). It is a basic palette I would say- I'll be wearing it with black mascara and liner. For dramatic eyes I would reckon that the colors are not dark enough. Overall very practical and cute! The brush is relatively decent :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Palettes products