MAC • Matte2 - Handwritten • Eye Shadow

rated 4.7(97 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 iheartmakeupbr on 10/22/2013 7:30:00 PM more reviews by iheartmakeupbr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this eyeshadow, i wear it every day on my lid, it doesnt come out too dark on me. I just use a little and I love it as a natural shade. I like it better than embark because it isnt quite as intense so I can use it during the day. I love that it is matte, matte shadows are my absolute favorite and it can be hard to find good matte browns for every day wear. this eye shadow is the reason I signed up for an account here. I never write reviews but I just love this one so much. I put off buying it for years because I thought it would be too warm for my liking but I absolutely love it and would reccommend it to anyone who loves brown shadows. It can have a little fall out if you dont apply it lightly.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ElizBehrrr on 9/27/2013 10:02:00 PM more reviews by ElizBehrrr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

Fantastic crease shade. It's warm but dark at the same time. Absolutely stunning paired with Woodwinked from MAC or any gold shade. It makes for a suitable day or night look, it's right in the middle between "too dark for work" or "too plain for night". Perfect brown.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyjunkie2012 on 7/22/2013 2:43:00 PM more reviews by beautyjunkie2012

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this shade in the pan to complete my neutral palette. I don't know why in the world it took me so long to get this beauty. It is the perfect shade for crease and outer corner looks. On my NC45 skintone it translate as a soft smoky brown with just a smidge of purple (you can only see the purple undertone up close as its very faint). It blends very beautifully on the skin and it doesn't take much to receive the right amount of product on my brush. I definitely see myself reaching for this everyday. I did pair it up with my MAC pigment in "vanilla" and oh my word....the perfect neutral eye that when paired with my bright pink lippie my eyes just popped. If in doubt ladies just get this beauty and try for yourself.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 5/15/2013 more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

About me: NW13-20 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), dark gray- blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW/DSPW.

This is a medium-dark reddish brown shade. I thought Espresso would be my favorite brown shadow from MAC, but I find myself turning to Handwritten more! I thought it would be too red, and possibly make my eyes look tired, but it does the opposite. The red in the brown is just enough to make my blue eyes pop. Great matte color, blends very well, alot of pigmentation - high quality from MAC.

UPDATE - This is easily in my top 5 shadows of all time. It is so versatile, so flattering. It looks dark in the pan, but this can be sheered out or built up for intensity. So gorgeous. I feel like this is the perfect brown for gray, blue, and green eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LishWilliams on 2/22/2013 11:05:00 AM more reviews by LishWilliams

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Great colour to use in the crease, if you don't want something different to black to create a smokey eye. I find it takes a while to blend, but this could be because of less the average blending technique, so hopefully as time goes on, I'll become better at it. I really like this colour and if you haven't got any dark browns in your palette think about getting this

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 loveisblind1 on 1/24/2013 2:48:00 PM more reviews by loveisblind1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This has become my favorite eyeshadow color! I have light yellow based skin (Asian), black hair, dark brown eyes. This eyeshadow really compliments my coloring. I received the most compliments from this eyeshadow than any other. It looks espresso brown in the pan but when applied in a sheer swatch, you can see the purple undertones. It didn't come up red for me. For more of red undertone, go for Mulch. I think purple suits the greatest variety of undertones and I love that thus brown eyeshadow has just a hint of it. as you build up the color, you get more of what you see in the pan. Beautiful color!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sassyrred on 1/21/2013 8:54:00 PM more reviews by Sassyrred

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I just read the reviews and decided to write one too, but I love this shadow for my eyebrows! I color my hair with medium auburn and medium mahogany mixed together by Robert Craig. I like to stay with a warm/cool balance of red.

I don't even know what first made me try it on my brows but it is the perfect color for me. This is the second eye shadow that I have hit the bottom on and will buy again. The first one was Blanc type, which is the best white matte eye shadow that I have ever used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 felicialazaar on 11/13/2012 10:20:00 AM more reviews by felicialazaar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The colour is beautiful, but I found this shadow very difficult to work with. It applies very dark at first, but when I started to blend it seems to fade and it needs frequent re-dipping into the pan. At the same time, parts of the shadow didn't blend at all and left some darker, uneven patches on the eye. I have given up. I also have Plumage (which is supposed to be as stubborn to blend) and no problems with that colour at all.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WhackyAki on 9/4/2012 4:03:00 PM more reviews by WhackyAki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favourite crease colour! MAC eyeshadows are sometimes hit and miss in terms of pigmentation, but this is such a wonderful shade. I've used it wet as an eyeliner too

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* curlywurly100 on 9/2/2012 12:15:00 PM more reviews by curlywurly100

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this is a beautiful velvety chocolate brown with a hint of plum! it's buildable and very versatile. i avoided this for a long time thinking that it would be too cool for me, but i actually think it's quite a warm eyeshadow that just acts as a cooler colour because of the plumminess. i wear this colour in my crease when i want something more than a regular brown. it's versatile because it can be used lightly or built up to be very rich. so it's not as dark as 'Embark' for example, but it glides on much smoother, so can just be layered on for all the intensity you want. the consistency of this is also just a dream!
i would definitely recommend.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products