Essie • Bahama Mama • Polishes

rated 3.7(39 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 leprechauness on 1/4/2014 9:51:00 PM more reviews by leprechauness

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've really liked the look of Bahama Mama in many of the pictures I've seen in the web, but in reality it looks a lot darker, which to me is a big disappointment. I was expecting a juicy plum or grape shade, but it's almost blackish after two decent coats. And at least two coats are necessary, since the first comes up very streaky, no matter how careful. I don't hate the result, but the consistency is bad and not getting the color you want after all that trouble makes it not worth it. It really amazes me how this can be so much darker on the nails than in the bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* curlycolor on 11/11/2013 12:36:00 PM more reviews by curlycolor

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I agree with the other reviews----the consistency and application of this polish is pretty poor. I gave it three lippies for the color alone, which is gorgeous. But my brand-new bottle applies like old polish----goopy, streaky, and patchy. The second coat didn't even completely fix it. I guess I'll have to add thinner to a new bottle of polish, which is pretty weird.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xiue on 10/18/2013 1:05:00 AM more reviews by xiue

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My 2nd favourite colour of all time!! This dark berry plum has so much dimension once painted on. On the edges it just looks like I've dipped my nails into some delicious berry blood LOL I love it! A wonderful fall colour,
I had to put on 3 thin coats to get to opaque, which kind of takes too much time for my liking.. but it's fine since the colour is so beautiful. The formula is fantastic and evens out nicely. I can't see all my wiggly application happening when I do my right hand with my left :)
I wish it had the wider brush though for quicker and more even application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lirong on 9/12/2013 6:38:00 PM more reviews by Lirong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought it after seeing it on somebody else and boy im in-love! My go to nailpolish for winter. Stays long and so pretty on fair skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 maya1975 on 7/31/2013 1:29:00 PM more reviews by maya1975

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this is a very good nail polish and a beautifull fall/winter color....the formula is a little bit runny but you can easily work with it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 buffydoggy on 7/28/2013 6:00:00 PM more reviews by buffydoggy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This nail polish chipped on me within 1 hour of wearing! I had the Essie base coat, two coats of Bahama Mama and Seche Vite top coat and it chipped while I was doing nothing! This nail polish is a beautiful colour but I wasn't expecting it to be quite so dark on my nails compared to the way the polish looked in the bottle. It also went on really streaky and I thought I was going to have to put on three coats to get a nice, even finish.

I don't know if it's just me or what, but I find Essie polishes to not be very good quality. They always seem to chip on me and I can wear OPI, or even Rimmel, for 5 days without chipping! Meh, I always get sucked in by Essie's beautiful colours but their polish stinks. I won't be buying this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DeliaDelyons on 4/16/2013 9:16:00 AM more reviews by DeliaDelyons

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Not a good color on me - was much much darker than the picture implies - it looked like blood on my fingers - so disappointed, it looked really pretty in the bottle. I think it would be more flattering for an olive or tanned person, I'm going to return it and get something more springy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* busybaker1 on 3/28/2013 4:09:00 AM more reviews by busybaker1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I only wear this color on my toes, and it's my absolute HG. I've been wearing this color regularly for two years I love it that much. I do my own detailed pedicures at home because I'm picky about the application. I use Essie Ridge Filler Base Coat, 2 coats of this color, and Seche Vite Top Coat. This combination of products makes the pedicure last for one month. No chips or peeling whatsoever. As others have noted this color can go on a bit streaky if it is not the right consistency. If it gets thick a few drops of polish thinner work like magic (you can get a bottle of nail polish thinner at Sally for $3 and it will last you a lifetime). I have never worn Bahama Mama on my hands so cannot speak for it's durability on fingers, but on toes it's gorgeous and I get compliments all the time.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 grkangel3 on 11/29/2012 10:56:00 AM more reviews by grkangel3

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

great color, application was terrible... streaky, needs 3 coats, and chipped on me after a day. would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 helenanoelle on 11/27/2012 7:48:00 AM more reviews by helenanoelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am pretty dissapointed by this. Been testing it out for the last weeks/month, and it chips pretty easily (even with topcoat..)
It is not especially opaque either, and i feel i need 3 coats, which i donīt like (i prefer 2)

The color is super-pretty, and perfect for fall and winter, so i see why this is hyped up! But, for lasting performance i am not impressed. Would probably not buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products