Essie • Bahama Mama • Polishes

rated 3.8(44 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 productjunkieee on 12/14/2014 5:06:00 PM more reviews by productjunkieee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of those colors everyone needs to have in her arsenal. It's such a sophisticated deep wine that is so flattering on so many different skin tones. The finish is creamy and I didn't find there to be much streaking. Beautiful for the colder seasons and adds just enough color. BM is like a lighter version of Wicked. Great for both casual and dressy occasions. I'd definitely recommend giving this a go!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jennorrrita on 11/2/2014 2:36:00 AM more reviews by Jennorrrita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Great colour, nice application, a must have in the polish reserves IMHO

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wxnne on 10/31/2014 11:58:00 AM more reviews by wxnne

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I honestly don't get the bad reviews at all. It's a perfect fall colour, easy to apply and no streaking. It goes on really smooth and one layer could be enough but i like to apply another layer because i think it looks a little better. I must say my bottle does have the thicker brush, so maybe that's why there's a difference in all these reviews. The colour was a little more purple than it looked in the bottle but overall a great product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* silkpuppet on 10/14/2014 3:48:00 PM more reviews by silkpuppet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful plummy burgundy shade. This polish is extremely flattering and looks excellent for fall. I recommend 3 coats for opacity. I do find it a tad streaky, but usually it looks so beautiful on that I don't mind working with it a little. I find the photograph above to be much more red than the shade actually is. It is much more purple on my MAC C7 skintone. Regardless, if you want a rich nail color that is work-appropriate but still sultry, Bahama Mama is a great pick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* olfactorysensation on 10/14/2014 3:39:00 PM more reviews by olfactorysensation

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I had a pedicure done with this a while ago and I loved it. It's gorgeous on - a very dark plummy berry shade. It has a creme finish and is vampy without being too dark for my fair, cool-toned skin.

I ended up buying a bottle for myself because I liked the pedi so much. However, when I am applying it myself I find it to be on the streaky side and it really does require a third coat to get an even opacity. As lovely as the colour is I found the application frustration and the brush is very small, meaning it takes more time to apply.

I think I can find a comparable colour with a better forumla from another brand.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* babyjane14 on 5/20/2014 9:18:00 PM more reviews by babyjane14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The picture above looks nothing like it does IRL ^

It is a deep purple with a berry undertone. This was my first nail polish from Essie and I like it but I don't love it. It can be quite streaky and it requires 2-3 coats for it to be opaque. With my olive skin tone I've realized I prefer a deep wine red compared to this dark purple shade.

Wear time is standard but not great compared to other brands I have as it chips easily. The packaging is nice and simple and the brush is thinner than the brush that OPI polishes have, so it's not the easiest to work with.

Overall, a nice shade but the formula/brush didn't amaze me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bexw88 on 5/12/2014 5:49:00 PM more reviews by bexw88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Great colour, but slighyly darker and more purple than it looks in the bottle. Lovely consistency and so shiny, especially with Seche Vite top coat! Although needed three coats for solid coverage. Chip free for about 5 days.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 periwinklebow on 4/28/2014 1:35:00 AM more reviews by periwinklebow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am an Essie nail polish fanatic, and this colour was on my short list for a long time. I resisted buying this polish due to the bad reviews I had read on MUA. A friend recommended it to me and I finally decided to purchase it. I have absolutely no idea why the review for this polish are so bad! This polish has the best formula in my 50+ collection and it stays on forever! Don't let the bad reviews scare you!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* curlycolor on 11/11/2013 12:36:00 PM more reviews by curlycolor

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I agree with the other reviews----the consistency and application of this polish is pretty poor. I gave it three lippies for the color alone, which is gorgeous. But my brand-new bottle applies like old polish----goopy, streaky, and patchy. The second coat didn't even completely fix it. I guess I'll have to add thinner to a new bottle of polish, which is pretty weird.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xiue on 10/18/2013 1:05:00 AM more reviews by xiue

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My 2nd favourite colour of all time!! This dark berry plum has so much dimension once painted on. On the edges it just looks like I've dipped my nails into some delicious berry blood LOL I love it! A wonderful fall colour,
I had to put on 3 thin coats to get to opaque, which kind of takes too much time for my liking.. but it's fine since the colour is so beautiful. The formula is fantastic and evens out nicely. I can't see all my wiggly application happening when I do my right hand with my left :)
I wish it had the wider brush though for quicker and more even application.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products