The Body Shop • Seaweed Clarifying Night Treatment • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.4(41 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 himiyio on 9/15/2014 2:20:00 AM more reviews by himiyio

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have been using this product on and off since 2010. At the moment, I am on my 3rd or 4th bottle. I do notice that while it does not clarify as it says, this is my go-to for when I have had a breakout/allergies and for healing the skin. I do find the price to be a bit high, but I like to have it as and when I need it.

I first had the idea of using this as a healing treatment, after reading the benefits of seaweed itself, and then it dawned on me that it would work really well as a "clarifier" in that sense. The next time I was sunburnt on my face, the product did help tremendously. I have generally normal/oily skin, and live in Singapore, where it is warm outside, but every where else is air-conditioned and drying. So on holidays in the neighbouring regions sometimes leaves me sunburnt, if not with sun-agitated skin,

The next few times this has come to the rescue was during an allergy, which left little whitehead postules that eventually scabbed. I felt like a monster, with scabs on my face. This was the only thing in my skincare stash that was light enough, moisturising enough, and with enough healing element to keep reapplication. Within one weekend, the scabs peeled off, revealing new skin beneath. I did apply it a lot, almost twice every 30 mins. And I am amazed at the high skin turnover, it really helped the skin heal.

Recently, I also switched my routine incorporating Clarisonic, Radio frequency and Red/blue light, and as expected I did get the customary breakout. As Clarisonic can be quite abrasive, it also left marks and scabs on my cheeks. Just this friday, my boyfriend saw me and said, "what happened to your face?!". So the whole weekend, this product was in my pocket.

I applied it often over Friday night to Sunday night. using 1/4th of the bottle. But my scabs peeled off with light scrubbing, and the marks are lightened considerably. I still decided to use a concealer on top of SPF, as I did not want the sun to darken it.

So that's it, I came in here thinking of other users had the same experience in using this product as a healing clarifying treatment, and seems like I needed to share my experience with it.

I had previously used the Pore Perfecting companion, but despite being more opaque and concentrated, it did not reduce pore size. But this product, clear, light and fresh smelling, is something I have introduced as a permanent part of my skin-rescue kit!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* encee on 9/6/2014 10:56:00 AM more reviews by encee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Again, I got a sample tub of this after thoughts of expanding my usage of the Seaweed line. Other night treatmentt from TBS I've tried, is the Tea-Tree Night Fading Lotion. It's great at battling overnight zits in a gentle way, it's already a staple to me. This product however, claims to clarify overnight. I wonder what for. Is it just so to wake up with a nice matte face? It does that well enough...when I woke up to visibly less shine morning after. But then again, it doesn't bother me if my face has some shine in the morning. So im just confused with the intention of this product. Just cautious that long-term use will dry up my skin, when im just inching 30 (years oldddddd) and could use some natural oil for desperate grasp at youthful vitality. So im giving this a pass.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jealouspony on 10/3/2013 8:39:00 AM more reviews by jealouspony

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of this along with the Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream and they're both part of my daily routine now!

I use the night treatment after cleansing and toning and it leaves my skin feeling fresh and healthy. It feels light and not so heavy as other moisturizers can be, leaves a matte finish but it's definitely not drying. Perfect for my combo/oily skin.

I really like the smell too - it's quite subtle, but nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 martex on 7/27/2013 4:38:00 AM more reviews by martex

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this as part of the Seaweed starter kit from The Body Shop. I love the smell, but I don't think it works for dry skin. I have mixed skin, a bit oily around the nose, but dry in the cheeks and around the mouth, so when I put this on it works fine in the oily parts, but I have to insist and put much more in the dry parts.

It is like water, so very comfortable and fresh at night (specially in the summer), but as I said, it doesn't fit for dry skin. I do feel my skin a bit sticky after putting it on my face, but this lasts just one minute.

Although I love the smell, I don't think I'll buy it again. I've watched a video where a girl said that she use the day cream of these seaweed line at nights. I think I'll do that, as it is maybe a little more moisturizing and it doesn't have SPF.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Yuu on 4/27/2013 3:54:00 AM more reviews by Yuu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily/combination skin so when this seaweed line first came out I tried out quite a few of of the products from this line. Among them this was one of the products I liked the most.


It comes in a nice plastic pump tube that uses suction to dispense the product. You get no product waste with this style of packaging as the pumping mechanism is able to push all the product out and you can even take it apart to wash and reuse.


The product itself is a gel-like consistency and absorbs quickly into the skin. The fragrance is pleasant and mild like the rest of the seaweed line. My skin is extra soft and oil-free when I wake up, but it there are some days when I do wake up with a bit of oil on my face. I imagine it would not moisturize dry skin very well though.


As much as I liked this treatment, I think I only repurchased once because of the price. When it first came out it was only $18 but it's now $20 for 30ml. There aren't any ground-breaking ingredients or effects from using this and there are probably cheaper and better treatments you could use in its place (most of the TBS skincare tends to be like this), although TBS frequently has sales.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dancesontrains on 4/25/2013 8:30:00 PM more reviews by dancesontrains

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Tried it on, it almost instantly dried my face and fingertips so much that I could feel the skin shrinking. Will not be trying again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vania28 on 4/18/2013 6:23:00 AM more reviews by vania28

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I never use a night treatment product before,so this is my first one. I like the result after several times of usage. It is perfect for my oily/combination skin. It doesnt dried out my skin,but it added extra moisture to it,and my little pimples slowly faded away if I use it regularly. One of the must-try-products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chestnut096 on 3/29/2013 1:18:00 PM more reviews by chestnut096

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

this is my first night treatment product and luckily it works nicely with my combination skin, not really perfect but suits my skin well :) it makes my face feel fresh and moisturized when i wake up in the morning. i've bought the travel size-one and will totally buy the actual-size one

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kkate on 11/19/2012 4:22:00 PM more reviews by kkate

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great treatment for oily-combination skin. My skin has gotten drier as I've gotten older but I used to follow my bad habit of not putting any moisturizer on at night (as a teen, I thought the drier the better). This treatment adds moisture to my skin overnight but does not leave my skin feeling greasy which is always a plus. I think that my pimples look better when I am consistently using this as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 louisahm26 on 8/19/2012 6:23:00 PM more reviews by louisahm26

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like this product. I wouldn't say it's the most moisturising product ever but I like the feeling of it on my skin and I really like the hygienic pump packaging. I would say that I've noticed since using it that my skin is not as oily as it used to be in the mornings when I wake up so I guess it's having some effect on my skin along with the rest of this line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Treatments (Face) products