Guerlain Spiritueuse Double Vanille

3.7

69 reviews

49% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/10/2014 2:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Oh......my......god. This is pure vanilla heaven. Just the right hint of booze and sweetness, smooth, warm and delectable. Do I need this? No. Do I want this? Hell yes. I would gladly trade most of my current collection for a FB of this beauty.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 3/24/2014 9:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This feels like an aloof cousin of TF Tobacco Vanille and diptyque Eau Duelle. It shares that breath of smooth vanilla, but SDV is infinitely more boozy. I do not mind boozy but I would prefer this spiced rum effect if it was more buttery or creamy. The invocation of "double" vanilla suggests a richness that I don't get from this scent. It is very lovely and great if you want a non-bakery vanilla. I don't dislike SDV, I just prefer its distant relatives.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/1/2014 4:36:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a nice fragrance ..... I pick up on a boozy vanilla however, I also pick up on a smokiness however, I mean that literally as it smells like cigarette smoke (which I do not like) ...... the cigarette accord does eventually fade on my skin and turns sweeter and this is what I like about Spiritueuse Double Vanille (I would love it if it did not smell like cigarettes at times as the rest of the fragrance smells so good.) I still rate this a 4 as I really do like the fragrance, however, I wish I could tweak it a bit to make it perfect.


on 2/21/2014 3:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

This must be the booziest vanilla I've ever tried. I was totally unprepared for the initial burst of olive martini (well, more olives, less martini), not sure if I liked it. Sprayed and went to bed. I woke up in the middle of the night and noticed the most gorgeous balsamic, deep, creamy vanilla I've ever smelt and stayed this way until vanishing. Has decent sillage and longevity.
It's not a complex scent but it's beautuful, if you like boozy scents and vanilla give it a try. I've come to the point that I enjoy the opening and if it wasn't that expensive I'd buy a bottle.
A much cheaper alternative is the Cologne of the Missions by Le Couvent des Minimes. Has very similar vibe but it's softer overall, far less boozy and even easier to year.


on 1/3/2014 5:36:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green


I love Guerlain...Mitsouko, Shalimar, Samsara.., but was disappointed by this scent. It is made well, I love vanilla, it definitely has that "Guerlain" something, but the tobacco is hard for me to get past. It smells fantastic in the bottle, but not on me. Maybe on a man???

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/3/2014 4:41:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought a decant from The Perfumed Court several years ago and became obsessed with this Spiriteuse Double Vanille. It reminds me of the delicious pipe tobacco my uncle used to smoke...fresh, warm vanilla pudding...and something else comforting, but unidentifiable to me as yet. I HAD to have a full bottle...and purchased one from Nordstrom for my husband to give to me for Valentine's Day. It has become my winter signature scent. I can't get enough of it! But the $$$$ is daunting, and, miserly, I part with each spray, dreading the day my precious bottle will be empty. In vain I have searched for a dupe that accurately mirrored SDV. Many claimed to be it's twin sister, but they all disappointed. Until now. EAU DES MISSIONS cologne from Le Couvent des Minimes is an exact cologne match. And, at $39 for 3.4 ounces, I can be extravagant with my beloved scent. I spray it on my pillow, my scarves, my sweaters with abandon and delight. If you love SDV, but your budget just won't allow the real deal, treat yourself to Eau Des Missions Cologne. I bought mine here: http://www.dermstore.com/product_Eau+des+Missions+Botanical+Cologne_51110.htm.
PS...Please use it only if you love it to the point of obsession...It is worthy of your singular devotion.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/1/2013 8:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I've wanted to try this fragrance for years, because I love vanilla and oriental fragrances. When first applied, Spiritueuse Double Vanille smelled similar to the way Lolita Lempicka's L De Lolita Lempicka smells on me - spicy, dark, sweet. As it dries down, though, Double Vanille starts to remind me of candle wax and melting plastic. I'm not even sure that I'd say it smells very heavy on the vanilla on my skin, but the drydown is definitely off on me. I get melting plastic and candle wax, unfortunately.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/2/2012 12:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I had to say Yes, I would buy this again (even though I didn't buy it the first time). I am one who loves the scent of vanilla, but have never felt the need to own more than a couple. I've never smelled one that stood out too much from the rest. All very pleasant--some more or less than others--but still, it's just vanilla. THIS vanilla is different. I smell all the notes, blended beautifully, yet individually noticeable. No one will ask who smells like a cookie when you enter the room. This is really lovely. Smells similar to Bois d'Armenie. If I could afford to buy a bottle, I would.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2012 1:53:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Green

Spiritueuse Double Vanille is a lovely scent (5 lippies for the scent), but the price is astronomical. I know this is Guerlain but I think L de Lolita by Lolita Lempicka smells very, very similar and considering this fact, there is no way I'd pay $200+ dollars for Spiritueuse Double Vanille (hence my 2 lippie rating). Sorry, no full bottle sale for me.


on 6/23/2012 3:02:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

If you want a sexy sophisticated vanilla for adults, this is it. Boozy at the opening, bourbon vanilla, dried fruit, pipe tobacco, incense. Delicious and so fine..... If you like TF Tobacco Vanille, Chergui, or Shalimar parfum, you'll probably love Spiritueuse Double Vanille.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1377 Reviews
Chance
Chance
963 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1887 Reviews
Angel
Angel
1830 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews
Back to Top