Paula's Choice • Lip and Body Treatment Balm • Lip Treatments

rated 4.4(100 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eire1 on 7/30/2014 2:01:00 PM more reviews by Eire1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a balm marketed for the lips and body but it is probably better for the mouth. The packaging is unsanitary and contradicts her criticism on jar packaging. I forgive the packaging because the team said they didn't want a jar but needed one for the way this product was made though. This is moisturizing and it has wax to seal in the moisture. Unless your lips are small you may need more than 1 coating to cover your entire lip.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MagnoliaState on 2/15/2014 8:35:00 AM more reviews by MagnoliaState

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

THE BACKSTORY... I bought this product two weeks ago. I've been struggling with how to review it. I am a big PC fan. I think I've tried every product in the Skin Recovery Line and several of the Resist line products. While not every product is a winner, several have absolutely done amazing things for my dry, dull skin. I had never even thought about trying the lip balm but I kept seeing it over and over on the MUA as people saying it was HG for them. So I found a 15% off code and ordered (never buy PC full price - there is almost always a sale)... I wear long wear lipstick that can be drying so I use lip balm daily.

The Pros... Not overy waxy feeling but not greasy either. Kind of hard to describe the texture. I LOVE it though. No irritants in it. Why do most lip balm companies think our lips need to tingle??? I like that this one doesn't have that.

The Cons... The TUB. I knew going in I wasn't going to like the tub. I read on PC reviews that they tried putting it in a tube but it wouldn't work. I cry BS on that! This stuff is plenty solid enough for that. Also said something like it didn't do well in plastic - well the tub is plastic. WTH? PRICE... I like to squirrel away balm beside my bed, in my car, in my purse, in my makeup bag, my overnight bag, etc. I can't in good conscience invest $50 in lip balm. NO SPF. Come on Paula is a big time SPF preacher - why no SPF or at least a separate version with SPF?

This is NOT a "bad product". I can see why people love it but for me... I think for the price difference vs. performance I'll stick with my Chapstick Moisturizing with SPF. It's waxier feeling which I don't like but it has quite a few pros... in a tube, mositurizing, has SPF, and is <$2 a tube. I can squirrel away to my hearts content at that price. At night I use L'Occitiane (sp?) Shea Butter - its greasy but I like it! Very hydrating!

One final note... I had this lip balm on vacation while I had a bad cold. I applied a little around my nostrils at night to help protect that irritated blew my nose a million times skin. It really did help soothe my poor nose. I think it did help but I think Aquaphor or Vaseline or Lanisoh would have also worked had I had any of those with me. I've also applied it around my tear duct where I STAY DRY and have a hard time applying creams without getting it in my eye. It has worked VERY WELL for that purpose. I think I'm going to keep this tub in my makeup kit for that purpose.

*********EDIT*********** I thought a 2 week trial before reviewing this product was enough. Wrong! I'm still using this, and I have grown to love it! It has improved the texture of my lips more than anything I've ever tried. The more I compare it to my cheap ChapStick - there just is no comparison. I will still keep ChapStick in purse and car for easy application as I still HATE the tub but I will repurchase this again. I've barely made a dent in it. Also, I find myself using the ChapStick less often now that lips have gotten so much better.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katwalker on 1/5/2014 5:21:00 PM more reviews by katwalker

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Amazing product! Just look at the percentage of people who say they would buy it again and the high rating - how many other products are rated that highly? Lots of lip-moisturizing and lip-protecting ingredients are packed into this product, and it stays on a long time, really until you wear or "eat" it off. This product works best, though, on freshly exfoliated lips to keep them moist.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nikkijz on 12/19/2013 7:50:00 PM more reviews by nikkijz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This has to be one of the worst balms I have ever used. First of all it is so greasy. I don't mind that usually, but considering how greasy it is, it does absolutely nothing! In fact, every time I use this, I end up with even more chapped and dried out lips. Definitely not repurchasing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AlyssaJD on 11/3/2013 11:19:00 PM more reviews by AlyssaJD

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I live in the middle of Canada. It is SO dry and SO cold in the winter. -50 isn't uncommon. There isn't anyone here that dosn't use balm 24/7. I have tried every brand. Blistex, carmex, fresh, eos, and what really worked for me as a night treatment was mixing castor oil and linsolin (lanolin) nipple cream. Yep you got it. Guess whats in this? Castor oil and lanolin. Plus beeswax which i'm sure is more for texture because burts bees don't do anything. Yeah there's lots of other ingredients but I know Castor oil and Lanolin are the superstars. Some girls are complaining thier used to be more product, but the amount i paid on those fresh lip balms from sephora, I could care less.

Only thing i don't like is the unsanitary jar. Make this is a stick Paula, its not like it won't hold up, it's hard enough. I wouldn't want the jar any bigger because its not even half empty and the junk is building up around the edges. But in the end, ill buy again because i don't have to mix that nipple cream and oil before i go to bed. And my lips have never looked this good. I've had a few boys ask me what i use on em ;)

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chRowan73 on 11/2/2013 9:32:00 PM more reviews by chRowan73

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great moisturizing and soothing lip balm. It's very emmoilent and contains no fragrance or flavor. My only complaint is the jar packaging. I wish this came in a tube, too. I only use it when I know I can wash my hands right before applying. (bit of a germ-a-phobe, here.). Aside from that, I highly recommend and will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Eriu on 8/21/2013 11:36:00 PM more reviews by Eriu

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Silver, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The only lip product I will ever use again! I've had really dry lips all my life and before I found Paula's Choice the only thing that worked was Blistex Lip Ointment ( which had to be reapplied every hour to be effective, made my lips tingle constantly, and was so goopy my husband always wiped his mouth after I kissed him!). Ordered this as part of the duo with the lip exfoliator and Wow! My lips are soft and smooth for hours and hours! I also use it under my eyes to protect that skin from the constant wiping I have to do (my permanent treatment for chronic dry eye causes excess tears to frequently leak) and it doesn't clog pores and even helps prevent that "sleep" crust! Other reviewers are correct...it is hard in the jar and must be melted with your fingertip to get good application, but unlike every other lip treatment out there containing wax, it doesn't just trap dry, chapped lips under a layer of wax. The description "treatment" is absolutely correct! The packaging is sturdy and maybe not as pretty as a glass jar or pot, but it keeps the product fresh and stable. This is truly fragrance free and taste free as well so you don't smell like medicine nor does it taste oily or waxy. I use the scrub every night followed by this treatment and wake up with soft, kissable lips. If I'm not wearing lipstick I'll reapply again in the morning and maybe once more during the day ( if I go outside I use Paula's Choice Invisible lipstick with sunscreen, another fantastic product, over it). That dry, tight, chapped feeling is a thing of the past!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 liseyloo on 3/15/2013 6:27:00 AM more reviews by liseyloo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love this! A look at the ingredient list: castor oil, candelilla wax, lanolin, shea butter and jojoba - this is packed with the good stuff, and that's just to name a few!

I have the new packaging which comes with a plastic, metallic-blue lid. The plastic is nice and thick; I've dropped the tub a few times and it hasn't damaged it one bit. It's a decent size - larger than your Carmex or Burts Bees tins.

The balm is colourless and hard; you need to warm it up with your finger. The texture is nice and thick - think castor oil - and the staying power is great. I slather this on before bed and wake up with product still on my lips, which I like because that's telling me it's slow to absorb and thus providing a moisture barrier for my lips.

Also, the occlusive texture does not clog the pores around my mouth, a huge plus!
I can see this lasting me a long time which is perfect because this has become a staple in my daily/nightly routine.

EDIT 11th April 2014:
This is still my HG lip balm; nothing else performs like this little beauty. I still haven't finished my first tub! I also use this as a cuticle balm and it works fabulously. You simply must try this one... and thank me later! ;)

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TeaGirl on 7/7/2012 10:22:00 PM more reviews by TeaGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this product with the lip perfecting scrub in a pack for $16. I use it after the scrub and at first I was a little skeptical.

The packaging is not of the highest quality but also not of the worst. I fear the lid may crack easily if I drop the product so I'm being careful.

Once opened the balm looks like any other except that its hard. Its almost like a wax. I find that I have to warm it up by rubbing it with my finger a little.

Once it is on lips, I love it. Its smooth and so moisturizing. Its not shiny or glossy, my lips just look like they are full of moisture. A little product also goes a long way. It doesn't move around and it doesn't clog the pores around my lips either. Love it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 melicious83 on 3/14/2012 3:10:00 PM more reviews by melicious83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

For those who are using this on the body (especially knees, elbows, extremely dry hands), purchase 100% bottled castor oil instead! It is a cheaper alternative and it'll last you a long time. For lips, nothing beats Vaseline (or C.O. Bigelow's mentha lip shines), though I sometimes use a drop of castor oil on the lips - works great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Lip Treatments products