Paula's Choice Lip & Body Treatment Balm

4.4

105 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Petrolatum (emollients), Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax (thickener), Lanolin, C10-30 Cholesterol/Lanosterol Esters (emollients), Beeswax, Ozokerite, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax (thickeners), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Jojoba Esters, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil (plant emollients/oils), Bisabolol (soothing agent), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (stabilized vitamin C/antioxidant), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Trihydroxystearin, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene (thickeners).


on 4/2/2015 11:52:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Lipbalm is a must-have for me since I have dry and easily chapped lips. I have tried many lipbalms over the years and let's face it: Paula's Choice Lip & Body Treatment Balm is one of the most effective ones, possibly even the most effective one! Having said that, I do not like many things about it: the texture is greasy, there is a faint off-smell (castor oil), the application is messy and the container is boring. There is nothing fun or pleasurable in using it. But it works. No matter how badly chapped and dry my lips are, I apply a thick coat before going to bed, and in the morning I wake up with miraculously soft lips. All other lip product I've used (Nuxe, Clarins, Clinique, La Roche Possay, ROC, DHC, Eucerin, Pure Lanolin comes to mind) come short when compared to the action of the Lip & Body Treatment Balm from Paula's Choice. It works pretty well on cuticles,too. I always have some on my bedside table.

Bottom line: Not fun but works really really well. Have repurchased, will repurchase.



on 3/16/2015 6:18:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Silver, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have extremely sensitive skin, including my lips; when the longwearing lipstick fad started, it took my lips 3 weeks to recover from one hour! (itchy red rash around my mouth, blisters, not fun!)

I use many Paula's Choice products; the Skin Recovery moisturizer (without SPF) has improved my eye area incredibly. This is my HG lip balm, although I do have several for different situations. Actually, this product has improved my lips to the point that I CAN use other products.

The criticism about the tub is correct. However, I have a practical suggestion: put a dab in smaller pots/containers (you can buy or just clean and reuse) and use from there. If you use a clean spatula or knife to take the product out and place in the new pot, you needn't worry about the contamination issue; plus, you get plenty to station several around the house.

I used to get chapped or otherwise irritated lips on a regular basis; this has eliminated that problem, to the point that I don't need to use it all the time. I've found it's not my favorite under lipstick (I prefer the Lavera Basis for that), it's a little thick and sticky. But it works extremely well at night, when I find that most lip treatments wear off quickly. And there is no taste or odor or fragrance. And since it's not shiny/glossy, works well for guys too. It also works well for irritated nostrils, or (horrors!) the occasional cold sore (not medicated, but soothing/healing).

I do have the lip exfoliant as well, and use that occasionally. The key to that item is to use this product immediately after.


on 3/15/2015 5:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a decent lipbalm. I put it on before bed and wake up with plump soft lips the next morning. It has a hard texture and a little goes a long way. So, it would last for a long time. Price isn't too expensive. No smell. But you have to put this on every day or else your lips will start peeling again.


on 3/3/2015 9:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is an excellent lip balm. It's thick and substantial in texture, but doesn't leave my lips feeling coated and uncomfortable. The ingredients are great and work very well to trap the moisture in. My only complaint is that $10 is a lot for a balm (though the pot is VERY big and I think it'll last a long time. It looked like a Carmex in the picture and in reality is much wider) and that it doesn't have a flip top- I don't think screwing a top on balm is a very handy method. Otherwise, a great buy.


on 11/22/2014 3:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love this balm - it has the perfect texture, in my opinion - not too stiff nor too liquid. It's thick and smooth enough to last awhile when I purse my lips with it on, even after several times. I also use it as a cuticle balm, and it's perfect for that, as well. A lot of cuticle balms are not as thick as this one, so they don't tend to last too long, in my experience (e.g. badger cuticle balm, or plain shea butter, not to mention cuticle oils). This one is moisturizing enough and plenty thick, which I like, but it's not so thick that it's difficult to get out of the jar. I have already ordered another jar of it. It has no fragrance or color, and I think you get a generous amount for the price. It would be great for putting on foot calluses as well, under socks.


on 7/30/2014 2:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a balm marketed for the lips and body but it is probably better for the mouth. The packaging is unsanitary and contradicts her criticism on jar packaging. I forgive the packaging because the team said they didn't want a jar but needed one for the way this product was made though. This is moisturizing and it has wax to seal in the moisture. Unless your lips are small you may need more than 1 coating to cover your entire lip.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

THE BACKSTORY... I bought this product two weeks ago. I've been struggling with how to review it. I am a big PC fan. I think I've tried every product in the Skin Recovery Line and several of the Resist line products. While not every product is a winner, several have absolutely done amazing things for my dry, dull skin. I had never even thought about trying the lip balm but I kept seeing it over and over on the MUA as people saying it was HG for them. So I found a 15% off code and ordered (never buy PC full price - there is almost always a sale)... I wear long wear lipstick that can be drying so I use lip balm daily.

The Pros... Not overy waxy feeling but not greasy either. Kind of hard to describe the texture. I LOVE it though. No irritants in it. Why do most lip balm companies think our lips need to tingle??? I like that this one doesn't have that.

The Cons... The TUB. I knew going in I wasn't going to like the tub. I read on PC reviews that they tried putting it in a tube but it wouldn't work. I cry BS on that! This stuff is plenty solid enough for that. Also said something like it didn't do well in plastic - well the tub is plastic. WTH? PRICE... I like to squirrel away balm beside my bed, in my car, in my purse, in my makeup bag, my overnight bag, etc. I can't in good conscience invest $50 in lip balm. NO SPF. Come on Paula is a big time SPF preacher - why no SPF or at least a separate version with SPF?

This is NOT a "bad product". I can see why people love it but for me... I think for the price difference vs. performance I'll stick with my Chapstick Moisturizing with SPF. It's waxier feeling which I don't like but it has quite a few pros... in a tube, mositurizing, has SPF, and is <$2 a tube. I can squirrel away to my hearts content at that price. At night I use L'Occitiane (sp?) Shea Butter - its greasy but I like it! Very hydrating!

One final note... I had this lip balm on vacation while I had a bad cold. I applied a little around my nostrils at night to help protect that irritated blew my nose a million times skin. It really did help soothe my poor nose. I think it did help but I think Aquaphor or Vaseline or Lanisoh would have also worked had I had any of those with me. I've also applied it around my tear duct where I STAY DRY and have a hard time applying creams without getting it in my eye. It has worked VERY WELL for that purpose. I think I'm going to keep this tub in my makeup kit for that purpose.

*********EDIT*********** I thought a 2 week trial before reviewing this product was enough. Wrong! I'm still using this, and I have grown to love it! It has improved the texture of my lips more than anything I've ever tried. The more I compare it to my cheap ChapStick - there just is no comparison. I will still keep ChapStick in purse and car for easy application as I still HATE the tub but I will repurchase this again. I've barely made a dent in it. Also, I find myself using the ChapStick less often now that lips have gotten so much better.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2014 5:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Amazing product! Just look at the percentage of people who say they would buy it again and the high rating - how many other products are rated that highly? Lots of lip-moisturizing and lip-protecting ingredients are packed into this product, and it stays on a long time, really until you wear or "eat" it off. This product works best, though, on freshly exfoliated lips to keep them moist.


on 12/19/2013 7:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This has to be one of the worst balms I have ever used. First of all it is so greasy. I don't mind that usually, but considering how greasy it is, it does absolutely nothing! In fact, every time I use this, I end up with even more chapped and dried out lips. Definitely not repurchasing!


on 11/3/2013 11:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I live in the middle of Canada. It is SO dry and SO cold in the winter. -50 isn't uncommon. There isn't anyone here that dosn't use balm 24/7. I have tried every brand. Blistex, carmex, fresh, eos, and what really worked for me as a night treatment was mixing castor oil and linsolin (lanolin) nipple cream. Yep you got it. Guess whats in this? Castor oil and lanolin. Plus beeswax which i'm sure is more for texture because burts bees don't do anything. Yeah there's lots of other ingredients but I know Castor oil and Lanolin are the superstars. Some girls are complaining thier used to be more product, but the amount i paid on those fresh lip balms from sephora, I could care less.

Only thing i don't like is the unsanitary jar. Make this is a stick Paula, its not like it won't hold up, it's hard enough. I wouldn't want the jar any bigger because its not even half empty and the junk is building up around the edges. But in the end, ill buy again because i don't have to mix that nipple cream and oil before i go to bed. And my lips have never looked this good. I've had a few boys ask me what i use on em ;)

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1494 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
174 Reviews
Lip Balm
1024 Reviews
Back to Top