Paula's Choice Lip & Body Treatment Balm

4.4

109 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Petrolatum (emollients), Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax (thickener), Lanolin, C10-30 Cholesterol/Lanosterol Esters (emollients), Beeswax, Ozokerite, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax (thickeners), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Jojoba Esters, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil (plant emollients/oils), Bisabolol (soothing agent), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (stabilized vitamin C/antioxidant), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Trihydroxystearin, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene (thickeners).


on 6/20/2015 3:40:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have chronic sinusitis, which means chapped lips, all the time. This was recommended by one of my YT beauty gurus, so I thought I'd give it a try. It is nice and soothing and moisturizing, though when I put it on before bed, it does not stay on all night (nothing does). I know PC is vigilant about their products being fragrance free, and I respect that, but I wish this had a vanilla scent or something. I also don't love dipping my fingers into the pot. But I still highly recommend this. I also use it on my cuticles and even on my elbows and feet.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/7/2015 9:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is the best lip balm I've ever used and when I discovered this lip balm I needed it: my lips were dry and cracked to the point that they bled. Stop looking elsewhere, accept that it is housed in a screw top tub that you may find slightly inconvenient and embrace this fantastic product. It may be the very best thing Paula Begoun has formulated.


on 5/18/2015 12:06:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this product. I developed very dry lips this winter and used all kinds of lip moisturizers for a week. Nothing helped and my lips remained very sore and tender. In fact some of the products that worked for me in the past stung my lips. When I tried PC lip balm it was wonderful. After a couple of days my lips improved. It has also improved the rough skin on my knees and elbows. I use it at night since it doesn't contain an SPF.


on 4/27/2015 10:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is the best lip balm ever. It turned my dry, flakey lips smooth from the first use. Initially I found the price way too high, but you will save money from the amount of product you get and in not wasting money on useless lipbalms. I also use this on my feet sometimes, which works well. I will always repurchase.


on 4/2/2015 11:52:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Lipbalm is a must-have for me since I have dry and easily chapped lips. I have tried many lipbalms over the years and let's face it: Paula's Choice Lip & Body Treatment Balm is one of the most effective ones, possibly even the most effective one! Having said that, I do not like many things about it: the texture is greasy, there is a faint off-smell (castor oil), the application is messy and the container is boring. There is nothing fun or pleasurable in using it. But it works. No matter how badly chapped and dry my lips are, I apply a thick coat before going to bed, and in the morning I wake up with miraculously soft lips. All other lip product I've used (Nuxe, Clarins, Clinique, La Roche Possay, ROC, DHC, Eucerin, Pure Lanolin comes to mind) come short when compared to the action of the Lip & Body Treatment Balm from Paula's Choice. It works pretty well on cuticles,too. I always have some on my bedside table.

Bottom line: Not fun but works really really well. Have repurchased, will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2015 6:18:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Silver, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have extremely sensitive skin, including my lips; when the longwearing lipstick fad started, it took my lips 3 weeks to recover from one hour! (itchy red rash around my mouth, blisters, not fun!)

I use many Paula's Choice products; the Skin Recovery moisturizer (without SPF) has improved my eye area incredibly. This is my HG lip balm, although I do have several for different situations. Actually, this product has improved my lips to the point that I CAN use other products.

The criticism about the tub is correct. However, I have a practical suggestion: put a dab in smaller pots/containers (you can buy or just clean and reuse) and use from there. If you use a clean spatula or knife to take the product out and place in the new pot, you needn't worry about the contamination issue; plus, you get plenty to station several around the house.

I used to get chapped or otherwise irritated lips on a regular basis; this has eliminated that problem, to the point that I don't need to use it all the time. I've found it's not my favorite under lipstick (I prefer the Lavera Basis for that), it's a little thick and sticky. But it works extremely well at night, when I find that most lip treatments wear off quickly. And there is no taste or odor or fragrance. And since it's not shiny/glossy, works well for guys too. It also works well for irritated nostrils, or (horrors!) the occasional cold sore (not medicated, but soothing/healing).

I do have the lip exfoliant as well, and use that occasionally. The key to that item is to use this product immediately after.


on 3/15/2015 5:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a decent lipbalm. I put it on before bed and wake up with plump soft lips the next morning. It has a hard texture and a little goes a long way. So, it would last for a long time. Price isn't too expensive. No smell. But you have to put this on every day or else your lips will start peeling again.


on 3/3/2015 9:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is an excellent lip balm. It's thick and substantial in texture, but doesn't leave my lips feeling coated and uncomfortable. The ingredients are great and work very well to trap the moisture in. My only complaint is that $10 is a lot for a balm (though the pot is VERY big and I think it'll last a long time. It looked like a Carmex in the picture and in reality is much wider) and that it doesn't have a flip top- I don't think screwing a top on balm is a very handy method. Otherwise, a great buy.


on 11/22/2014 3:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love this balm - it has the perfect texture, in my opinion - not too stiff nor too liquid. It's thick and smooth enough to last awhile when I purse my lips with it on, even after several times. I also use it as a cuticle balm, and it's perfect for that, as well. A lot of cuticle balms are not as thick as this one, so they don't tend to last too long, in my experience (e.g. badger cuticle balm, or plain shea butter, not to mention cuticle oils). This one is moisturizing enough and plenty thick, which I like, but it's not so thick that it's difficult to get out of the jar. I have already ordered another jar of it. It has no fragrance or color, and I think you get a generous amount for the price. It would be great for putting on foot calluses as well, under socks.


on 7/30/2014 2:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a balm marketed for the lips and body but it is probably better for the mouth. The packaging is unsanitary and contradicts her criticism on jar packaging. I forgive the packaging because the team said they didn't want a jar but needed one for the way this product was made though. This is moisturizing and it has wax to seal in the moisture. Unless your lips are small you may need more than 1 coating to cover your entire lip.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
Baby Lips Lip Balm
1532 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
Prep + Prime Lip
178 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
Beeswax Lip Balm
3612 Reviews
Back to Top