L'Oreal • Superior Preference Hair Colour • Hair Color

rated 3.5(180 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 BrunetteinBranson on 9/12/2014 3:21:00 PM more reviews by BrunetteinBranson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

My review is specifically for Dark Brown 4 (natural). I had been using Feria Espresso since I went back to brunette, but they were out of it, so I picked this because it's the closest I could find to it. I had previously used Superior Preference Dark Mahogany Brown for a couple of years but it comes out very dark and after awhile, your hair is just BLACK. Well, I wanted dark brown with definition and definitely NOT black. So, I got what I wanted with this shade. It's got definition and not totally black, but it is very dark right now. (I just colored it yesterday.) I am hoping after a couple of washes, it will lighten up to the Espresso color. So, it is close to Espresso in the Feria line but maybe a shade and a half or so darker? Of course, Superior Preference is to cover greys so that could be why it's darker, as well. It covered grey nicely and the after color conditioner is my favorite thing about this line... The after color conditioner in the Feria line is OK, too, but they need the Superior Preference conditioner for all their lines in my opinion. It is amazing. I like the color OK even if it is a touch darker than I was hoping for. But, it should fade nicely and be OK. So, yes I recommend this color to anyone looking for a dark brown with definition.
*UPDATE* It's been two weeks now since I used this hair color. It has lightened up quite a bit. It is pretty much an exact match for the Espresso color in the Feria line. I am happy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LydiaGee on 9/8/2014 5:36:00 PM more reviews by LydiaGee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted a nice deep black hair dye because I wanted to get back to my "roots." I found L'Oreal Superior Preference Paris Lumiere in 2BL Black Sapphire.
Pros = After mixing the bottles together, you get a lot for your price ($10.29). I have thick hair down to my bra strap and 1 bottle covered 3/4 of my head. Applying it was easy. The smell was not toxic unless it was right next to my nose. The color came out a very deep blue black just as it is shown on the box. The conditioner smelled amazing and my hair was soft and shiny.
Cons = 5 weeks later, the dye is still washing out and is fading. Instead of looking a cool deep blue black, it is just a natural black although, it is a level 2 hair color. My hair is not in good condition since using the hair dye and I am still using the same products since before dying it. L'Oreal's hair dye is too harsh and damaging. I used it because they have the deepest black I could find in the drugstore but never again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BlackHoleDiver on 8/22/2014 7:23:00 PM more reviews by BlackHoleDiver

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've experimented with different shades of darkest brown and black.
I tried Vidal and L'oreal Paris Ultimate Black shade 1. The Vidal was alright, easy to apply, very little drip, but after using the Ultimate twice, I think I'm staying here for a while. The color is less inky and it doesn't fade. I have no greys but I imagine the color would stick to them as well. The result is a very deep, raven black that doesn't look painted, if you know what I mean. Of course, anyone who knows you probably knows your true color, but after traveling across the full rainbow, I settled on black because it just feels cool, to be honest. I'm half Italian so my natural color is brown. Black is just one step further.
What I like: this brand is fragrant, spreads well and I only need one box if my hair is at or above the shoulders. It's longer now, so I use a box and a half. The price isn't bad. Revlon is much cheaper but I've never tried their black before.
What's wrong: it drips. Everywhere. It will get on your skin and clothes and countertop. It washes off skin within days but my counter hasn't recovered. Thank God it's a dumb cheap apartment bathroom. I might try a different box next time, but I do like this color.
Bottom line: the end result was enough to bring me back but they should improve this shade's developer so I don't create a mess.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CroatBoat on 8/22/2014 3:56:00 PM more reviews by CroatBoat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got medium ash brown. My hair is naturally medium-light brown and I color it darker because it suits my dark eyes better (I cant attest to whether it covers grays). Unfortunately my last color faded into brassyness. This put some rich dark color back into my hair without coming close to black. I have mid back length hair and needed 1.5 bottles. So its a bit pricey for 2 but manageable.

One thing ill do differently next time is to get a proper shower cap to cover it while its developing. I used a plastic bag and my roots were exposed a bit and that part wasnt darkened as much, coincidentally.
But the conditioner is really nice. Lots of shine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 perisnale on 8/9/2014 10:29:00 AM more reviews by perisnale

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

so fun fact i bought this in the shade 7 1/2 'medium ash blonde' by accident - i was originally planning on getting the excellence creme in the similar shade 8.1 'natural ash blonde,' but being tired and jetlagged in cvs i just grabbed the first loreal box that looked right. i don't know if i should have exchanged it - i ended up using the superior preference anyways last night, and while there seems to be minimal to no damage (the conditioner is great and smells amazing) there doesn't seem to be a whole lot of change. my hair before dying was a medium/dark warm brown with about an inch of black roots, and after dying the only change seems to be that the brown is more neutral (due to the ash) and my roots are dark brown.

i'll give the colour about a week and maybe come back, since in the past i've experienced significant lightening after a couple shampoos with other hair dyes, but at the moment i'm pretty disappointed. i was aiming for a light neutral brown, and was hoping that the 7 1/2, being a couple shades lighter than my desired result, could help me achieve that.

i will add, though, that although my hair is pretty thin it's pretty dye resistant, so if the colour doesn't lighten eventually i may redye with either the same colour or a shade lighter. apart from the disappointing results the overall dye experience was quite nice.

PROS:
- smells bearable
- easy to apply gel
- gloves fit
- conditioner is great and there's a good amount of it (supposed to last sixes uses)
- no damage on fine/normal hair

CONS:
- minimal colour change on medium/dark brown hair (originally black)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sunshine702 on 8/7/2014 1:09:00 AM more reviews by sunshine702

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Loreal Performing preference has gorgeous unique blonde options. I tried Rose Gold on the night I saw my first grey /white hairs coming in. I'm in a service industry and needed to look young or I will end up being let go. I loved the color a really glamorous warm blonde but it didn't cover my grays at all. If I were younger definately but I need gray coverage in my hair dye even if the color isn't as good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jianing23 on 8/6/2014 11:54:00 PM more reviews by jianing23

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    







color was okay, i had 3 Brasilia, very natural black with a golden brown undertone

however really damaged my hair :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 brk008 on 7/29/2014 10:26:00 PM more reviews by brk008

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Hmm. Well... I started with my natural born-again virgin medium brown hair. Added Lightest Golden Brown (6.5). Waited 25 minutes. Ended with... Hmm. Not really sure. It's not my natural medium brown hair. It's definitely not the color on the box. It's vaguely reddish brown. It looks as if the color didnt lift at all. I checked the box multiple times before I purchased, and it was recommended for dark blonde to dark brown hair. I figured it was safe because even if I overestimated how "medium brown" my hair is, it was recommended for dark brown hair as well. But the color didnt lighten at all. It turned out almost like it was just a glaze. However, unlike a glaze, this color definitely damaged my hair. I could see new breakage as I was blow drying. I don't hate the color, but I feel like I cant trust the box anymore, so I will not be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 djd1950 on 5/13/2014 12:34:00 AM more reviews by djd1950

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I used Excellence for several years but prefer the more gel-like consistency of Preference. I have fine hair which grows fast and is entirely gray in some sections and at least 50% in the others. I consider it medium brown but I think in hairdresser-speak it's light brown. I mix half a bottle Medium brown natural and half a bottle of Medium brown ash (in a bowl with ml markings) to counteract the tendency towards warmth, which I denied for several years until:
1) I saw a photo taken outside in which my hair appeared to be on fire; and
2) A sales assistant pointed me to a blush which would go well "with your red hair."

This product cannot be healthy...nothing with this toxic stink could be...I wonder if Erin Brockovich uses hair dye...anyway...it works. Gray gone, hair shiny. I'm always trying new tricks to prevent the toxic sludge from getting in my eyes and ears...this time I used a Palmer's Cocoa Butter stick around the hairline and it mostly worked..

Eventually the professional highlights from last November show through again, but that's ok. With CVS sale and coupons each box was about $5.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 12/29/2013 5:36:00 AM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am really surprised at how good this home dye is. I originally bought the Cool Dark (Ash) Brown which is the US name and I'm not sure of the shade in the UK. I chose it as I didn't want reddish/brown grey roots on my currently darkest brown hair and the colour came out great. I find the newer formula with the oil you have to add very runny so I only added half the vial to the mixture and the consistency was less runny. My hair was shiny even though it felt quite straw like when wet, and my scalp didn't burn which was one of the reasons I felt I had to give up ammonia formulations. It left a few greys untouched (my greys are very resistant) but not enough to notice. I've since used it in Brasilia - Dark Brown and although I was very worried at first as it looked black and nothing like the lighter Brasilia colour on the old style packaging, it faded to darkest brown, except on my ends which are prone to colour buildup. Again, it left my hair feeling a bit like straw but after deep conditioning with oils it looks really shiny, but nothing like the bird's nest I was left with when I tried Colorsilk. It stank to high heaven but still - unlike ammonia-free Colorsilk - never burned. I've also tried the Paris shade (Natural Dark Brown), Caracas (Dark Mahogany Brown, again looks different to the shade on the old packaging but comes out fine) and the Deep Golden Brown (what can I say, it was a freebie and I get bored easily. Although the golden brown didn't lift my darker colour at all despite what it showed on the box, it gave my hair a rich colour and evened it out very well. I now realise I have to concentrate on first applying this dye just to my roots, pulling the colour through to my ends for the last five minutes to avoid colour build-up.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Color products