Meow Cosmetics • Eyeshadow • Eye Shadow

rated 3.5(19 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Rebecca34 on 2/26/2014 10:56:00 AM more reviews by Rebecca34

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've been using these shadows for at least a couple of years and I feel I need to leave a positive review because I have had a good experience with these shadows, both the full size and the samples.

First of all, there is a huge color selection. Between the regular collections and the seasonal collections, I've managed to acquire a good variety of work-safe neutrals and fun brights. I do recommend trying samples of colors before buying the full sizes because the colors look different on the site's white background than they do on the eyes.

Second, both the full sizes and the samples are a good value. The full sizes are about average priced for a mineral eyeshadow brand; I've bought both cheaper and more expensive mineral shadows. However if $8-9 seems like a lot for a shadow, keep in mind that mineral shadows last a long time because you really don't use too much with each application. The $1 sample baggies are not the easiest to use but each sample baggie lasts at least 1-2 weeks (I've tried this) so I feel that $1 is a very fair price for one of them.

I love indie shadow pigment brands and Meow is one of my favorites. The customer service is good and all orders, even samples, arrive nicely packaged. Whenever I order from them, Meow also includes a couple of free shadow sample baggies. They seem to have pretty regular sales too. I own a good number of full size shadows and dozens of sample baggies and I will definitely continue to purchase from them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 keyelement on 6/13/2013 12:33:00 PM more reviews by keyelement

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Some shades are absolutely amazing. They are hit or miss, though. Between full sizes and samples I've tried maybe 35ish or so shades from various collections, and let me just tell you the most important things:

- Do NOT buy full size without trying a sample first. Their descriptions are wildly inaccurate at times, and you never know when something will be sheer or have a freaking black base. I've gotten the most beautiful taupe or golden colors based on how their little samples look on the screen, only to find that any amount of manipulation turns them ruddy and black. Not ok.
- Wait for sales. $8 for ~1G in a 5G pot is WAY too expensive. Concrete Minerals and noella beauty works give you way way way more, over twice as much product, for that price.

So given that you have to invest time into either trying samples or looking at a bunch of swatches online to know what you're getting into with any given shade (and no return policy), they're expensive, and while there are unique shades you're going to find just as unique and interesting shades in other companies (Darling Girl, Persephone, Dawn Eyes, etc) I wouldn't recommend Meow for eyeshadows. (Foundation and other face products are a different story!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* trillium13 on 9/8/2012 10:21:00 PM more reviews by trillium13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have a ton of Meow shadows, and most of them are samples. After reading so many complaints about the baggies and the amount of the samples, I felt that I needed to add my review. I love all of my Meow shadows, I have more shadows than anyone should, and one of my Meows is my absolute favorite perfect color! (Petulent) They are all beautifully pigmented, and I have never had any issues with lasting power, and no fallout and no fading. I always put them over UDPP. There are so many colors to choose from! I love that you can order sample sizes, because I can have a ton of bright colors, that I might not use often, and not have to buy a full size amount. As far as the sample packaging and amount, there is a good amount of shadow in each of those baggies! I put all of my samples into 3 or 5 gram jars. It takes a bit of time, but it's definitely worth it for me. I can see them more easily, and they are much easier to apply from the jars. And for a sample, there is a LOT of shadow there, enough for many uses! I know not everyone wants to take the time to do this, I just wanted to mention that you do get a good amount of product for a buck.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 maggiemari on 4/23/2012 7:52:00 PM more reviews by maggiemari

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I just tried out a few Meow shadow samples in a look today that I've had sitting in my "to try" pile for a while. I adore Meow's foundation (my absolute HG!), so I was looking forward to trying these, but I found them extremely disappointing. The shades I tried were Abra Cat-Abra, Malibu Kitty, and Neurotic. I used them with Nars Smudge-Proof and Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy, a combination which usually makes any loose shadows wear like iron. Not so with these! First of all, these blended very poorly - if I attempted to blend them at all, they basically just disappeared. Application was uneven, they faded incredibly fast (I do my eyes before my foundation, etc. and by the time I'd finished the rest of my face they were already noticeably faded!), and disappeared completely if I so much as touched my lid (I lightly touched my eye to fix an eyeliner goof and had to re-do that entire spot on my lid). Their samples are also pretty overpriced for such a teensy amount, especially given that they come in a baggie rather than a jar. For twice as much you can get samples 5x larger in a jar from Fyrinnae - and their shadows are much better!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lindadomini on 6/17/2011 2:07:00 PM more reviews by lindadomini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love the variation we get and the pigments are wonderful. Color stays true... doesn't change from initial application. Love the fact that you can layer. Some colors come off a bit more sheer than others but I think that's okay for more variation in the seasons. Be careful when you apply though because it's finely milled, rather than pressed in a compact, so it can get on your cheeks and clothes. Take a glimpse at your face after application and apply before you put on your clothes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DeliaDelyons on 5/16/2011 9:58:00 AM more reviews by DeliaDelyons

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Received a sample of Ideal Eyes "Purrfect Stranger" with my foundation samples... Website describes this color as "The muted dusty plum that will have you wondering where it's been all your life..."; however, I don't really see any plum to it, more of a pearlexscent muted brown. But I am so glad they threw it in my order because I have been using it since and love it!

First day I tried it out, my BF came over to pick me up to go shopping and as soon as he walked it he said "Whoa! Look at you! Where are YOU going?" :-) I said "Oh, do I look pretty?" And he said "Mmmmhmmm!" and gave me a big kiss and hug :-)

Then, yesterday, we were going to a picnic dinner and I had put it on, but am still in the process of trying out the foundations, so I asked him if the one I was wearing matched my skin tone. He said "It's a little darker than your neck.." and I was a bit crestfallen, but he followed with "But it's not really noticable, and it doesn't matter anyways, because everyone's going to be looking at your eyes!" :-D

So those two exchanges alone are reason enough for me to go ahead and purchase the full size of "Purrfect Stranger". :-) Love!!! And am looking forward to sampling other shadows from Meow. Great line!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 4truth on 4/10/2011 2:03:00 AM more reviews by 4truth

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Meow's eyeshadows are definitely my favorite shadows! They have so many fun colors available in a variety of different textures and finishes. I love that you can order samples. I have so many colors from Meow because I end up purchassing a bunch of them at once. Shipping can be a little high if you don't catch a sale. Luckily they have sales often and offer free shipping. I am disappointed by the negative reviews that state they lack pigmentation and staying power. Depending on your own body chemistry and oilyness of your eyelids, you may need a good primer to bring out the color and dimension of Meow's shadows. It is my opinion that Meow's shadows are highly pigmented and easy to blend. They also sell so many fun, sparkly shadows!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rxqueen011 on 10/20/2010 10:41:00 AM more reviews by rxqueen011

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am shocked by the negative reviews here. Meow's eyeshadows are some of my absolute favs! I have tried all their different formulas and while they may not all be completely unique, the pigmentation is great. I am especially impressed with their seasonal/LE collections, which showcase some of the most beautifully complex shades I have ever seen, from ANY other brand, period. They look best over a base, but you can foil them with water too. Some blend/look better left alone.

The packaging is a little underwhelming, but I do enjoy the labels. I recently bought a full-sized shadow from the Zombie collection and there is a cute zombie label and graphic printed directly on the lid.

I think $1.00/sample is very reasonable considering the amount of usage you get. I have bought from other companies and payed double for the same amount or maybe a bit more and the quality doesn't come close. I'd also like to add that all of these eyeshadows are custom blended by Meow. They don't buy bulk and repackage the same crap, like MANY other mineral companies selling eyeshadow at the same prices. The regular shadow samples are either 1/4 or 1/8 tsp, which is plenty of product for use after use. LE samples are 1/16 tsp, which I know sounds miniscule. A lot of effort and higher-end ingredients were used to create these. Instead of them charging more, they just give you a little less, but it's enough for you to decide if you want to purchase a full-size. I almost exclusively purchase LE samples and have never run out over the year I've used them.

The orders always come nicely packaged and extras are included. Their customer service is excellent, and if you are signed up for their newsletter or follow on facebook you will see plenty of free shipping and discount sales. I will continue to buy their eyeshadows probably forever!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MbMinx on 8/10/2010 4:49:00 PM more reviews by MbMinx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love these eyeshadows.
I will start by letting you know that I do use eye primer (Trish McEvoy or LORAC). I like to use these shadows wet as well. I like big color payoff - and I get it!

These shadows are quite pigmented and they can be very complex. They remind me of Fyrinnae in a lot of ways, but I think they blend a bit better. There are several formulas - I like the "IdealEyes Purrrls" best. They shimmer and glow and reflect light without being shiny. The matte colors can seem a little dull (in comparison to the Purrrls) but they wear well and they blend well. There are other finishes available if you want something sparkly or more metallic.

In addition to the regular shadow menus, there are limited edition and special collections with even more interesting colors.

I have dozens (literally) of sample baggies and several full-size jars and I think I'm stocked up into next year!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shrae1 on 6/6/2010 4:20:00 PM more reviews by shrae1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE this eye shadow! I only gave this an overall of 4 because I do have not had the joy of experiencing the full size versions yet...therefor can not comment on packaging. That said, I ordered like 30 samples of these and was so excited when I got them in! My daughters and I sat around and swatched each one, and just when I thought I had found my favorite, I tried another one and was like ohhhhh :) I usually do not like loose powder shadow, because I usually get so much fallout due to my lack of skill in application, but I will definitely order these in full size. The colors were beautiful, dimensional, and unique! I know that something is a keeper when my daughters steal it from me, and I find these just about everyday in their rooms. Try them all, you will not be disappointed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Meow Cosmetics products

More Eye Shadow products