Laura Mercier • Mineral Finishing Powder • Powders

rated 4.2(54 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 1/3/2014 1:59:00 PM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of the best powders that I have tried. It keeps my skin matte all day but also has that little glowy finish. Looks amazing, the best. I'm using Rich Vanilla, that is perfect for my skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleRussianDoll on 12/6/2013 1:02:00 PM more reviews by LittleRussianDoll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using Laura Mercier mineral powder for a while now, but as I have oily skin I do tend to go shiny throughout the day. I tried this without high expectations because I thought it can't do much more than other transulcent powders, but I was so surprised. It keeps my skin shine free all day - this has never happened before! I use #1 over real sand which is a great match for me. It looks powdery when you first apply it but within minutes it "melts" into your skin to leave a flawless finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 crashedandburn on 10/8/2013 5:28:00 PM more reviews by crashedandburn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I'm sad to say this, but this was a real disappointment for me. I have both LM's mineral powder in rich vanilla, as well as the illuminating powder, which I absolute LOVE and can't live without, so when my skin began to get increasingly oilier, I decided to give this a try.

It does help regulate oil production, and while I still get shiny during the day (that is inevitable), I find it doesn't get oily as fast, or as often. It also doesn't break me out or aggravate my sensitive skin.
I also love the finish. Like all LM powders, this is finely milled, very natural and doesn't cake at all. It really does give the appearance of a smoother face and makes your skin tone look more even. When I first applied it, I didn't notice that, but take a step back from the mirror and look at your face from a distance, you'll see it's true!

The thing I absolutely hate though, and is the reason for my not so glowing review, is that this appears too light on my skin. I tried applying it with the recommended LM velour puff (which I bought just for this), and then my ecotools kabuki brush when that didn't work. I do have tanned skin, but this powder was supposed to be translucent, which it definitely isn't. All the trouble I go through to have my foundation/face powder/concealer match my skin tone definitely goes to waste because after applying this, I suddenly look a lot paler.

If you buy this at a LM makeup counter, the salesperson would probably try to get you to buy the velour puff that is supposed to go with this. Trust me, DON'T DO IT if you intend to use it for this. It's a nice velour puff that isn't too pricey but the puff is too big to fit into the container to pick up product evenly, and therefore, it won't disperse the product onto your face evenly either. I end up using this puff for compact powders. Much better.

It really is annoying because this powder is not cheap. All in all, this is a good powder and the quality is really fantastic, just like my other LM loose powders, but this just wasn't suitable for me, and I don't think it would suit those with tanned/darker skin. I suppose if you have fairer or lighter skin, then I highly recommend this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nahsiep on 8/10/2013 10:38:00 AM more reviews by nahsiep

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm using Laura Mercier's Mineral Finishing Powder in #1. I've been looking for a translucent loose powder that doesn't contain talc, silicones, parabens and other toxic ingredients. It took me a while. I tried several mineral powders from Bare Escentuals but they always made my skin dry out (usually with comedones showing up which is really gross)... I've also tried mineral powders from Bare Minerals (available from iHerb) and some other brands I can't even remember... Nothing came close to Laura Mercier's Mineral Finishing Powder. When I first purchased the powder, I did think that it was slightly pricey as there's not a lot of it but I soon realise that a little really goes a (super) long way.... LM's version is non-toxic, featherlight and pretty translucent. It neither dries out my cheeks nor makes my t-zone greasy. I'm currently based in sunny and humid Singapore (close to 90% humidity all year round...) and I find that I do not need to touch up throughout the day, which is absolutely amazing. Underneath the powder, I apply Marie Veronique's Moisturizing Face Screen SPF30 or Badger's Damascus Rose Anti-Oxidant Sunscreen SPF16 mixed with Suki's Tinted Active Moisturizer. It's a match made in heaven. My skin just stays calm, moisturized, poreless and dewy... Love!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cherrybello on 3/17/2013 1:52:00 PM more reviews by Cherrybello

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is my favourite loose powder I have tried so far... I paired this with the Armani matte silk foundation, which is the favourite of my foundations, they work together so well to give me the best finish I could ever ask for. If I moisturised well before I put on makeup, I can get away with not touching up until mid afternoon, sometimes I won't bother, it'll turn into a dewy finish which is not greasy. The only thing I have against it is the packaging. I took it on a trip one time and I must have not closed lid thing inside properly and I am not one for the powder puffs... so half the product ended up in the top half of the tub... so I have to be careful so I don't drop the tub or put on too much powder... but the finish is just so worth it...!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cutelildeadbear on 12/31/2012 11:01:00 PM more reviews by cutelildeadbear

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I am using # 1 (this only comes in # 1 or # 2) and I love this. I was looking high and low for a setting powder to just put a bit over my foundation and I kept getting super disappointed in everything I found. I made three trips to the mall to return all sorts of stuff from Dior to Chanel to YSL. Nothing suited me. I then decided that I'm going to have to go back to mineral powders because they seem to be the only thing that works on my skin. I guess because they are so finely milled?? I really don't know why, but they really look the best on me. Also probably because this doesn't contain talc as someone already mentioned. Talc and my skin do not mix.

I had tried the LM Illuminating Mineral powder in Candlelight in the summer and I love it, but it is just too shimmery for winter and every day use especially to wear at the office so I just wanted a simple setting powder and that is exactly what this is. It is perfect and exactly what I was looking for.

It feels so soft and velvety. I apply it with a big fluffy brush or a kabuki brush and you just need a small amount to dust over your face. It doesn't have a color (well technically it is white for # 1, but once you put it on it is translucent) and it just looks and feels amazing. It doesn't look like a powder or anything it just makes your skin look flawless and smooth. It doesn't feel like anything is on your face either which I like. I have no idea why some people said it made them look white, they clearly were not applying it properly and using way way too much. I mean I thought that I put on a lot and it doesn't even make me look white (I try to cover my rosy cheeks).

It doesn't break me out, which I love about mineral make up to begin with. It will last forever because there is so much in the tub that it comes in. Even if you are clumsy like me and end up spilling some.

So if I ever run out of this I will definitely re-purchase forever and ever. Oh I also mix it a little bit with the Candlelight to give me just a hint of shimmer and it is PERFECT! :) I swear you have to try it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChaseSpearing on 10/18/2012 1:24:00 PM more reviews by ChaseSpearing

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Laura Mercier makes several loose setting powders and this is the cheapest at 32 USD. And they all pretty much do the same thing.


The high price tag is totally worth it for one of the best products on the market. This comes in a basic loose powder container, but it does not come with a powder puff of its own, you have to buy the 12 dollar LM one if you want the best results. (The puff is totally worth it, make the skin look flawless.)


I haven't tried a lot of loose powders, but this one is the best. I often have the issue that my powder looks, we'll, powdery but this doesn't give that appearance if pressed into the skin with a puff then blended with a kabuki. The powder itself is white but doesn't leave a white cast to the skin, it just blends seamlessly into the face.

I would definitely say try this out if you have the extra money, but if you have dry skin I dont think its necessary.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shanntann on 1/17/2012 6:40:00 PM more reviews by shanntann

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this stuff! I always have the problem with my powders looking too heavy and well...powdery on top of my foundation. This stuff doesn'tdo that!
I have combo-oily skin and I want something that's going to look pretty even, flawless and not let my pinky cheeks show through!
This helps set my makeup all day, controls oil, doesn't get thick or sticky and all in all just a really great setting powder! I use it with my ecotools finishing brush and you really don't need that much!
LOVEE

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 catrice75 on 9/30/2011 10:51:00 AM more reviews by catrice75

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I have this powder in shade2 and it lasts a long time for the price. I use it over the tinted moisturizer and it doesn't change the color, just makes it last longer and gives me a smooth complexion. It is the best powder I have used, will definetly repurchase when I run out although I've had it for quite a while already!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SamWaddington on 9/9/2011 11:44:00 AM more reviews by SamWaddington

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I had my eye on this after loving the mineral foundation but I was truely sceptical about its ability to control oil and shine that I keep reading about in the reviews here. But I caved and went and got it. Its TRUE the oil control is amazing! There are a couple of things to bear in mind though - it is VERY fine and even when the sifter is shut the powder manages to escape from the pot into the top and lid, plus a light hand is key - use a soft puff to gentle press a TINY amount onto oily areas, a brush seems to apply too much and takes away that lovely healthy mineral finish.

I no longer need to blot my makeup with this. Great stuff!

EDIT: I have stopped using this over winter as I find it makes my skin look dull, tends to go a bit cakey and finds any flakiness. Best for oilier summer skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Powders products