MAC • Glitter Brilliant - Reflects Antique Gold • Eye Shadow

rated 4.6(43 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 teaelleyou on 9/18/2012 12:51:00 PM more reviews by teaelleyou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is probably THE most hyped pigment, it's all over youtube and is basically sold out everywhere. I happened to snatch the last bottle after weeks and weeks of fruitless searching and I have to say I feel a bit underwhelmed. Don't get me wrong, it was very pretty (hence the 4 stars), but it just didn't blow my socks off like I thought it would. A very deep bronzey gold thats almost duo chromed w/ a greenish gunmental shimmer in certain lights. Still gorgeous, but maybe split a bottle w/ a friend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kpennock on 4/1/2012 4:12:00 PM more reviews by kpennock

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my FAVORITE of the Reflects Glitters by MAC. It is the perfect glitter to pair with browns or reds or purples....it is glittery but not GLITTER...it is so fine and beautiful and has enough of a pigment kind of dust with the glitter you really can use it on your own or as an accent or eve over something else. It is the ultimate glitter for the girl that doesnt want too much glitter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rin13 on 11/10/2011 4:47:00 PM more reviews by Rin13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This color is GORGEOUS!!! I don't care for browns or golds, but this color is truly beautiful. I was really surprised by how much I adore this color. It is one of (if not THE) most beautiful and unique eyeshadow/ pigment colors I've ever seen. It's like a cool toned brown with very fine gold shimmer throughout. On the eye it just shimmer and shines like crazy.. but it doesn't look like that childish glitter/shimmer. It has a very elegant look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 9/20/2011 4:30:00 AM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love most of the Reflects Glitters I have and Antique Gold is no exception. I recently tried this for the first time, and have to say without a doubt, this is going to instantly slide into the top 3 of "reflects glitters' for me.



Antique Gold is perfectly named. As the name indicates, this is definitely an "Antique" gold .. it's a dirty sort of rustic gold, more brown than yellow, but not dark. Just adds a very sparkly and quite stunning pop to eyes. Most of these need to be used with the mixing medium for better adherence and this definitely works better with that. The sparkle on this is stunning, and unlike the regular MAC glitters, this is more finely milled. So while it definitely still has that "bling" factor, it's not quite as loud as the regular MAC glitters. I paired this with a deep purple/wine crease shade and the finished look was quite striking! Definitely one of the best "reflects" glitters MAC has released. SO glad I picked this one up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JM234 on 7/31/2011 5:25:00 PM more reviews by JM234

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this product. I'd bought ages ago and used with the eyeline mixer medium but didn't really like the effect. Then spoke to a FANTASTIC SA on the MAC counter in Belfast and she suggested using Painterly paint pot as a base and applying the glitter with a firm brush dampened down with Fix+.

Did a trial run of this, with NARS Mekong on the crease and under the lower lashline and LOVED it. There was very limited fallout and absolutely no creasing.

One lippie off because it wasn't necessarily as dramatic as I would have liked from a glitter pigment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* muffingrl on 6/15/2011 4:53:00 AM more reviews by muffingrl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this beautiful glitter from my local Cosmetics Company Outlet for $16. It is in the original 7.5g jar instead of new smaller jars. This is a very finely milled dirty gold glitter that is excellent for spicing up a boring neutral look. It adds just the right amount of sparkle that is sophisticated and lovely. I like to pat this on top of my black winged liner for more pizzazz. On nights out with the bf and the girls, I use this wet all over my eyelids for a huge wow factor. This is a wonderful product, definitely check your CCO to see if you can still get your hands on the larger jar. I believe this is a permanent or pro product from MAC that you can buy at any time. If not, this is frequently repromoted in holiday sets. Will not repurchase because I will never run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hellokittybrock on 2/20/2011 6:33:00 AM more reviews by hellokittybrock

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am a fan of antique gold colors. This eyeshadow has very fine intense glitter and it is extremely pretty. I wouldnt wear this to office as it is too loud but for a nights out with friends... gosh that is more than perfect. The other colors I can recommend is Fyrinnae's new castle and Bobbi brown metallic cream shadow in antique gold as well. All perfect. LOL

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rachaelein on 11/9/2010 7:05:00 PM more reviews by Rachaelein

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE!

I agree with the commenters that suggest this glitter is "natural." There is something really earthy and lovely about it. It can be incorporated into a brown or purple or green smokey eye and blend qutie well.

This pigment is pretty fine for a glitter and doesn't feel like rocks on your lid. I use it as liner (with Beauty from the Earth Mix & Fix or MAC Fix +) but mostly as a shadow. For a glitter, it sticks to the lid relatively well on its own.

I order small jars from MakeupGeek.com for $4 or so. A little goes a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glowww333 on 9/6/2010 12:47:00 AM more reviews by glowww333

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I paid a lot for this glitter since it was discontinued and I do not have access to mac pro. so I had to but in on ebay and i am not at all sorry! If worn over black carbon or any matte color it creates the sought after wet effect that spells out sophistication and glam without the clown inspired glittery looks that scare us all. If used it fix+ (which you should, if u do not want fallout) it stays on forever and I do not really get fallout. Use a wet synthetic brush and pat it on, rather than brushing it on and there should be no problem getting it to your lids.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hodetovervannet on 7/28/2010 9:29:00 PM more reviews by hodetovervannet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I don't normally write reviews for eyeshadow/glitter as I find many are the same but I have to make an exception for 'Reflects Antique Gold.' This color is a beautiful brown gold that looks like diamonds on the lid. Of all the eye looks I have ever done, this one gets me the most compliments from women. I just use MAC Paint Pot Constructivist on the lid then pat this with my finger on top. It's the most spectacular look. Pairing with just about any colored liner works nicely, too. I sometimes use blue, green, plum, black or brown. They all work well. I have used this as a casual-wear daily sort of look at times when I just want to feel pretty. One of my favorite products MAC makes, hands down. Plus, that jar lasts a lifetime it seems! Would buy again many times over.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products