Sephora • Matifying Powder Foundation • Powder

rated 3.5(89 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angellove1705 on 11/19/2014 11:03:00 PM more reviews by angellove1705

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have combination dry, acne skin. I tend to have oil on my forehead, nose, and a little on my cheeks. I thought this foundation might be good for me with my skin being oily in some spots. I found this to be too chalky and dry. This left me with a very powdery look. I tried this with a sponge and it just looked like I took talcum powder and applied it thickly. I am unsure if this would look more natural with oily skin or not. I think with normally oily skin it might help give a more dewy, naturally matte look without being too dry. The other problem is the shade. I have the porcelain and it is not fair enough. This has a bit of an darkness I would expect in the darker shades, not in the porcelain. This is a definite pass for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thsses on 7/15/2013 6:05:00 AM more reviews by thsses

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'll use this when i want light coverage. It doesn't look cakey after numerous layers. It matifies but at a certain point, i'll have light oily t-zone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bianca92 on 6/24/2013 4:07:00 AM more reviews by bianca92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product whilst in Europe on holidays and it was one of the first pressed powder foundations I have used. I found that this was best used over my liquid base foundation as it has quite a light coverage. It has a natural finish which is something I look for in a foundation. I did not love the packaging however, the top of the compact broke pretty quickly and I didn't really use the makeup application pad that came with it because I just ended up using one of my makeup brushes. I entirely used up this product, however I probably won't buy it again anytime soon as it isn't easy to buy Sephora products affordably in Australia.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chemistryfordummies on 6/18/2013 3:34:00 PM more reviews by chemistryfordummies

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this was the first foundation product I ever used and I do like it. I don't reach for it all the time but I find that it provides decent coverage and it is very matte. I only use this in the summer when I feel oily and don't want to put on liquid or cream foundation. I don't have many blemishes or face discoloration, so I find that this is perfect light coverage to even out my skintone. I wouldn't repurchase because I'm sure that there are drugstore powder foundations that perform the same way, for half the price. Overall though, I like it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 montinez on 3/22/2013 1:14:00 AM more reviews by montinez

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Horrible. I lost my receipt so I'll only receive store cred when i take it back =( i should've stuck to Mac foundation for only $8 more.

It's to white and chalky.
Doesn't last at all, I've used drug store makeup better than this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ultraviolet on 3/13/2013 9:37:00 PM more reviews by Ultraviolet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This compact was the perfect example of unbalanced form and function. Sephora should have been ashamed of themselves for releasing a product which performed like > $30 but was packaged like it was < $3. The photo accompanying this review speaks for the frustration I felt when after a handful of uses, I accidentally bumped my makeup bag against fill-in-the-blank. A fluffy pomeranian. Air. The foundation cake cracked, crumbling into a mess which was almost impossible to remove from any cloth material with which it came into contact.


I finally decided to re-purpose the product as a powder, as it was a very close match to my skin tone. While it was mattifying, it did not leave my face excessively dry. Did not experience any adverse reactions from the formula, I could layer it successfully without a "fake" and cakey appearance. In other words, it was almost a holy grail.


They recently relaunched these compacts in a supposedly more user-friendly format, so their old relatives were on deep clearance. I picked up a few and didn't even bother attempting to use them normally--just used a heated knife blade to slice the foundation cake, and removed each wedge from the compact and placed into empty loose powder containers. If you are able to find any of these on sale, I highly recommend purchasing them and performing the same sort of Doctor Operation.


I'm not coming within 50 feet of these reformulated products without seeing a high amount of 4/5 star reviews for the packaging. At this price point, it's absurd to deal with any complications in that regard--especially when I could just pay an additional $10-$15 dollars and have no worries whatsoever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AJ3141 on 2/14/2013 12:38:00 AM more reviews by AJ3141

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this about 9 months and love it! I've used it every day. I've tried using other powders and nothing else I've tried comes close to mattifying like this. The coverage is light, so I usually put this on top of BB cream/concealer if I use them. The main reason I use this is for mattifying and evening out my skin. It's about $20 and I like the sponge it comes with

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blowpop on 2/2/2013 2:00:00 PM more reviews by blowpop

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is a good product. It gives a decent coverage and matches my skin tone. It's not overly amazing but it works and I'm glad :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JadoreNelle on 1/23/2013 10:33:00 PM more reviews by JadoreNelle

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This has been a staple product for me since I found it. It blends seamlessly and doesnt break you out. Only gripe I have is the packaging. When you get to the end all the powder falls apart and gets all over everything. Luckily, Sephora told me they are redesigning the packaging!!! The product formulation will stay the same, just revamping the packaing. Excited to see it! I wear D35 in this powder. UPDATE: The new packaging is horrid! It is nearly twice the size of the original package and comes with a ugly white half moon sponge instead of the black round sponge... Might have to rethink this foundation solely because I hate the packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 grellsutcliffspears on 12/19/2012 6:56:00 PM more reviews by grellsutcliffspears

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This powder is nice, I suppose. Certainly NOT one of the best I've tried, but decent. Some things I don't like; it has parabens, it doesn't last long, the packaging is EXTREMELY flimsy, and it's not completely matte, it's almost a satin finish on me. It does have a nice texture though, and it does not have a lot of fall out, also, I used to be an nc30, luckily I'm now nc25(I hate being tan. I'm trying to get to nc15(Iknow, it'll take a while)), so it's too dark. I like to use powders that are my exact skin tone, but it used to match perfectly. My friend loves it, but I guess I'm too picky.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sephora products

More Powder products