MAC • Matte2 - Copperplate • Eye Shadow

rated 4.7(195 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 jennyB33 on 4/2/2014 11:20:00 AM more reviews by jennyB33

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely *love* this eyeshadow. It is a definite staple and must have. It looks boring and dull in the pan but transforms into a beautiful shade on the lid. I was afraid this might be too warm (warm colors look drab and tiring on my eyes) but it isn't - it's a perfect neutral, with the just right amount of cool/warm undertones. I regret it has taken me this long to purchase this!


Everybody here has pin-pointed all of the pro's of this eyeshadow. It's the perfect transition color or base crease color to blend out a darker color on the outer V. I love to use this for my 'base-crease/V' color for my shimmery shadows. Sometimes when my your highlight color is shimmery, eyeshadow shades are shimmery, lip and cheek colors are shimmery, it could look a bit too frosty in broad daylight. Since this is matte, it create a nice balance. I usually apply some shimmery beige color on my tear-ducts, apply Copperplate on my crease, then a darker shimmering gray defining the crease (Benefit Where There's Smoke or a comparable MAC shade would be Smoke & Diamonds), and then a little black to define the crease even more. You could also use this for your brows - it looks very natural!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BCbabe on 3/3/2014 11:12:00 PM more reviews by BCbabe

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Pardon me while I prepare my shields. I'm so gonna get slammed for this. I'd hummed and hawed over this for a while... I can be such a sucker for good reviews. (After all these years I *still* haven't learned...) I didn't jump on the Matte2 bandwagon when it first rolled but I'd always been a little interested. Mattes to me are... kind of a necessary evil. Boring but respectable, and getting a little longer in tooth I figured maybe it was time to have some decent mattes, just in case I needed to be, well, respectable. I made myself a little quad with Blanc Type, Copperplate, Fig.1 and Handwritten. (I figured if I was going to try them, I may as well go ALL IN but for this review we'll just tackle Copperplate). Ok... I was a little hyped up by the reviews so when I actually gave it a try, I guess I expected rainbows to appear out of my bathroom mirror. Nada. Is it silky smooth? Yes! Is it easy to apply? Definitely, though it took a little more layering than I expected to get it to show up. Is it a nice colour? If you consider a light-med slightly taupey grey "nice", I guess so. It's definitely an understated shade. It won't cause people to wolf whistle you from the nose bleed section of the local ice arena but you didn't expect that though, did you? I can see where this gets the interest. It's an (almost) universal shade that will cut your crease with class. It will blend effortlessly and look flawless in photos. It won't steal your lunch money or take the air out of your tires... but I have a hard time getting excited over a matte grey, especially when my Ben Nye and Kryolan do just as good a job. I guess with the hype I expected to hear angels (did I forget to leave my windows open?) So yes, the Matte2's are nice 'n all that but Copperplate just didn't blow my socks off. If it had a hidden copper shimmer, now that would be something... (where DOES it get that misnomer, anyways?) So if you want a non-eventful matte that feels super silky and applies just as sweetly, you can put this on your wishlist and go back to your knitting (you know the cats will just play with the yarn and mess it all up if you don't) but this sadly just did not excite me. Even if Channing Tatum rode up to me on a horse and gave it to me on a silver platter. I'd probably take more interest in the horse, to be honest.
EDIT: Yeah, I'm back with some news. Some wild notion of mine made me think to try this as a contour (perhaps because in makeup school, they made us use dark brown (!) eyeshadow for contour??) Surprisingly, it works! The pot is tiny though but since MAC doesn't really have a proper "contour" powder, they should put this into a blush sized pan. Yeah, I know. MAC has the Sculpting Powder thingies and I already have the "Accentuate/Sculpt" duo but have you ever tried to make that stuff show up on your skin?? Copperplate is greyer and therefore, to my eye, more natural looking. It also shows up better though not overwhelmingly so. You can layer it to get it right. Hey, for all we know, they used this to 'sculpt' Channing Tatum's abs... Hmmm!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 belinduh319 on 12/19/2013 2:21:00 AM more reviews by belinduh319

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Copperplate is my go-to crease color. It's the perfect brown-gray color. It's pretty pigmented and easy to blend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AlEvers on 9/8/2013 8:46:00 AM more reviews by AlEvers

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I can't make this colour work on my skin. It washes me out. I must say that it is an excellent shadow, it blends like a dream but on my complexion it just does'nt work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ting2 on 9/5/2013 3:47:00 PM more reviews by ting2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this eyeshadow!!! This is my number one HG es! I wear this almost daily. It is a very flattering shade of grey-brown that would work well for day/night. I have lots of other es but I always go back to this one. If I cab only use one eyeshadow for the rest of my life. then this one would be it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* galai_curryqueen9830 on 8/22/2013 2:21:00 AM more reviews by galai_curryqueen9830

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my FAVORITE eyeshadow, No. 1, #1, my holy grail eyeshadow. This is the perfect eyeshadow for my crease (I'm NC30), as well as to fade other colors out. The fact that it's matte makes it even better as it makes shadowing my crease look even more natural and lasts longer. I have honestly, been using this eyeshadow every time I apply any eye make up. I can also (If i really need to) double it as eyebrow powder.
I wish I had learned about this eyeshadow earlier because this has definitely worked its way up to my top favorite eyeshadows.
Would definitely recommend this, and repurchase it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* garstrieper on 8/7/2013 2:52:00 PM more reviews by garstrieper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I can't believe I just recently found out about this eyeshadow....It is an absolute must have for any makeup fiend. I can use it for contouring, for smoky eyes, for defining my eye socket...it's just a lovely, lovely, versatile shade. Will never let myself run out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lomelindi on 7/23/2013 3:59:00 PM more reviews by Lomelindi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is one of my favorite and most versatile MAC eyeshadows. It is a lovely medium grey shade with faint taupe undertones, so it's not as deathly cool as some greys can be. This e/s works fantastically as a natural-eye crease color, although I love using it for my black, sparse brows. It's dark enough to fill in gaps in my brows but the finished effect is subtle and natural-looking. (Maybelline Color Tattoo in Tough as Taupe is the exact same shade except in cream e/s form.)


I don't notice anything exceptional OR bad about the formula - it's typically MAC, neither buttery nor powdery. Pigmention is good. I recommend keeping this e/s handy if you're a fan of greys and matte, natural eyes.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IamJasmine on 6/21/2013 9:29:00 PM more reviews by IamJasmine

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Perfect grey for me! Not as purple as Tease by Urban Decay, which I also love, but I wanted a more grey toned, and it's perfect! Everyone should have this in their collection! I attempted a cut crease Lana Del Rey look and it was perfect! Texture is so smooth as silky. I bought this as soon as it became available on MAC's website, it said, "COMING SOON" for the longest time. Not sure why, since it was a permanent shade before, but one day I checked to see if I could add it to my bag, and I bought it! Perfect color! For reference, blue eyes and pale skin. :) It makes my eyes pop!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ckb on 6/18/2013 11:54:00 PM more reviews by ckb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is an amazing color for blue eyes. It is a taupe gray, slightly purple undertones - but not purpley at all. I love that it is matte, but smoother than a typical matte shadow. My favorite way to wear this is all over the lid and blended into crease. It is perfect for a smokey eye, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products