Trader Joe's • Tea Tree Oil soap • Cleansers

rated 4.4(42 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 MademoiselleLillie on 7/31/2012 4:35:00 AM more reviews by MademoiselleLillie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have been including this in my acne clearing regimen for a few months now and it does a fine job at removing acne causing bacteria on my face, and I like that it is all natural. I used to just use tea tree oil extract as a spot treatment and really wanted a cleanser with that instead of salicylic acid used tea tree oil as a blemish fighting ingredient. This alone will obviously not get rid of acne on it's own but I use this first after removing makeup and also when I first wake up, following it with toner, eye cream, moisturizer where needed and either tea tree oil extract or benzoyl peroxide cream where I have a zit (the latter if it's a really clogged pore). Love this product, I like that it does what it is intended to do, it's fairly inexpensive, you get a good amount of product for less than $6 and it is not tested on animals (cruelty free counts for me) highly recommended for combination/oily skin like mine and I will most likely repurchase

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 icing78 on 7/1/2012 5:46:00 PM more reviews by icing78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am revewing for the bar soap. I am using this to replace my previous Neutragina face wash to remove regular but light acne. I am not quite sure what this soap does to remove the acne--it seems to clear it for a couple of days and then it will come out again even if I keep using the bar. and I also noticed some little bumps on my skin that I don't usually see before. I will try something else after I am done with these two bars.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 calltheshots on 6/15/2012 11:24:00 PM more reviews by calltheshots

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have been suffering from acne as a teen until recently. Thanks to the liquid tea tree soap, I am the clearest I've ever been. I still get a pimple here and there, but it's definitely the best cleanser I've ever tried for my acne prone skin. Tea tree seems to be very agreeable for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 blumoon on 6/9/2012 3:53:00 AM more reviews by blumoon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My review is for the bar soap. I bought it after running out of my Eve Lom cleanser, which has been part of my regimen that's kept my skin pretty much problem-free for a long time. I decided to give the soap a try while waiting for my EL order to arrive in the mail. I wish I had ordered the EL earlier because just a few days after using the soap my skin reacted negatively to it. I got little bumps on my forehead, which used to be a problem for me but was kept at bay ever since I found a regimen that worked for me. My skin became drier and irritated. The problem got better when I stopped using the soap but I am still waiting for it to return to normal.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DecoDolly on 5/6/2012 3:54:00 PM more reviews by DecoDolly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for the liquid soap in the pump bottle. I've used pure tea tree for years with pretty good results, and have heard only good things about this soap, so I decided to give it a shot. Unfortunately, it's too drying for me. I think it's the castille that just doesn't jive with my skin. Even though I'm careful to avoid my eye area and sensitive neck/collarbone/chest area, when I use this, the skin on those areas gets rashy and scabby! It hurts. Just can't do it.
That being said, it works great for my friend, so maybe I just have ultra sensitive skin.
Now I use this as a makeup brush cleaner and it's fine for that, but way too harsh for my face.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 littlellamadrama on 4/28/2012 4:04:00 AM more reviews by littlellamadrama

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this cleanser for about a week now and I absolutely love it. I have pretty acne prone skin, but this along with my skinsonic (clarisonic dupe) has kept my face pretty much clear. Except maybe for a tiny pimple on my nose, but that's because my skin was aggravated by my glasses. This is a pretty good feat, especially since my sleeping hours are rather erratic, so I expected to totally break out. But I'm so glad I haven't and I owe all my thanks to this product.

It does, however, have its drawbacks. For one, the pump is very difficult to control. The first time I tried it, the product flew all over my sink. But you simply just have to get the hang of it. Another drawback is the smell. When I first tried it, I was so turned off by the smell. But I kept using it because of the reviews here in MUA. It doesn't really foam a lot. And it really stings around the eyes.

It's not the most comfortable to use, but I've been really looking for a cleanser to really help with my acne prone skin. I've gone through Neutrogena, Pond's, Clean and Clear, Garnier, but I believe this is it. I'll keep trying it for a month, before I proclaim it as my HG cleanser.

Update: I've been using it for 3 months now, and holy bejeezus--I no longer have to wear foundation so often. However, I have to keep to the regimen of using it with my skinsonic or else it's not as effective.

I'm making my boyfriend try it out because he has a bad case of acne--and I'm starting to see a lot of improvement but I think I have to get him something to help him exfoliate.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 XOXkay on 4/23/2012 4:24:00 PM more reviews by XOXkay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is also a review for the bar soap, it comes with 2 for about 2$. I love this stuff! Trader Joe's is like 40 minutes from my house, so when i went i bought 2 packs of these. It's been months and i'm still on my first bar. I know some people don't like the smell of this, but i actually love it. Anyways, i bought it in hopes of getting rid of acne and acne scarring. My acne has finally died down (thanks to reviews on here i realized a lot of harsh cleansers were making my skin worse), but now i'm left with this horrible scarring. It's been 3 months and my acne scars are almost all gone! It also keeps my acne at bay, and keeps new scars from forming. I will continue to use this, i love it so much!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 msmoose18 on 4/9/2012 11:57:00 PM more reviews by msmoose18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using the bar soap for about a week now and can see a huge improvement in my skin. I use Retin A for my acne (I have had acne for the past 4 years straight) and it is hard to find a cleanser that actually does something for my skin, but is still gentle. This soap is so gentle it seems like it is actually healing my skin and getting rid of my acne. Plus, you can't beat the price. I work at a beauty store and have used everything out there. I can't believe how well this works!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kanka999 on 4/2/2012 5:59:00 PM more reviews by kanka999

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

EDIT: Ok, why am I not getting the wonderful results that everybody else is? I think this is making my skin worse. I'm only using it for bacne, not my face, but my skin feels irriated, really bumpy and I'm breaking out all over my chest. :( Very bummed.

Is everybody reviewing the bars or the liquid?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lokiflowers on 3/22/2012 12:29:00 PM more reviews by lokiflowers

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I haven't written a review before but this soap is amazing!!! Thank goodness I came across the other reviews on here or I never would have thought to look at TJ's. First of all, the price cannot be beat! You get 2 huge bars for $3, seriously, I cut them in half and almost a year later am still on the 2nd half of the first bar, unbelievable. It has really cleared up my skin, I have suffered with acne since high school and hoped I would have grown out of it by now but was still getting the cluster acne on my chin. This has really cleared everything up and when I do get an occasional breakout, it doesn't last nearly as long. I use the soap in combination with the mint julep mask (another MA find and bargain) as a spot treatment and its gone within 2 days. So much better than benzoyl peroxide that would bleach out all my washcloths, towels and clothes sometimes. Try it, give it some time, I really dont think you will be disappointed...HG for me no question!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Trader Joe's products

More Cleansers products