Trader Joe's • Tea Tree Oil soap • Cleansers

rated 4.4(45 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* payjark on 7/9/2014 4:57:00 PM more reviews by payjark

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for about a week now and my skin is so happy. I use this after using an Aveeno Daily Cleansing Pad and this makes my skin feel refreshed and soft. I live in Texas and it's very hot, therefor my skin becomes very clogged and my pores look disgusting. I can tell that after using this, my pores are smaller looking and even my breakouts are reduced. The only problem (which for me is not an issue) is that this face wash is drying to the skin. So, if your skin is dry, do not use this. I have oily-combo skin, so this is perfect for balancing my skin. And the drying only comes from the tea tree oil, rather than an alcohol. And for $6 for a pretty large bottle full of natural products, it's a steal!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 m3ndokusei on 4/22/2014 12:13:00 AM more reviews by m3ndokusei

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

This seemed to work well for the first 1-2 weeks. I tend to get a new pimple every 1-3 days, and my skin is usually oily and acne prone, so this seemed like a suitable cleanser. I had went to Trader Joe's to try their Nourish all in one face wash which has a great review on Beautypedia, but they didn't seem to carry it at the Bellingham location, so I went home with this one instead. The smell was tolerable since I prefer things unscented, and the consistency was very liquidy, but lathered surprisingly well on wet skin. I noticed that my pores looked smaller, and my skin was better than it had looked in a long time. Even new pimples seemed to clear up quicker and never reached peak severity.

A few weeks after using this my skin began to break out and it's been itchy, reddish and irritated ever since. At first, I didn't really think it was the cleanser, so I tried to persist with using it, but on my sensitized skin (I had been using acne medication on my blemishes), it just made things crazy itchy and inflamed. Now, I'm too afraid to use it, which is sad, cuz I had been so excited to try products from Trader Joe's, and had made a trip to the states just to try them.

It's possible that the initial break out isn't related to the cleanser, but for sure this cleanser is NOT good on SENSITIZED, active-break out skin, or skin that's being treated with acne medication in multiple areas of the face (probably one or two pimples is okay, but not an active breakout all over the face).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 drawntomusic on 4/21/2014 10:04:00 PM more reviews by drawntomusic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This cures acne! I use this cleanser at night with my clarisonic and follow with TJ's nourish oil-free antioxidant moisturizer. It smells strongly of mint, which I like, and has quite a tingle to it, which I also like. The cleanser pumps out as a liquid but has a great smooth lather once massaged into skin. It definitely deep cleans my pores and will quickly clear up breakouts. My skin feels a little tight after using this because it is so deep cleaning, but it's not uncomfortable. I have normal skin, as far as oily or dry, and have occasional breakouts due to hormones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MademoiselleLillie on 7/31/2012 4:35:00 AM more reviews by MademoiselleLillie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have been including this in my acne clearing regimen for a few months now and it does a fine job at removing acne causing bacteria on my face, and I like that it is all natural. I used to just use tea tree oil extract as a spot treatment and really wanted a cleanser with that instead of salicylic acid used tea tree oil as a blemish fighting ingredient. This alone will obviously not get rid of acne on it's own but I use this first after removing makeup and also when I first wake up, following it with toner, eye cream, moisturizer where needed and either tea tree oil extract or benzoyl peroxide cream where I have a zit (the latter if it's a really clogged pore). Love this product, I like that it does what it is intended to do, it's fairly inexpensive, you get a good amount of product for less than $6 and it is not tested on animals (cruelty free counts for me) highly recommended for combination/oily skin like mine and I will most likely repurchase

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 icing78 on 7/1/2012 5:46:00 PM more reviews by icing78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am revewing for the bar soap. I am using this to replace my previous Neutragina face wash to remove regular but light acne. I am not quite sure what this soap does to remove the acne--it seems to clear it for a couple of days and then it will come out again even if I keep using the bar. and I also noticed some little bumps on my skin that I don't usually see before. I will try something else after I am done with these two bars.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 calltheshots on 6/15/2012 11:24:00 PM more reviews by calltheshots

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have been suffering from acne as a teen until recently. Thanks to the liquid tea tree soap, I am the clearest I've ever been. I still get a pimple here and there, but it's definitely the best cleanser I've ever tried for my acne prone skin. Tea tree seems to be very agreeable for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 blumoon on 6/9/2012 3:53:00 AM more reviews by blumoon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My review is for the bar soap. I bought it after running out of my Eve Lom cleanser, which has been part of my regimen that's kept my skin pretty much problem-free for a long time. I decided to give the soap a try while waiting for my EL order to arrive in the mail. I wish I had ordered the EL earlier because just a few days after using the soap my skin reacted negatively to it. I got little bumps on my forehead, which used to be a problem for me but was kept at bay ever since I found a regimen that worked for me. My skin became drier and irritated. The problem got better when I stopped using the soap but I am still waiting for it to return to normal.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DecoDolly on 5/6/2012 3:54:00 PM more reviews by DecoDolly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for the liquid soap in the pump bottle. I've used pure tea tree for years with pretty good results, and have heard only good things about this soap, so I decided to give it a shot. Unfortunately, it's too drying for me. I think it's the castille that just doesn't jive with my skin. Even though I'm careful to avoid my eye area and sensitive neck/collarbone/chest area, when I use this, the skin on those areas gets rashy and scabby! It hurts. Just can't do it.
That being said, it works great for my friend, so maybe I just have ultra sensitive skin.
Now I use this as a makeup brush cleaner and it's fine for that, but way too harsh for my face.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 littlellamadrama on 4/28/2012 4:04:00 AM more reviews by littlellamadrama

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this cleanser for about a week now and I absolutely love it. I have pretty acne prone skin, but this along with my skinsonic (clarisonic dupe) has kept my face pretty much clear. Except maybe for a tiny pimple on my nose, but that's because my skin was aggravated by my glasses. This is a pretty good feat, especially since my sleeping hours are rather erratic, so I expected to totally break out. But I'm so glad I haven't and I owe all my thanks to this product.

It does, however, have its drawbacks. For one, the pump is very difficult to control. The first time I tried it, the product flew all over my sink. But you simply just have to get the hang of it. Another drawback is the smell. When I first tried it, I was so turned off by the smell. But I kept using it because of the reviews here in MUA. It doesn't really foam a lot. And it really stings around the eyes.

It's not the most comfortable to use, but I've been really looking for a cleanser to really help with my acne prone skin. I've gone through Neutrogena, Pond's, Clean and Clear, Garnier, but I believe this is it. I'll keep trying it for a month, before I proclaim it as my HG cleanser.

Update: I've been using it for 3 months now, and holy bejeezus--I no longer have to wear foundation so often. However, I have to keep to the regimen of using it with my skinsonic or else it's not as effective.

I'm making my boyfriend try it out because he has a bad case of acne--and I'm starting to see a lot of improvement but I think I have to get him something to help him exfoliate.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 XOXkay on 4/23/2012 4:24:00 PM more reviews by XOXkay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is also a review for the bar soap, it comes with 2 for about 2$. I love this stuff! Trader Joe's is like 40 minutes from my house, so when i went i bought 2 packs of these. It's been months and i'm still on my first bar. I know some people don't like the smell of this, but i actually love it. Anyways, i bought it in hopes of getting rid of acne and acne scarring. My acne has finally died down (thanks to reviews on here i realized a lot of harsh cleansers were making my skin worse), but now i'm left with this horrible scarring. It's been 3 months and my acne scars are almost all gone! It also keeps my acne at bay, and keeps new scars from forming. I will continue to use this, i love it so much!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Trader Joe's products

More Cleansers products