Trader Joe's Tea Tree Oil soap

4.1

58 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Sodium Palmate, Sodium Palm Kernelate, Water, Glycerin, Tea Tree Oil, Sodium Chloride, Pentasodium Penetate


on 1/4/2015 8:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Living in a hot and humid climate, I love this stuff! I'm not very prone to blemishes and typically have dry\normal skin. The pump is good and it makes my face squeaky clean. I only would use it to clean my face at night. The smell is a bit strong but I don't mind that. Be sure not to get any in your eyes! I just switched to TJ's Nourish cleanser so we'll see how they are different. But come spring\summer, I will definitely repurchase.



on 1/4/2015 12:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought and tried this soap sometime in the middle of the college years to help with acne on my back. I don't recall it making much of a difference there, but I do remember it being rather drying. I don't have dry skin on my body, but I definitely prefer a more moisturizing body soap. I ended up using this to wash my hands until it ran out.


on 10/6/2014 11:17:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this soap because the packaging stated it was good for acne. I have used it 3 times now and I've broken out worse than before I used it. I have little raised bumps underneath my skin all over my chin and cheek areas. I'm so disappointed, because I'm constantly looking for something to keep my breakouts at bay. I'm glad so many other people are having good results, but wondering why I didn't!


on 8/20/2014 11:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It did nothing for my oily -blemishy skin..it is drying which is ok if you have supe oily skin and a good moisterizer. The smell is not that grea either its very herbal ..didnt like it


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using TJ's Tea Tree Oil Soap everyday for nearly a week...and my acne is already clearing up! I purchased the 2 in a pack for $2...which isn't bad at all. The liquid tea tree oil costs $6.99 at TJ's and I didn't want to pay that much for a very small bottle. I tried Ayurvedic soap, Dove soap and Olive Oil soap in the past and my face would break out even more! I won't be using any of those other soaps anymore and will be stocking up on TJ's Tea Tree Oil Soap when I go back there next week (I live an hour away from the nearest Trader Joe's but well worth the trip).


on 7/9/2014 4:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this for about a week now and my skin is so happy. I use this after using an Aveeno Daily Cleansing Pad and this makes my skin feel refreshed and soft. I live in Texas and it's very hot, therefor my skin becomes very clogged and my pores look disgusting. I can tell that after using this, my pores are smaller looking and even my breakouts are reduced. The only problem (which for me is not an issue) is that this face wash is drying to the skin. So, if your skin is dry, do not use this. I have oily-combo skin, so this is perfect for balancing my skin. And the drying only comes from the tea tree oil, rather than an alcohol. And for $6 for a pretty large bottle full of natural products, it's a steal!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/22/2014 12:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Black

This seemed to work well for the first 1-2 weeks. I tend to get a new pimple every 1-3 days, and my skin is usually oily and acne prone, so this seemed like a suitable cleanser. I had went to Trader Joe's to try their Nourish all in one face wash which has a great review on Beautypedia, but they didn't seem to carry it at the Bellingham location, so I went home with this one instead. The smell was tolerable since I prefer things unscented, and the consistency was very liquidy, but lathered surprisingly well on wet skin. I noticed that my pores looked smaller, and my skin was better than it had looked in a long time. Even new pimples seemed to clear up quicker and never reached peak severity.

A few weeks after using this my skin began to break out and it's been itchy, reddish and irritated ever since. At first, I didn't really think it was the cleanser, so I tried to persist with using it, but on my sensitized skin (I had been using acne medication on my blemishes), it just made things crazy itchy and inflamed. Now, I'm too afraid to use it, which is sad, cuz I had been so excited to try products from Trader Joe's, and had made a trip to the states just to try them.

It's possible that the initial break out isn't related to the cleanser, but for sure this cleanser is NOT good on SENSITIZED, active-break out skin, or skin that's being treated with acne medication in multiple areas of the face (probably one or two pimples is okay, but not an active breakout all over the face).


on 1/10/2013 10:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I am very happy with this soap. 2 dollars for two 4 ounce bars. The fence is mild for tea tree oil and it lathers nicely. I have only used on my body and do not find it to be drying or irritating. I much prefer it to the oatmeal soap and would definitely buy it again.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have been including this in my acne clearing regimen for a few months now and it does a fine job at removing acne causing bacteria on my face, and I like that it is all natural. I used to just use tea tree oil extract as a spot treatment and really wanted a cleanser with that instead of salicylic acid used tea tree oil as a blemish fighting ingredient. This alone will obviously not get rid of acne on it's own but I use this first after removing makeup and also when I first wake up, following it with toner, eye cream, moisturizer where needed and either tea tree oil extract or benzoyl peroxide cream where I have a zit (the latter if it's a really clogged pore). Love this product, I like that it does what it is intended to do, it's fairly inexpensive, you get a good amount of product for less than $6 and it is not tested on animals (cruelty free counts for me) highly recommended for combination/oily skin like mine and I will most likely repurchase

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/30/2012 8:40:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This soap has cured my acne- I use it with my Clarisonic Mia after making lots of suds and wiping them across my face. It is much cheaper than other cleansers and I have not had a pimple in weeks!!!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top