MAC • Poison Pen • Eye Shadow

rated 4.6(25 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.92%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Kipper8588 on 8/12/2010 11:37:00 PM more reviews by Kipper8588

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is just really an every day run of the mill purple. Nothing special

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pisces31919 on 6/25/2010 12:10:00 PM more reviews by pisces31919

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this from Ebay since the Matte2 collection has been discontinued (the matte2 formula goes on sooo smoothly with so much color payoff). This is a lavender grey color that looks amazing. Can be used as a liner or shadow. I'd repurchase in a heartbeat!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elfelettem on 4/29/2010 4:14:00 AM more reviews by elfelettem

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

This is the first of the Matte2 formula I've tried. Was lovely to use in crease with some other purple shadows for a daytime smokey eye.

Found it easy to blend, nicely pigmented, beautiful colour. Only problem is that halfway through the day it tended to lose a little of the depth of colour. Worn with UDPP as a base. Still all in all a very nice shadow and good if you are looking for a darkish purple with no shimmer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bettyl0u on 9/25/2009 2:34:00 PM more reviews by bettyl0u

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Purples look great with brown eyes and Poison Pen is my perfect purple. It is a true purple color and really makes my brown eyes pop! Got lucky and swapped for this because it is dc'ed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nikki16519 on 8/30/2009 more reviews by Nikki16519

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I had been lemming this for sooo looong. One fine day, I found it at my new CCO. The angels did sing. Another matte2. I love matte2 shadows, they are just so wonderful. Creamy, pigmented, blendable. This color is a blue based purple with a bit of gray. It is dupable with Urban Decay's Cult. I did this look with Poison Pen in the crease:

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 8/11/2009 10:46:00 PM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my most used MAC purple shades. It strikes the perfect balance of being deep enough to be a great crease shade .. but not so deep it turns black or looks over-powering on the eye. What I love is the absence of any black undertones. It's a matte texture, so it applies with great pigmentation and blends like a dream. Huge rave for this one!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shelllly on 8/3/2009 9:47:00 AM more reviews by shelllly

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Definitely one of my fav MAC shades! The matte2's are that creamy, pigmented, blendable, longwearing formula -PoisonPen is no exception. I'm ppp/cool and this is a med-dark true purple. No red tones from this shade. It works on many skintones as well, so don't let the color/ pot put you off. Color stays true all day until you take it off.

I've worn this color w/many other shades -works great w/ PenNPink (matte2), Sweet Lust, Yogurt, LovelyLilly. For a more purple eye: Digit is gorgeous, Violet or VizAViolet pigm. Contrast e/s is nice for deepest shade. Works well w/ greys, cooler taupes, some greens, neutral browns, dk blue.



7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Chlark on 7/27/2009 2:31:00 PM more reviews by Chlark

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I also got this at the CCO and I mostly got it because of it's name, but it's also a great colour! It's very smooth and well pigmented that's easy to apply. It is a dark, matte purple that I think looks great with my brown eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vietcouture on 6/18/2009 2:36:00 AM more reviews by vietcouture

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ugh , i LOVE this eyeshadow to bits! I am absolutely in love with purple, this is a beautiful dark lavender colour. AMAZING for the crease. This is a matte squared eyeshadow, so that is why i love it even more. Super easy to blend, the texture is amazingly smooth and soft, ugh i just love it soooo much!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katy24 on 6/4/2009 10:18:00 AM more reviews by katy24

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My favorite Mac e/s thus far!The texture of this matte is perfect,very silky with tons of pigment-blends like a dream.It is a deep purple with a gray mixed in so it goes with nearly every neutral e/s.Overall 10 stars!This is d/c'd so I hope they bring it back in another collection so I can stock up! I got mine at the CCO for around $10.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products