Laura Mercier • Black Plum • Eye Shadow

rated 4.6(9 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hanouna on 8/12/2012 10:14:00 PM more reviews by Hanouna

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Beautiful, matte mid-tone purple. Pigmented, long lasting and very easy to blend. You can do a smokey eye or place a little in the crease for a neutral look. The only con is this is very expensive, but it lasts a long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kbabyd on 10/25/2011 10:38:00 AM more reviews by kbabyd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this when I read in a magazine that it makes a great liner. Then I kind of forgot about it (despite not being in the habit of buying expensive eyeshadow) b/c at the time, I hardly wore liner but knew I wanted to. Now that I'm actually using it, I get what they were saying! It looks just lovely brushed along my lower lashline - anything darker looks too obvious to me - and it lacks any red undertones which would only emphasize my already pinkish skin. On its own, the shadow can veer a little in the "bruised" territory of purples, but I found that layered over another shadow (I have specifically loved the way it looks over MAC's Vex shadow), it transforms into a beautiful, subtle, wearable, more-eggplant-than-royal, smokey, purple-ish. I do wear primer (UDPP) on my top lid but nothing on my bottom lid and it lasts beyond my normal 8-9 hour work day.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pungalina on 4/24/2011 3:58:00 PM more reviews by pungalina

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

WOW.... This has to be the worst eye shadow I have ever purchased.
Terrible fallout, blotchy color "with primer".Supposed to be matt has gold sparkles. I have drugstore eye shadow that is superior to this. This is going back.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* artemis16 on 1/20/2010 3:15:00 AM more reviews by artemis16

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a wonderful colour: when used wet as an eyeliner, it looks more of deep burgundy with no discernible red to discourage you from using it. When used dry as an eyeshadow it looks more like a translucent veil of very dark matte purple, very beautiful on my brown eyes. It would also do a very nice smokey eye.
I think it would look great on both green and blue eyes, because it's so dark and does not scream purple at all. A great shadow that I was lucky enough to be given as a gift with a purchase, otherwise I probably never would have picked it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* swolf123 on 10/12/2008 2:56:00 PM more reviews by swolf123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Another home run for brown eyed girls. I use this as a shadow liner, over pencil.
I already had its close cousin, Shu uemura's M860 (Matte dark burgundy). At first I thought I had dupe, but this shadow is a deep plum/purple color without red and the M860 is a true burgundy. Great for a non-traditional smokey eye.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jossyd on 9/9/2008 3:02:00 PM more reviews by jossyd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

Beautiful shade & great quality. The color is a rich, dark, purple plum; a true deep purple. (Unlike BB's e/s by the same name that is much more black than plum.) The pigmentation is great, application is smooth, easy to blend & nice texture. As another reviewer mentioned, it adds color but subtley which works perfectly for me since I tend to favor neutrals. This looks wonderful with my blue eyes; I've used it as a crease color with a light bronze/gold for something unexpected & it works great as a liner also. Also nice for a purple smoky eye. This is much more flattering to my skintone than BB's black plum e/s (for reference, NC20-25ish, very warm golden tones.)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChickenBear on 3/5/2008 2:27:00 AM more reviews by ChickenBear

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This stuff is incredible! If you have green eyes like me, Black Plum will make them absolutely POP! What makes this shadow so great is the fact that it is as subtle as it is effective- I really don't like the look of brightly colored shadows so this is a great alternative to the vibrant indigos and violets that are generally recommended for people who want to make their green eyes stand out. This shade is a very dark, warm purple- a gorgeous smokey eggplant. Since it is so richley pigmented and is matte, I'm sure this would also make a great liner w/ a bit of water. Long lasting too! 5 stars for Laura's Black Plum!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Daniela1977 on 1/21/2008 9:19:00 AM more reviews by Daniela1977

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Super
I love the color is kind of dark violet , is very long lasting and not too heavy. Make my brown eyes really amazing. I normally donít like mate colors but this one look gorgeous for smoke eyes.For green eyes this will be the best.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Iphigeneia on 11/6/2007 7:11:00 PM more reviews by Iphigeneia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I usually do not buy LM's matte shadows. I don't think they blend as well, and they seem to crease more than her shimmers. The colors also tend to bore me. But Black Plum and Deep Night are both worth purchasing. This is a heavily pigmented black-violet shadow, very soft, and blends beautifully as a liner. I also use Black Plum as a crease color, applied with the Ponytail brush. It gives depth when I am wearing some of her lighter purple shadows, like Lilac and Iris. One of LM's most innovative, unique colors.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Laura Mercier products

More Eye Shadow products