The Body Shop • Olive Body Butter • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.3(118 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fuzzysham on 12/13/2014 9:17:00 PM more reviews by fuzzysham

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I was hesitant to purchase this at first because I really really....do not like olives. My mom still asks me if I want olives on my pizza when I'm home but I'm never liked them. I've tried every olive out there and I just don't like them. ( But I deserve credit but I've tried them!) Anyways, so I ordered a small one just to try it out and figured I could send it back if I didn't like it.
I was quite surprised when I opened and smelled it that it does not smell like olives but fresh and reminded me of a certain shampoo I used to use when I was a little girl and still living in Germany. I'm a huge sucker for nostalgic scents- same with the mango body butter. So of course, I had to keep it.
As far as the actual body butter goes, it's a little greasy, but otherwise moisturizing as all the body butters are.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 muzukashii on 12/8/2014 3:34:00 PM more reviews by muzukashii

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have extremely dry skin in the winter areas especially affected are my shins, feet and hands. The stuff that I've been using before this proved to be not enough. Although I moisturized, my skin would feel itchy and flaky again in a few minutes time. This definitely doesn't happen with the Olive Body Butter. The butter feels nourishing, but not overwhelmingly oily. It does leave a subtle film behind, but in a way that I find comfortable, and in no way so greasy that I cannot touch anything afterwards. I also like the smell. It's pleasant, not overpowering, and not too sweet.

The sales assistant said the Olive Body Butter was for normal to dry skin, but comparing nothing but the INCIs, I found the Olive one to be the best deal. There's three different oils coming right up at the top olive, shea and cocoa. Though admittedly, cyclomethicones are up there, too, but since I don't use the butter for the face, it should be alright.

I can definitely recommend Olive if you have very dry skin. I find it to help a good deal, and not only for a few hours after which you feel like you need to moisturize again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ria82Oz on 11/26/2014 5:18:00 AM more reviews by Ria82Oz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favourite of all the body butters available. I love the smell its not too overpowering and the feel on my skin. I've been using this body butter for years and years. I try the others but I always come back to this one. Its not too oily and doesn't clog up my pores.

I have very sensitive skin and find I have no irritation with this body butter at all. Its great for all over the body and dries in a decent rate of time. I highly recommend this body butter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kjulia135 on 11/13/2014 10:52:00 PM more reviews by kjulia135

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It feels really gentle and scent is very nice. Not too oily but moisturizing. I love applying it on my legs after shower. I never knew olive could smell so nice!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meilin69 on 3/5/2014 3:45:00 AM more reviews by meilin69

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I LOOOOOOOOVE IT.
the BEST body butter for summer time.

i always store this in the fridge and use it right after showering. it's cooling and sinks right in without much rubbing, and when i sweat it doesn't melt like the other body butters.

the consistency is just perfect. its thick, but never leave any filmsy residue on your skin like what mango/shea/coconut/brazil nut does on hot days, and it's not too watery like satsuma/wild cherry.
it makes my skin glows and feel supple and soft, provides the right oily feeling, and not the greasy-oily feeling.

it says for normal to dry skin, but i have very dry skin and this works gorgeously on my skin during summer.

i know that brazil nut is paraben free but fuck it, because this olive is amazing, i can afford the chemical it makes my skin feel wonderful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeHNyboR on 1/28/2014 2:22:00 AM more reviews by TeHNyboR

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Oh my goodness do I love this stuff! I prefer this body butter to the ones Bath & Body Works sells because I find those too greasy. This stuff is just wonderful. It isn't greasy at all and sinks right in, leaving me feeling soft as a cloud! And the olive scent was a pleasant surprise. I hate olives, they taste like puke (how anyone can stomach them is beyond me) but this smells really light and fresh...like outside after the rain. An obvious repurchase...love this stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 demiller on 11/3/2013 9:51:00 AM more reviews by demiller

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Smells fantastic. I had the papaya one. But i prefer this. The papaya is too sweet. This is very moisturizing . Great for rough patches. Especially elbows and knees. I use it for my legs after exfoliation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Disintigratedwoman on 9/27/2013 1:35:00 AM more reviews by Disintigratedwoman

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this on sale a half-price the other day - $10 (Canadian) instead of $20. Really great buy! I love how the scent isn't over-powering, just subtle enough to smell if you lean in close to where you put some on. The texture is rich and creamy yet quickly absorbs into the skin. Like someone else mentioned, I doubt that this while turn 'hard' like the mango body butter, which I have already seen happen. The texture is divine and I really recommend getting this scent. All the body butters in The Body Shop line are great products though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* frckls on 9/17/2013 10:33:00 AM more reviews by frckls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I, my sisters and our mom have been an avid fan of TBS body butters for so many years (10-yrs, I think). We've tried almost every scent on the body butter line.
After all those years, I think I'm ready to crown Olive as my (as well as my babysister's) favorite.

I think it has the best consistency of all other butters. It's not too buttery that it can hardens like a block inside the tub (like Mango or Moringa) or too runny that you can mistake it as a lotion. It absorbs slightly easier and not as noticeable as others but keeps my skin moisturized all throughout the day. I get quite a lot of compliments on my skin.

The scent is quite detectable, but Olive has the softest scent of all, IMHO. And I kinda like it.

I've repurchased tubs and will keep doing so. No matter what body product I use or try, I always keep a tub of this anyway.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TurtleMoon on 8/15/2013 2:43:00 AM more reviews by TurtleMoon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Although I have dry skin all year round, I tend to find it's not as bad in the summer so I like to use a lighter body moisturiser during the hotter months. I discovered this on a rare visit to The Body Shop about 2 months ago and have been using it pretty much every day since then.

This is a really nice, light cream which applies easily and sinks in nicely without leaving any residue or making my skin feel greasy. I definitely think it moisturises well and my skin certainly feels and looks softer after application. Another bonus of this product is you don't need a lot to see results, so the 200ml pot lasts a long time. As mentioned above, I've been using this pretty much every day for the last two months and I've just hit the bottom of the tub, so for 13.00GBP I think this is pretty good value for money.

The only thing I'm not so keen on about this (and the reason for my 4/5 rating) is the scent. It's not overly perfumed or heavily scented, but as someone who doesn't like scented body lotions/butters anyway I was hoping this wouldn't smell quite as strongly as it does. It's quite a fresh scent but it does linger on your skin once you've applied it, so you might find it interferes with the scent of any perfume or fragrance you apply afterwards. All in all though I am really pleased with the results of this and despite the scent would definitely buy it again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Lotions/ Creams products