Smashbox Photo Finish Light

3.4

430 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Polysilicone-11, Butylene Glycol, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Carbomer, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Triethanolamine, Decyl Glucoside, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Hexylene Glycol, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Oligopeptide-10


on 6/28/2015 9:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was excited to try this product because it was the first primer that I've ever purchased. I decided to buy the smaller just in case since it's a bit pricey, and I don't typically indulge in makeup.

I tested it for about a week. I started to notice that I was breaking out in my cheek areas and some on my forehead, but I thought it was because of stress. It was the beginning of my first semester at my university, and I was super busy with personal problems and school work. It took me the entire week to figure out that it was the primer that was causing my breakouts. I applied the primer to the oiliest parts of my face which were my forehead and cheeks and nowhere else.

As soon as I stopped using the product, my acne cleared right up. I also noticed that in terms of oil control, it didn't do much for me. I have really oily skin, and I live in a really hot place. At that time, I was outside a lot because I had to walk everywhere on my college campus, so it was kinda the ultimate test of performance and it failed.

The one thing I liked was the packaging because it gives you a lot of control when squeezing out the product.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I didn't love this primer as much as some of the others that I've tried.
I've always wanted to try one of the Smashbox primers- there are so many of them, so I wondered if any of them were any good. I took the mini version of the Light primer, which happened to be on sale for $10. So, why not?
From first impression, I thought I liked this primer. The texture is very spreadable and sets to a velvety finish, which feels so interesting. However, I'm sure it's because of the texture that this primer hardly does anything.
I didn't really see a difference in the way my foundation looked. I don't mind that, since I wasn't really looking for much of an improvement in the texture of my skin. I was looking for staying power; unfortunately, it hardly did anything to make my foundations last longer. It was just as easy to rub off my face makeup with the primer on as without it. It lasted well for the first few hours or so; after that, my oily face kicks in, and the primer basically gave out completely after that.
This is a very expensive primer to drop money on. I don't think I can see myself paying $44 for a full size tube of this stuff; unfortunately, this primer just wasn't the one for me. Maybe the others in this line are better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/15/2015 11:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

One of my first primers. Feels more like a lotion. Purchased because of the lower amount of silicone in it and the fair price for the travel size, which will last me a good while as I don't use everyday. If it keeps working for me, I will repurchase(:


on 4/19/2015 8:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Would definitely recommend this for acne prone skin. Doesn't brake me out has more of a lotion like texture and feels hydrating without making me oily at the same time.


on 4/16/2015 12:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was hesitant to try this since one of their other primers was too oily and greasy for me (the moisturizing one i think) but this one is AMAZING. My makeup lasts ALL day and looks flawless and yes it actually does photograph a lot better. My foundation just glides over this stuff. I will never go without this primer again. Lifelong customer right here. Smashbox is amazing.


on 4/12/2015 4:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have used this on and off for years now while switching up my foundations. What's most important is your primer and foundation have the same base, because if not- I heard it won't work as well! This works beautifully with the Clinique Stay Matte.

I have super oily skin which is also dry due to acne medication. I'm also very sensitive and prone to acne breakouts, I'm talking occasional cysts here and there, not just small little pimples... the ones that hurt! So I'm very cautious about what I put on my face.

Why I love this: It doesn't break me out + it keeps me matte! That's all I ever wanted in a primer! When I don't use this, my make-up slides right off... It doesn't keep me 100% matte of course because that'd be a miracle but it definitely holds my make-up in place and I only just have to blot once or twice a day.

The only thing I don't like is the price as it is pretty expensive... but a little goes a very long way! Try this if you have acne-prone, sensitive, oily skin because it has worked wonders for me personally :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/6/2015 6:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pros:
- packaging is handy
- didn't break me out
- feels hydrating on my skin (bc 60% water, apparently)
- feels smooth and semi-matte after blending

Cons:
- will probably get oily after 4-5 hours

Overall great product, but will probably choose silicone-based primers over this


on 2/20/2015 3:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Silver, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite primer I have ever tried. Heres why.
First off, I have very sensitive skin and am prone to breakouts. I had never been a huge primer person until I recieved a sample of Too Faced Primed and Poreless. I absolutely loved how it make my face feel, and it made the makeup apply so much easier and stay on much longer.
However after about 4 days of using it I realized I was breaking out like crazy. I had made no other changes in my beauty routine or my diet, so it was obvious that this was the cause.
I looked it up and realized it had silicone in it, which can clog your pores and make you break out.
I went to Ulta and explained that I wanted a great primer with little or no silicone, and this is what the worker advised me to try.
It does have a lighter feel, almost like a moisterizer, but it works perfectly and does keep my makeup in place. Plus it has never caused me to breakout, which is the best thing I could ask for.
It is a little pricey but will last you a long time. You only need a pea size drop a day. I would highly recommend this for people with sensitive or oily skin.


on 2/19/2015 5:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love this primer. Makeup goes on so smoothly, stays on all day and skin feels so soft. Will repurchase! Pity it's expensive..


on 2/18/2015 4:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

hands down the best primer i ever used , the skin feel so soft and in the same time i cannot feel like i did put it on my skin as it happened with other primers i used before , it feels light same like the name says , and it does help a lot when i do my foundation and of course my face looks flawless and it last all day


Back to Top