Parfumerie Generale • Cadjmere • Fragrances

rated 3.8(19 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Halloqueen on 11/19/2012 1:39:00 AM more reviews by Halloqueen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is a very nice scent....I disagree with some of the other reviewers...this doesn't come close to reminding me of other scents, in fact, I thought it was fairly unique..,just my opinion. To me, it opens with a rather sharp, almost herbal note...I never really get pine or vanilla...but the blend is such that no one note stands out. I consider this a definite winter scent, as once it settles with my skin chemistry, I get a warm slighty woodsy, greenish scent with what almost smells like amber. The vanilla adds to the warm feeling, but never comes across as gourmand. Sillage is ok for an EDT..the real beauty comes when it's had time to bloom on your skin, I put some on before bed, and in the morning, it was gorgeous. I think this is too fresh/comforting for a man..I don't see it as masculine at all. Although it's not the typical scent I go for, it's pleasant and I'm glad I ordered a sample, but it won't be on my bottle list. It's just not "me".

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lalki1 on 10/8/2011 7:12:00 AM more reviews by lalki1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Dabed on wrist, sniffed and wrote down everything that came to mind : soft, creamy, nutty, woody, smoke and vanilla. i love it.
Reminds me of SL Chergui.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chrystelica on 11/3/2010 1:32:00 PM more reviews by chrystelica

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is not Addict, to my nose- but Shalimar. It has that soft, plush quality, I smell the bergamot at the top and vanillic base. I'm trying to sense a difference between this and Shalimar, to my failure. It's such a knockoff perfume that it doesn't even deserve it's own review, still, it is a classic, and it is very nice.

If I had to characterize it exactly as I smell it, I'd say this is Shalimar in her youth. Powdery at the base, but not vintagey- smelling. The same perfume, but a slightly more modern take on it.

The woods in the drydown are so soft, very rounded out by vanilla, slightly too sweet for my taste. To my nose, it's grenadilla wood rounded out by tonka. Very dark brown wood, polished to a resonant, deep finish. This being said, I'm sure it would be great to some, just not for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fpih on 5/21/2010 5:30:00 AM more reviews by fpih

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I agree with the reviewer that said this is similar to Addict. I get the same feeling from it. Cadjmere is the older, sophisticated sister of Addict. Much softer and with a prominent pine note in the dry down that cuts through the vanilla's sweetness, this is classy where Addict is loud. I love both perfumes but they're so similar to me that I wonder if I need to spend the extra bucks for Cadjmere when I can have Addict with its much bigger sillage and longevity for less. But then Cadjmere is better made and rounded and less cloying. Decisions, decisions....

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* proximitythe53rd on 3/26/2010 12:11:00 PM more reviews by proximitythe53rd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've fallen in love, and my wallet cringes ... but Cadjméré is simply gorgeous. It's creamy, but also a little sharp and tinged with lovely notes of sap and juniper. Straight from the beautiful opening notes to the end of its lovely drydown, this fragrance is a winner!
More than anything else, Cadjmere reminds me of of the vanillic, sappy sweetness of the pine trees my brother and I used to call "vanilla trees" when we were kids. Growing up in Colorado, we would run from tree to tree, trying to find the one that smelled the best. I've never captured that scent memory in a fragrance yet, but Cadjmere comes quite close.
Though I like coconut, I tend to avoid it as a fragrance note. I just don't like it as a perfume note ... if you have similar feelings toward coconut, don't let it scare you away from Cadjmere. Though I can kind of smell the note if I think about it specifically, it's not at the forefront of my experience of this gorgeous fragrance, and I don't mind it at all, not one bit.
This is definitely a great 'comfort scent', it is soothing, cozy, sweet, and warm. But this isn't a winter-only fragrance like some in that category. I think this is light enough and the sharpness of the sap makes it something you could wear year-round. The fading of the spice notes into the sappy notes produces something that I experience as similar to a light incense.
I think because of the sweetness, I would consider Cadjmere to fall mainly in the feminine camp, but not so far that it couldn't be worn and worn well by a man.
I'm really enchanted with this fragrance, and dying for the full bottle!



Update - despite really enjoying Cadjmere, my husband has pointed out that it's fairly similar to my Bois Blond, and I'm trying to grow my perfume collection with restraint. I do like Bois Blond more than Cadjmere, so I'm going to exhibit restraint. Though maybe a mini bottle?

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* drvogue on 7/14/2009 6:03:00 PM more reviews by drvogue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

If you generally find coconut fragrances "cheap" smelling, you should give Cadjmere a try. It's a gorgeous woody coconut that smells (and is) expensive. I agree with other posters who described it as a cozy and elegant scent. Again, not a shocker like some of their other ones (Coze was weird) but very comfortable to wear and has a lot of staying power.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sharviss on 5/11/2009 2:28:00 PM more reviews by sharviss

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I like this! Woodsy and creamy with a hint of resin. I'm enjoying my sample so much that I've ordered a full bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 9154mf on 5/11/2009 12:53:00 AM more reviews by 9154mf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Am I the only person who thinks this smells almost exactly like Dior Addict! As soon I put this on, Im like, OH MY GOD this is exactly like something else I have so I went into my bathroom and smelt the spray-nibs of all my 50-odd perfumes until I came across Addict. Yes... almost exactly the same scent at the start, although they don't have the same notes but this is more than just a resemblance. i would say cadjmere has a little something else in it (perhaps the coconut milk) which just rounds it out a touch more, and it seems to be just a smidgen softer, but otherwise the same. I do like it, but if you have Addict I don't really think you need this too. I will update if the drydown brings some other changes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* condesadepitimini on 12/17/2008 9:34:00 AM more reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Cadjméré … strange name but ahhh what a little marvel this perfume is!!!
I cannot believe how low are the ratings here, as we are in front of a little Maspterpiece.
Cedar , and ….cedar (not listed in the notes, but it is distinctly a cedar wood based frag) but it is also creamy, like something you are cooking at home , like candied fruits or a candied orange peel dipped in a Chantilly cream, with that hint of Vanilla...
You immediately feel at home w/ your mummy cooking sweet stuff for Xmas. Full, warm and cozy.
Then enter the Woods. I feel very strong the balsamic notes of cypress and juniper (very strong on the juniper berry note!!) and other pine trees notes.
I like its freshness, although it is voluptuous in a very understated way.
This is one of those fragrances that makes you feel like home. It is warm, round, oriental, aromatic.
Do not detect many flower notes here in… it is rather a masculine fragrance but can be well be worn by a lady, it is sensual enough, it has anyhow an ambrette base that makes it soft & easy to wear. I recommend you try this one, because it is really a unique fragrance. I love and to me it is def. FB worth!!
__________________

Notes (as per Osmoz)
top notes Mandarin Orange, Myrtle Branch, Sap
heart note Rosewood, Cypress
base note Sandalwood, Ambrette, Vanilla

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 PrincessKim on 6/18/2008 3:42:00 AM more reviews by PrincessKim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Although the notes include sandalwood, the opening of this, on me, was a perfect, crisp cedar. I loved Cadjmere when I first applied it. Unfortunately, the middle of the fragrance was more earthy and spicy, with a slight undertone of B.O.. It was either what I imagine India smells like, or else a hippie whose head-shop scent was beginning to give way to the body's natural chemistry. Although when I asked around, no one else confirmed the B.O. note, just the fact that I, as the wearer, smelled it, was bad enough. The base of the fragrance was its redemption. It's a lovely sandalwood vanilla, but I wouldn't want to have to wait through the middle of the fragrance to get to the end notes. I sampled this, but would neither purchase another sample nor the full bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Parfumerie Generale products

More Fragrances products