Murad • Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel • Treatments (Face)

rated 2.7(44 reviews)

Average Rating.2.7
Would buy this product again.36%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 hr6aw on 1/16/2014 12:07:00 PM more reviews by hr6aw

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I thought I had basically cleared my skin after being on Proactiv for about six months. I decided to use this to clear up some left over hyperpigmentation spots because I find benzoyl peroxide is extremely effective but always leaves behind a mark. I applied it to trouble areas only although it was most of my face except my forehead. It felt kind of sticky going on. I had no bumps at the time but after a day or two, I developed a few regular pimples. Then in another couple days (I used it every night), I broke out completely and had THE WORST face I have ever seen. I maybe had 30 pimples everywhere except my forehead. All of them were large, red, sore, and cystic. My face felt heavy, painful, burning, and itchy. I hated the way I looked and felt. Only using some extra Proactiv and drinking 12 glasses of water a day cleared my skin up (thankfully that took less than a week). I returned this as soon as possible and was told that my skin could be purging. I don't care because I would NEVER want to go through that again even if it meant my skin would be spot free afterwards.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigirlyly on 10/4/2013 6:59:00 PM more reviews by tigirlyly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to love this gel. I used up a whole bottle of the lightening gel before reviewing the product. It did not really do much in lightening any post acne marks for me. It does prevent breakouts, but at least for me, it did nothing for blackheads. I was finding blackheads on my cheeks, which "never" happens. I guess it's just not the product for me.

I love the bottle with the twist pump. I liked the glass bottle. Mild odor but it did not bother me at all. Did not irritate my sensitive skin.

My advise, try to swap for it before splurging the $$$. I wish I didn't purchase it full price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 coconaut on 9/24/2013 12:08:00 PM more reviews by coconaut

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

2.7??? How is that possible???

This is the only product that has ever worked for me for removing acne scars.

I used it years ago after my adolescent years left my face wrecked... after several months, I remember saying "Holy ****. This stuff actually worked. They're almost gone." This about acne scars that had remained present with me for YEARS.

I'd bought it for $50 then. Maybe the formula's changed?

In any case, way too expensive. I'm going to buy some other product with hydroquinone from Amazon for less, and I'm certain the results will still be the same for half the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 beautyblondey on 7/10/2013 6:02:00 PM more reviews by beautyblondey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I havent quite finished the bottle, so that has upped my overall rating as I try to be positive. I feel like I really have not noticed much change at all and have been using this product every night for the last three months. Maybe I just got a bad bottle? Also this is quite expensive product so If you are like me and have dark red acne scars not just lighly scarred skin, I do not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cbk821 on 5/30/2013 12:29:00 PM more reviews by cbk821

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It works. Period. I've been using it on my combination oily/acne prone skin for over a year now, and it makes dark acne spots fade. I pigment really easily, and I tend to get a few really, big, obnoxiously large pimples that leave terrible scars on my face. It used to be that these scars either took months to fade away, or never did at all. Using this product on BOTH old acne spots/scars AND newly forming pimples, helps quicken this process and the dark spots are faded away within a few weeks. I love this product. I use it just about every night before bed, all over my face, with a few extra dabs for fresh spots and rising pimples. So it basically heals/corrects, and prevents formation of bad spots by working on the spot while it is still forming. Good stuff

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 becktasm on 4/20/2013 12:45:00 PM more reviews by becktasm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not acne prone, but I do scar easily, and the zits I do get leave my face scarred. I have tried everything- whitening products, vit c, chemical and manual exfoliators, you name it. While some stuff sort of worked, nothing seemed to eliminate those particularly tough spots. I have been using this gel for about a month and can honestly say I can see results. I apply it twice a day as a spot treatment after my serum but before my moisturizer. One particularly stubborn mark on my cheek has faded noticeably, and I'm finally reaching for my sheerer foundations again. The product is pricey, but not ridiculously so, and you get a good amount. if you just use it as a spot treatment it will last for ages.Packaging is hygienic and pleasingly simple. My only complaint is the smell. This stuff STINKS. I use it as a spot treatment partially to avoid wasting product and partially because I applied it all over my face once and almost threw up from the smell. However, I am more than willing to put up with the stink for a product that actually works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fassbendergal on 3/28/2013 11:36:00 AM more reviews by fassbendergal

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It's working! After 3 days of using this my skin has improved sooo much I can't believe it. Got a sample from Sephora last week, but I was skeptical to try it because my skin is super duper extremely sensitive. So glad I finally tried it because my scars are already almost gone :). I highly reccomend getting a sample before you buy this though, it's like 60 bucks!!! Also Sephora usually gives pretty generous samples, the gal that was helping me gave me about 1/5 of the bottle! One thing I'd like to throw out is DO NOT use this with any other acne treatments if you have sensitive skin! I forgot to mention that for the first few days of using this product I was using it along with Murad's acne complex kit and my skin looked absolutely horrendous..... finally I realized that I was putting too much on my face and it was reacting to all the different treatments. I took a break of everything to just let my skin cool down, (sidenote - Murad's acne complex did nothing for me, don't buy it it just irritates your skin!) After that I bought a really gentle cleanser, started using the post acne gel, and that's all I use currently. I also don't spot treat the gel, I just use it all over the areas where I have scars, so forehead, jawline, cheeks. Overall this stuff has worked so well for me and I've come to the conclusion that Murad's "better everyday" slogan is legit!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bapsy on 8/27/2012 2:05:00 PM more reviews by bapsy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this product, based on the price and the brand's prestige I was actually expecting a miracle but I was very disappointed. During the first two weeks I saw my dark scars fading a little bit, I just thought I needed to be patient but by the third week I started to break out. I actually thought I was finally getting rid of my acne, my skin had started to behave after switching to a different pill, but then a lot of new break outs started to come out just in the area where I was applying this product along my jaw line. I gave it 3 stars because it seems like it could help fading scars but it made me break out. A lot of things might have caused the break outs but I am sure it was this product since I got break outs in an area where I had never had acne problems, I was applying the product to get rid of a dark scar from the past.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 okeefe14 on 4/15/2012 10:34:00 AM more reviews by okeefe14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This product seems to work well for some, but not for most.

I used this product for almost 3 weeks, and it only broke me out without fading scars. If you're acne-prone, this product will likely clog your pores.

The packaging could be better since my product oxidized fairly quickly, it would be better off in a darker container since sunlight will make it go bad.

If you're looking for an effective lightener, Black and White's Bleaching Cream works fantastic, and you can get it for much less $$$

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 b12itt on 11/15/2011 9:41:00 PM more reviews by b12itt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

OVERALL RATING-ZERO.
I've been a member for almost two yrs now and it's only now that I am doing a review. I want to help others who have helped me out. MakeUpAlley girls you have saved me plenty of money.
With that said, this product was such a waste of money. This was definitely a beauty purchase regret for me. It was like over 60 dollars and did nothing for my scars. Do not waste your money people. Do some research before you go spending over 50 dollars on a small amount of beauty product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Treatments (Face) products