Murad Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel

2.7

47 reviews

36% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Alcohol Denat., Glycolic Acid, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Methyl Gluceth-10, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Lecithin, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Tocopherol, Palmitoyl Hydroxypropyltrimonium Amylopectin/Glycerin Crosspolymer, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Rice Amino Acids, Chitosan Ascorbate, Lysine Lauroyl Methionate, Zinc Asparate, Allantoin, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Polyquaternium-10, Hydroxyethylcellulose, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Tetrasodium EDTA, Sodium Metabisulfate, Sodium Sulfite, Sodium Hydroxide.


on 7/6/2015 3:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Linked my In depth review comparing this product with drugstore version!
Loved this product, but the drugstore version is a 1/6th of the price and just as good!
http://www.amankkhaira.com/2015/04/nadinola-fade-cream-vs-murad-spot.html



on 7/4/2015 4:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

After searching far and wide for something to lighten the old acne scars I have, I have finally found something that has showed promise. I have used almost the whole bottle and I have to say, this has lightened my scars tremendously! I never thought it would be possible until I got this product. I ran into a Murad representative at Sephora who talked me into this and I am really glad I got it. It is a bit sticky when applied but that doesn't really matter to me as long as it works. The price is my biggest problem, for the size of bottle and amount of product, it seems over priced to me but since it works I'll ignore that.
I sometimes use this every night and I haven't had any problems with redness, irritation or dryness. Usually with products like this I get super dry but I haven't experienced that once with this product. I have noticed that this doesn't really work on any active pimples. It works the best after the spot has completely healed and you want to get rid of the mark.
I've actually already bought a second bottle of this and while one bottle wasn't enough to get rid of all my scars, I have seen a big difference. My skin tone in general looks a lot more even as well. Also, I have old scars from acne type spots I got on my arms and after I used this for about a week, there was a drastic change. The scars were ten times lighter and my mom even commented on how much better my arms looked as well.
So while it is pricey, I think it does work and is worth a shot especially if you have had trouble with post acne scars like I have. I especially like the fact that within a couple uses I was able to see a difference even if it wasn't drastic.


on 6/5/2015 3:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This acne hyperpigmentation lightening gel is horrible and over stimulates the skin causing irritation plus over dryness. It contains alcohol as the second ingredient which dries out skin skin and glycolic acid for exfoliating. This serum is strong it has too many harsh ingredient all at one time. Glycolic acid exfoliates the skin to allow the product to penetrate easier but can cause the skin to sting and become flaky along with the added alcohol makes it worse. Willow bark which is a natural form of salicylic acid(Aspirin) is also slightly exfoliates unclogging the pores and helps with mild acne but can be drying. Those who are prone to redness broken capillaries or allergic to aspirin should avoid willow bark because when it is applied to the skin it turn in to a form of salicylic acid which is the active ingredient in aspirin that cause the blood and skin to become thin. Then the tree oil helps soothe acne but can also make the spot more red. The main lightening ingredient is hydroquinone. Over exfoliating and the added lightening and acne treatment can cause the skin to become more sensitive to the sun which in turn increases the risk of more dark spot, patches and more hyperpigmentation. Hydroquinone is highly reactive and turns toxic when exposed to the sun. Long turn use of this can turn the skin thick leathery and bumpy. Some problems of using this serum includes redness, irritation, and contact dermatitis or even the skin to become red/raw. Also can cause large dark patches that look similar to melasma. Exfoliating, acne treatment and lightening treatments should be used separately so to avoid reverse side effects and irritation.


on 1/16/2014 12:07:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I thought I had basically cleared my skin after being on Proactiv for about six months. I decided to use this to clear up some left over hyperpigmentation spots because I find benzoyl peroxide is extremely effective but always leaves behind a mark. I applied it to trouble areas only although it was most of my face except my forehead. It felt kind of sticky going on. I had no bumps at the time but after a day or two, I developed a few regular pimples. Then in another couple days (I used it every night), I broke out completely and had THE WORST face I have ever seen. I maybe had 30 pimples everywhere except my forehead. All of them were large, red, sore, and cystic. My face felt heavy, painful, burning, and itchy. I hated the way I looked and felt. Only using some extra Proactiv and drinking 12 glasses of water a day cleared my skin up (thankfully that took less than a week). I returned this as soon as possible and was told that my skin could be purging. I don't care because I would NEVER want to go through that again even if it meant my skin would be spot free afterwards.


on 10/4/2013 6:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I wanted to love this gel. I used up a whole bottle of the lightening gel before reviewing the product. It did not really do much in lightening any post acne marks for me. It does prevent breakouts, but at least for me, it did nothing for blackheads. I was finding blackheads on my cheeks, which "never" happens. I guess it's just not the product for me.

I love the bottle with the twist pump. I liked the glass bottle. Mild odor but it did not bother me at all. Did not irritate my sensitive skin.

My advise, try to swap for it before splurging the $$$. I wish I didn't purchase it full price.


on 9/24/2013 12:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

2.7??? How is that possible???

This is the only product that has ever worked for me for removing acne scars.

I used it years ago after my adolescent years left my face wrecked... after several months, I remember saying "Holy ****. This stuff actually worked. They're almost gone." This about acne scars that had remained present with me for YEARS.

I'd bought it for $50 then. Maybe the formula's changed?

In any case, way too expensive. I'm going to buy some other product with hydroquinone from Amazon for less, and I'm certain the results will still be the same for half the price.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I havent quite finished the bottle, so that has upped my overall rating as I try to be positive. I feel like I really have not noticed much change at all and have been using this product every night for the last three months. Maybe I just got a bad bottle? Also this is quite expensive product so If you are like me and have dark red acne scars not just lighly scarred skin, I do not recommend it.


on 5/30/2013 12:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It works. Period. I've been using it on my combination oily/acne prone skin for over a year now, and it makes dark acne spots fade. I pigment really easily, and I tend to get a few really, big, obnoxiously large pimples that leave terrible scars on my face. It used to be that these scars either took months to fade away, or never did at all. Using this product on BOTH old acne spots/scars AND newly forming pimples, helps quicken this process and the dark spots are faded away within a few weeks. I love this product. I use it just about every night before bed, all over my face, with a few extra dabs for fresh spots and rising pimples. So it basically heals/corrects, and prevents formation of bad spots by working on the spot while it is still forming. Good stuff


on 4/20/2013 12:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm not acne prone, but I do scar easily, and the zits I do get leave my face scarred. I have tried everything- whitening products, vit c, chemical and manual exfoliators, you name it. While some stuff sort of worked, nothing seemed to eliminate those particularly tough spots. I have been using this gel for about a month and can honestly say I can see results. I apply it twice a day as a spot treatment after my serum but before my moisturizer. One particularly stubborn mark on my cheek has faded noticeably, and I'm finally reaching for my sheerer foundations again. The product is pricey, but not ridiculously so, and you get a good amount. if you just use it as a spot treatment it will last for ages.Packaging is hygienic and pleasingly simple. My only complaint is the smell. This stuff STINKS. I use it as a spot treatment partially to avoid wasting product and partially because I applied it all over my face once and almost threw up from the smell. However, I am more than willing to put up with the stink for a product that actually works.


on 3/28/2013 11:36:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It's working! After 3 days of using this my skin has improved sooo much I can't believe it. Got a sample from Sephora last week, but I was skeptical to try it because my skin is super duper extremely sensitive. So glad I finally tried it because my scars are already almost gone :). I highly reccomend getting a sample before you buy this though, it's like 60 bucks!!! Also Sephora usually gives pretty generous samples, the gal that was helping me gave me about 1/5 of the bottle! One thing I'd like to throw out is DO NOT use this with any other acne treatments if you have sensitive skin! I forgot to mention that for the first few days of using this product I was using it along with Murad's acne complex kit and my skin looked absolutely horrendous..... finally I realized that I was putting too much on my face and it was reacting to all the different treatments. I took a break of everything to just let my skin cool down, (sidenote - Murad's acne complex did nothing for me, don't buy it it just irritates your skin!) After that I bought a really gentle cleanser, started using the post acne gel, and that's all I use currently. I also don't spot treat the gel, I just use it all over the areas where I have scars, so forehead, jawline, cheeks. Overall this stuff has worked so well for me and I've come to the conclusion that Murad's "better everyday" slogan is legit!


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
Sudocrem
144 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
399 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
4% Hydroquinone
15 Reviews
Back to Top