Estee Lauder • Eye Defining Pencil - Softsmudge Black 01 • Eyeliner

rated 3.6(25 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 elena6 on 4/30/2013 10:51:00 AM more reviews by elena6

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is my all-time favourite eye pencil! I find hard eye pencils much better that soft ones. Use it for perfect eye make up. It does not smudge unless you want it to for smokey eyes ;)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeagleLab on 2/26/2012 11:35:00 AM more reviews by BeagleLab

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I used to wear this years and years ago. I just recently went back to it recently because I needed something to line the waterline. This does seem to work well, but it does smudge. I will continue my search. I would only purchase again if I had to, for loss of finding anything else.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ilovelagerfeld on 2/14/2011 11:46:00 PM more reviews by ilovelagerfeld

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH i love this eyelinerrrrr!

if you have oily lids or want to do something sharp and precise then go find another eyeline cause this is not it...

but if you love a rich, deep, BLACK liner that is EASY to apply and doesn't take a trillion passes to accomplish a slightly grayish nothing line (hello CG gross useless eyeliner) then BUY THIS!!!!

been wearing it on and off for about 10 years ish?

I got my latest one in a set and feel blessed :) if it had been a brown one I would have just swapped it because brown EL is not my bag, baby. but LUCKILYYYYYY :) :) :) it was black!!! yayyyy for a gift set that doesn't have pearly mauve lipstick and olive eyeshadow!!!

man am I happy to be back in the company of such a perfect eyeliner..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tightkitty on 1/1/2011 6:12:00 PM more reviews by tightkitty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

My estee lauder lady gave me this for free. I thought cool! Well at first it looked great on for nights. it was very very black and made my eyes pop. Well I noticed at the end of the night I had dark circles. I tried it a few different mascara thing maybe it was the mascara n the same thing happened. So I did everything the same and went back to colorstay and the problem stopped so I found out this was the culprit so I no longer use this. I cant comment on the price of this but i'm sure its to much. The staying power is worse then allot of even drugstore eyeliners so I think EL needs to improve this. No wonder this was in the free bin. This would be good if you like the smudged really messy look

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nancyyj on 10/19/2010 12:04:00 PM more reviews by nancyyj

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This has been my HG eyeliner for over a decade. Recently though my local estee lauder stopped stocking this one and replaced it with the "double wear" so I'm using that right now. I've tried various cheaper brands of eyeliners over the years, and for me nothing has compared to softsmudge. This pencil glides on so easily and i always use the smudgy end to soften the line. I even dip the smudgy end in brown eye shadow to pencil in my eyebrows so they look natural and not too harsh. It's rediculously expensive but worth it. Did they discontinue this? The replacement "double wear" is good, but not as good.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 deelovesmac on 6/15/2010 12:26:00 AM more reviews by deelovesmac

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a nice product and I don't mean to bash on it or anything. I got this as a gift and it does the job just fine. It makes a pretty precise line and smudges and blends well. The only thing is that it just isn't very black. When you smudge it, it becomes more of a dark grey. I wouldn't buy this again probably just because there isn't an Estee Lauder around me but I think it's something that can't hurt to get.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alising3248 on 1/21/2010 6:05:00 PM more reviews by alising3248

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product is just okay. I have a problem with eyeliners smudging and fading. While I expected this one to smudge in a sexy smokey way, it faded way too much and made a big mess under my eyes, in a rather non-sexy way.
While it lasted, though, the color was very black; and it was easy to apply.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Gothoria on 9/25/2009 8:22:00 AM more reviews by Gothoria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

my friend got me this product on my birthday, and I was pretty excited 2 try it coz I have super oily lids & all eyeliners tend to smudge and smear on me.
this eyeliner is kinda dry and not soft 2 apply, like i have to go over and over 2 draw my tear line, which hurts and annoys me.
I think that MAC Graphblackk pencil & Revlon colorstay r much better than this 1.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flairgirl8 on 9/10/2009 6:26:00 PM more reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is the only liner pencil that I have had good luck with. It easily lines upper and lower lashes. It is easy for me to get a very thin line with this pencil. It is prone to smudging. Does not irritate my eyes. Update: I have switched to the super creamy, super easy gliding Urban Decay eyeliners.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XxAwesomeActressxX on 8/27/2009 2:17:00 AM more reviews by XxAwesomeActressxX

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

For me this shows up as a good black and if i smudge it it could pass as grey if i wanted it too.
One of the best eyeliner's I've tried. Doesn't irritate me and goes on smoothly without wearing away.
Id recommend it again and again.
Its pretty much half way used and ive only had it since this year (no i'm not a racoon eye freak and i don't wear make up every day, my school i very particular about that)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Eyeliner products