Sally Hansen • French Manicure Pen-Pure White-Traditional Tip • Nails

rated 2.9(30 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Jules0X on 6/24/2014 10:53:00 PM more reviews by Jules0X

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Clumps during application. Chips like crazy once it's dry. I would have been better off with regular white polish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Rawlins1 on 11/24/2013 4:01:00 PM more reviews by Rawlins1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Hate this. Could of been executed much better. So far I haven't found a nail polish pen that I like. I want to like it, heck I even bought 2 in case the first was a dud! Turns out, it's just a sucky product! :-(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 babystrange on 8/16/2013 2:23:00 PM more reviews by babystrange

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I recently stopped biting my nails after 28 years (YAY ME) and wanted them to be pretty. The last mani I got at a salon chipped after 1 day so I was like "Aw heck naw, time to get the supplies and do this myself!" I picked up this pen because I just don't think I am up to painting with an actual big girl white nail POLISH yet (OPI Desire, you are out of my league at this point in the game), and I got pretty good results on my first try (see the pic I uploaded). I mean, if I can do it, anyone can. Everyone at work today has thought I got them done at a salon. From far away they look awesome and I have been staring at my hands all day. It's probably not as good as you will be if you are a nail painting pro, but for a first timer, I'd totally give this a shot for a french mani.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 wendywang21 on 8/15/2013 1:22:00 AM more reviews by wendywang21

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This pen was terrible - it came with a Sally Hansen French Manicure kit that I bought. First of all, the polishes in the kit weren't good, and then this pen was really the worst of the worst.

The pen tip is actually hard and made out of a material that's like a mix of cardboard and straw, or tree bark. I don't even know how to describe it; it was super weird and didn't seem like anything that you would see in a nail polish pen. Getting the polish to come out to the applicator wasn't hard, but it was very difficult to apply. The first coat was extremely sheer so I tried to go over with a second coat but then the first coat started to rub off and it bunched up whenever the pen pushed it. So I had to start dabbing slowly at my nails until it was covered with an opaque layer and tried everything to get it to be even. The end result wasn't even worth the effort, since after not even a full day (I'd say about 16 hours) the tips of my nails started chipping and cracking so I had to use nail polish remover to get rid of everything.

All that work for nothing....and money too, because I'm not usually a nail person so spending a total of $9 on the kit was a lot to waste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scandalous on 12/15/2012 2:14:00 PM more reviews by scandalous

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Omg I'm shocked at the bad reviews of this. I have short nails and was thinking of getting acrylics because I love pink and white nails but saw this and thought I would give it a try first...


I LOVE the fact that its not "white out" white! It still gives me a distinctly white tip without looking fakey fake. Going over it one time works for me, but I will need practice.


This is a felt-tip type pen. The tip is a chisel shape so you can do a thinner line or a thicker one. This is also SUPER convenient for touch ups if you happen to chip a tip. Another HUGE plus? It dries pretty fast, unlike conventional nail polish. I love this and will buy again. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dvlbny on 3/8/2012 12:56:00 PM more reviews by dvlbny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Terrible. The "polish" in the pen is not completely opaque and when you try to apply a second coat it wipes off some of the first coat even after it's fully dried.
I have better luck freehand with a detailing brush.

Same as the "Tools - Sally Hansen - 5 Minute FRENCH Manicure Pen Kit"

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MrsTefee on 12/30/2011 4:52:00 AM more reviews by MrsTefee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was really excited to try this pen but... it kinda let me down. It works but not very well. It applies really really wet and runny and very sheer so it was really messy and I couldnt get a straight line at all. It also left weird bumps all over my nails where I used it which I dont understand.. I think it was from the tip of the pen because its made out of a very weird hard material.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ontheglam on 6/26/2011 3:44:00 PM more reviews by ontheglam

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is total crap. I wanted to make it easier to give myself french manis than those stupid stickers and white polish, but this is just awful. For starters, the formula is quite thin and sheer. You have to layer it so many times to get it to be an opaque white, but when you do that it just flakes and gets lumpy. The pen itself is really bad, as well. You have to hold the tip down forever to get anything out of it, and then suddenly it'll pool EVERYWHERE. What a mess and what a total waste of money.
I'm going to buy some more of those stupid stickers.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sleepingbeauty617 on 6/20/2011 2:00:00 PM more reviews by sleepingbeauty617

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is CR*P!!! I bought this product thinking that it would make it easier for me to do a french manicure, but it was a waste of my money. The nail polish is not very pigmented, and even after shaking it and holding the tip down for a while, the color came out watery and not very white. It also got extremely messy when I tried to put on 3 coats to make the white more white. This product is only meant for 1 coat. Besides that, it chipped and cracked only 1 day after I put it on! This has never happened with any sally hansen nail polish that I used. My manicure looks like it's a week old, when I only put it on 2 days ago. You also need a little brush to shape the line exactly as you want it, because this product does not do it. The tip breaks and opens up quite easily too. This product is horrible, I will never buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JessJess5 on 5/24/2011 4:18:00 PM more reviews by JessJess5

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is so convenient and easy to use. It's pigmented and dries fast. The white did chip a little bit the next day but it's so easy to touch up. It seemed watery at first but not for long. I have no complaints. Even my right hand (drawn on with left) turned out good. I'm surprised. The packaging is easy to store, easy to spot in your collection, the cap snaps on tight, and it's very utilitarian.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Nails products