Dermalogica Medibac Overnight Clearing Gel

3.9

103 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Active: Salicylic Acid (2%), Other: Water, Peg-32, Butylene Glycol, Pvm/Ma Decadiene Crosspolymer, Niacinamide, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Nordihydroguaiaretic Acid, Zinc Gluconate, Zinc Acetate, Mahonia Aquifolium Root Extract, Lavendula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract, Spiraea Ulmaria Extract, Aesculus Hippocastanum (Horse Chestnut) Seed Extract, Crithmum Maritimum Extract, Yeast Extract, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Oil, Geranium Maculatum Oil, Zingiber Officinale (Ginger) Root Oil, Cymbopogon Marini Oil, Cymbopogon Nardus (Citronella) Oil, Sodium Hyaluronate, Biotin, Panthenol, Caffeine, Camphor, 10-Hydroxydecanoic Acid, Sebacic Acid, 1,10-Decanediol, Oleanolic Acid, Xanthan Gum, Carbomer, Polysorbate 20, Peg-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Ammonium Glycyrrhizate, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Peg-60 Almond Glycerides, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Caprylyl Glycol, Sodium Hydroxide, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, Limonene, Linalool, Citronellol, Geraniol.


on 4/23/2015 11:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Used to use this before I found the cheaper alternative from the Clear Start line. I felt this really helped my acne and texture of my skin. I would have shelled out the money for this if I had to, but the Overnight treatment gel from the Clear Start (teen-focused) line works just as well and is about half the price. I wore this product in the morning under my foundation and combined it with my antibiotic topical gel. Really made a difference in the appearance and texture, but not sure that it did anything to acne discoloration. It could be helping, but if it does it has been very slow.

Highly recommend. I've heard contradicting things about Dermalogica and I think it is overpriced and not a "pure" as is advertised, but salicylic acid works well for me and I really find I like serums/gels. I haven't found anything similar in any drugstore lines so until I do I will continue to purchase the cheaper version of this stuff in the Dermalogica Clear Start line.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought this in place of the Alba Botanica clearing gel I usually use. I have small, superficial whiteheads under my jaw from and use SA to clear them up. Within a few days of switching to the Dermalogica clearing gel, I had significantly more whiteheads, and they were slightly unflamed, which is uncommon for me. When I went back to the Alba clearing gel, everything calmed down to normal. I can't recommend this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/1/2014 4:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This was not effective at all. Definitely skip this product if you had moderate to severe acne. This also did nothing to help get rid of clogged pores.


on 7/6/2014 1:37:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I use the overnight clearing gel instead of the Medibac oil free moisturiser when my skin needs a bit of extra time of month help. Its not a miracle cure, but my skin is better than its ever been since I switched to the Medibac range so I keep repurchasing it. I don't get any sort of irritation or sensitivity from this. Sometimes I take it for granted as I've been using the Medibac range for so long now I forget what my skin used to be like, but when I think about it, using this product means I have a couple of spots for maybe a quarter of the month, whereas before I found it, I was never spot free and they used to be a lot bigger and more painful.


on 3/21/2014 6:31:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

More of what everyone is saying- I had been using the clear products that are less expensive and doing a good job. But this has a lighter scent (my hubby thought I was putting perfume on with the other one-HA!!!). And it does a better job- by a ton! I am using it with the other Medibac products so it is compounding the effect. I am a bit older than most on the list and was scared that this would be too strong or too weak. No just right. Bit more expensive than other product but what price is a great face in the morning-*Priceless* and a little goes a long way- still on my sample. I suggest getting the sample kit and see how it goes.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I rediscovered this in my vanity stash, at a time my skin had escalated to both pustular and cystic acne everywhere on my face. I began applying the gel to the spot heads only, spot-treating all the affected areas as needed. Inflammation reduced the next day, and gone by day 3/4. It works, worth the price.


on 12/28/2013 10:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

Great! Did not dry my skin at ALL!! And I use it every single night. Dries fast and smells pleasant enough!


on 5/13/2013 7:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Expensive but amazing! Makes my skin so smooth and clear when I wake up!


on 4/27/2013 7:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Background information: I have a combination skin with oily t-zone. I do not have an acne problem, but do get the occasional pimple now and then. When I do get pimples, it is the big inflamed ones that seems to be under the skin. I try as long as I can to leave it alone and let it dry out. These are difficult to handle because you cannot really squeeze them and it takes a long time for it to dry out. If I try to squeeze the pimple, nothing comes out and it only makes the problem worse. Worst case scenarios I have to use a needle to pop a hole in the pimple, so that the pimple goo can come out and does not inflame the area further (this is the most gentle way of popping a pimple, do not use your fingers). I use cotton swabs to squeeze the goo out.

I use this product during the night, which is excellent before and after the pimple has been popped. When I feel that a pimple might be coming, I apply it on that area. I keep applying until the pimple is not too tender, and if the pimple does not seem to disappear I will try and pop it. After popping there will always be some residue left. So I apply this product in order to prevent a new breakout on the same area. With this routine, I usually get rid off the pimple quite fast without scarring. I do get some discolouration for a while, but that might be due to my skin type. I have Asian skin, where discolouration and melanin production sit deeper in the skin, and therefore takes longer time to fade.

I find this product to be soothing, disinfecting and drying out the pimple. I am quite satisfied and will most likely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/17/2013 8:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have been using this for the past 2 months and my skin looks better. My pores are far less congested, my skin is calmer clearer and my acne scars are fading. I use this every night, with one night break. You need to be generous with this, about a large quarter size for my whole face. I have sensitive skin and this does not cause any irritations. It does not clear or help cystic blemishes thou , but for regular blemishes and congested skin this is great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
531 Reviews
Sudocrem
137 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Nerium AD
73 Reviews
Back to Top