Dermalogica • Medibac Overnight Clearing Gel • Treatments

rated 3.9(99 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 MsMaggiePie on 3/21/2014 6:31:00 AM more reviews by MsMaggiePie

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

More of what everyone is saying- I had been using the clear products that are less expensive and doing a good job. But this has a lighter scent (my hubby thought I was putting perfume on with the other one-HA!!!). And it does a better job- by a ton! I am using it with the other Medibac products so it is compounding the effect. I am a bit older than most on the list and was scared that this would be too strong or too weak. No just right. Bit more expensive than other product but what price is a great face in the morning-*Priceless* and a little goes a long way- still on my sample. I suggest getting the sample kit and see how it goes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 niftypineapple914 on 1/29/2014 4:01:00 PM more reviews by niftypineapple914

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I rediscovered this in my vanity stash, at a time my skin had escalated to both pustular and cystic acne everywhere on my face. I began applying the gel to the spot heads only, spot-treating all the affected areas as needed. Inflammation reduced the next day, and gone by day 3/4. It works, worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Snoowhite on 12/28/2013 10:05:00 PM more reviews by Snoowhite

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Great! Did not dry my skin at ALL!! And I use it every single night. Dries fast and smells pleasant enough!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JayFab on 5/13/2013 7:59:00 PM more reviews by JayFab

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Expensive but amazing! Makes my skin so smooth and clear when I wake up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bellabaluba on 4/27/2013 7:24:00 PM more reviews by bellabaluba

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Background information: I have a combination skin with oily t-zone. I do not have an acne problem, but do get the occasional pimple now and then. When I do get pimples, it is the big inflamed ones that seems to be under the skin. I try as long as I can to leave it alone and let it dry out. These are difficult to handle because you cannot really squeeze them and it takes a long time for it to dry out. If I try to squeeze the pimple, nothing comes out and it only makes the problem worse. Worst case scenarios I have to use a needle to pop a hole in the pimple, so that the pimple goo can come out and does not inflame the area further (this is the most gentle way of popping a pimple, do not use your fingers). I use cotton swabs to squeeze the goo out.

I use this product during the night, which is excellent before and after the pimple has been popped. When I feel that a pimple might be coming, I apply it on that area. I keep applying until the pimple is not too tender, and if the pimple does not seem to disappear I will try and pop it. After popping there will always be some residue left. So I apply this product in order to prevent a new breakout on the same area. With this routine, I usually get rid off the pimple quite fast without scarring. I do get some discolouration for a while, but that might be due to my skin type. I have Asian skin, where discolouration and melanin production sit deeper in the skin, and therefore takes longer time to fade.

I find this product to be soothing, disinfecting and drying out the pimple. I am quite satisfied and will most likely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angeldoll on 4/17/2013 8:57:00 AM more reviews by Angeldoll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this for the past 2 months and my skin looks better. My pores are far less congested, my skin is calmer clearer and my acne scars are fading. I use this every night, with one night break. You need to be generous with this, about a large quarter size for my whole face. I have sensitive skin and this does not cause any irritations. It does not clear or help cystic blemishes thou , but for regular blemishes and congested skin this is great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RoseJade on 12/7/2012 5:39:00 PM more reviews by RoseJade

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

First off Iíd like to share a bit of background on my skin-
Iíve got oily t-zone and Iím EXTREMELY acne prone. Iíve been suffering from acne for years. Iíve tried just about every product (low to high end brands) Iíve found decent results with proactiv, clarisonic, and philosophy. BUT nothing that changed my skin drastically. Iíve been dealing with acne since puberty but it got increasingly so much worse about the last two years. My skin was covered in cyst acne (hurt so badly) I couldnít go a day without breaking out. It was so weird. I did everything that was recommended but my skin just wasnít doing what I wished for. When the acne scaring got really bad, to the point my whole forehead was utterly covered in scaring I really felt it was time to move on and try new products and see what other brands can do for not only fixing the acne scaring but to stop me from breaking out as much as possible. I was researching and came across this and Neutrogenaís Acne Control 3-in-1 Treatment. I was leaning towards the cheap Neutrogena since this was 40 bucks more. The reason I ended up choosing this was because I tried Neutrogenaís acne cleanser and toner in the past and let me just say not a good idea. I have Dermalogicaís clearing mattifier which Ive been using for 3 years and I love it. So I figured take the splurge and keep my fingers crossed. I've tried many overnight treatments in my past and most were severely drying, so I really had no clue as to what this would do to my skin. Down below is the day to day update that ive had saved on my computer for weeks. Figured since it has been around 2 wks since Iíve starting using itís a good time to upload my results so far.
FIRST DAY: woke up with improvements, Iíd like to use the word drastic but hey it wasnít completely gone (but I didnít expect that since my skin was doing so bad). I could definitely see scaring fading and acne healing. Plus it was the cleanest my skin has felt in years. Even being a user of the clarisonic.
SECOND DAY: I was in awe!!!! Now I must use the word DRASTIC! My skin did a complete 360 and its amazing. Iím so happy I purchased and went with this expensive product. My acne scars are way down and the actually acne itself is down tremendously. Also I have not got a pimple sinceÖvery unlikely for my skin!!! Iím use to breaking out every day
THIRD DAY: Iím lost with wordsÖ.is this really me im looking at?? WOW! Scars are basically all gone now. Acnes basically all gone. Face feels cleaner than ever!
ÖSame improvements continued each day. :) At the end of wk 1 I actually got my monthly breakout. This time however it was less and it took about 2-3 nights to clear up and get back on my track to clear skin. Once I did get those under control my skin continued to improve and progressed really fast. Iím just so happy about my skin and this fab product. I must recommend this to everybody. I canít imagine my life without this. Clear skin is truly sexy skin and I canít believe I finally have found this little miracle. It does more than it says! I best stop rambling sorry guys Iím just so in love! HG! 4ever&always.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RHanson on 7/10/2012 12:37:00 AM more reviews by RHanson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Best OTC acne product I have tried, ever. Nothing cleared my skin like this besides Accutane, and even that was accompanied with horrible side effects. The Overnight Clearing Gel has done me no wrong. The absolute most important piece of information I can give about this product is to not be stingy with it. Yes, its a bit pricey, but you really need about a nickel-quarter size worth of gel for each quadrant of your face. It will be really wet, but will dry after 10 minutes. Sleep. Wake up with calmed, not dry, even-toned skin. Watch the redness of pimples, post-acne scars, and that of the general areas of the face go away. You will also find that break-outs are subdued with continued use of this. Stopping new pimples & decreasing appearance of present and past pimples makes this gel quite an efficient, and fast product. Really give this a chance, slather it on, and really watch it work!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nzfran on 7/6/2012 7:13:00 PM more reviews by nzfran

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This product improved the appearance of my blackheads and a small area of congestion on my cheek area but then it caused my nose to become red and sensitive and break out. I have only been using it a week but it has really irritated my skin. The lady at the counter said I did not need a moisteriser with this product, but it is so drying. I am going to use it occasionally on small areas to clear congestion, not all over my face as the instructions say. Try a sample first before you buy, it's pricey.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 erinnashleyy on 6/7/2012 7:25:00 PM more reviews by erinnashleyy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently got fed up with buying different products for acne, and I never really realized that I should be using things for adult skin instead of teenage skin, even though I'm only 20. I was on birth control a few years ago, for about a year or so and my face was pretty much flawless. I had acne through high school then one day it kinda just cleared then I'd get the random spot here and there. I stopped taking birth control last year after I realized it was making me depressed. Last summer my skin was clear then all of a sudden I broke out like crazy on my lower cheek, jawline and neck. It was after I had got broken up with by my boyfriend and basically had to start my life all over, I was stressed and working all the time, and a few months ago I had shingles. That is painful.
Anyways, I heard Dermalogica was good and I was like well it's a professional brand so I'll try it and just return it if it doesn't work. I bought the MediBac Clearing Adult Acne Kit and it came with sample sizes. I tried the overnight clearing gel, and literally saw no change in the morning. A day later after using it again, I noticed that some bumps that were coming up the day before were completely gone. I do have ones that are like under the skin though that haven't went away yet, and I've been using the system day and night for a couple weeks now. I'm pleased with the results because I don't have any new breakouts, and the bumps I have aren't getting worse. I only gave this product a 4 because I feel like I need to try things daily for a whole month before it will show any difference. I'm just not looking foreward to paying full price for a bottle if it doesn't work wonders on my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermalogica products

More Treatments products