Clinique • Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss in Ginger • Lip Gloss

rated 3.8(22 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 artfag on 10/11/2013 9:58:00 AM more reviews by artfag

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I wear this daily and like it very much. It's a very flattering colour for me, and does not make me look overly made-up or "done".
I apply a little bit and rub it in well. It moisturizes excellently and gives a sheer, natural-looking wash of colour. I also think it is fairly long-lasting, although I do have to touch it up after eating or drinking.

I will definitely repurchase, and will probably try some other shades eventually as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dolce_1127 on 9/20/2011 12:23:00 AM more reviews by dolce_1127

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to try this for so long, and I am so let down! This is so sticky it's beyond any kind of description. And this is coming from someone who LOVE and love MAC lipglass and Lancome juicy tubes, which are supposed to be heavy and sticky. This Superbalm is not superbalm, it's superglue. It's horrifying. The colour is very pretty, like a pinky brown that is the perfect MLBB colour. But unless you pack this on and give your lip that mirror look (which to start with, is very inappropriate for day time, and this gloss is too shiny for some reason, it's way shinier than MAC lipglasses), it is drying and sticky. If you pack it on you won't feel the dryness as much, but if you let it wear off or if you put on a little bit as I tend to because the pigmentation is strong, it gets so sticky and tacky feeling, to the point where I actually felt uncomfortable and unbearable. Wiping off is a hassle too, it tugs and pulls on tissue. This is going back to the store and I'm never buying it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sabrina112 on 11/23/2010 6:23:00 PM more reviews by sabrina112

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The color on this gloss is beautiful. It is a natural rosy brown. The texture is thick and feels heavy on your lips, but the gloss does not stay on your lips. The taste of this gloss is one of the worst ever. It is a toss up between vaseline and some kind of goo for your husbands tools or car. It is horrific. Do not buy it because of the taste

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nakeeyark on 11/15/2010 3:56:00 PM more reviews by nakeeyark

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought two of these, one in Ginger and one in Lilac, in order to get a current Nordstrom GWP. As I've heard really positive things about the Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss, I was really excited, and in the tube Ginger looked really promising -- a warm caramel nude with a slight touch of pink. When I applied it lightly, the color translated decently to my lips, and very sheerly, which I like; it was also only slightly shiny, which was nice, too, as sometimes I like to wear very muted and understated lip colors. However, what I could not get past was the stickiness, and this is coming from someone who really loves MAC Lipglasses, products which are known and loved/hated for how sticky they are. Whereas Lipglass inevitably disappears over time and leaves behind faint color and no stickiness, the Clinique gloss stayed... and stayed... and stayed. Hours later I still could not touch my lips together as they would just stick, and worse, the products was gathering at the corners of my mouth. I tried it again the next day and applied even less than before, but the same results. And the ultimate downer? This product somehow made my lips really dry. I don't know how, but seeing as how I was still using the same lip balm as before, and the weather hadn't gotten a whole lot windier or drier, I can't see anything else being to blame besides this product. Both Ginger and Lilac (and the GWP, of course) are going back, because I refuse to shell out $30 for products that are not only uncomfortable to wear, but also don't do what they claim.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bunnypie on 8/24/2010 2:56:00 PM more reviews by bunnypie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was actually looking for a lipstick, but the seller showed me this one lip gloss, which makes me very happy to have bought it.
What I like about it most is that it is truly moisturizing, even though it is a lip gloss. It also gives a beautiful shine to your lips and a little goes a long way. The color is very pretty.
It's like a muted rose brown. Less brown though.
So this color should fit anyone because it looks very natural.
It is like giving your lips a bit of color and shine with the power of a lip balm.
Great product and so much thanks to the seller who showed me this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JKatherine on 7/27/2010 4:18:00 PM more reviews by JKatherine

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Great product, great color. I don't find the Clinique lipbalms all that sticky. I wear this instead of lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Emma13 on 3/5/2010 4:45:00 AM more reviews by Emma13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I bought this becuase I wanted to replace my Superbalm glodd in Rootbeer, and the counter didn't have Rootbeer. This looked almost the same. But it's not. It's not terrible but for some reason the consistency is different from Rootbeer - somehow even gunkier (Rootbeer is already sticky) and not as emollient feeling if that's possible. The colour is a bit warmer than Rootbeer, and more opaque I think. It's okay but I wish I had waited to buy Rootbeer. I would not buy this colour again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 champagnestars on 2/1/2010 6:06:00 AM more reviews by champagnestars

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This product is quite lovely, it has no shimmer (zero shimmer), has a nice rusty dusty rose pink to it. which i feel will look gorgeous on any kind of skin tone (i'm a NW42/45) It has nice pigmented colors!It is no doubt a little bit sticky but is indeed moisturizing too!


Definitely something for a really neutral everyday look! (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mizznk on 11/22/2009 11:07:00 PM more reviews by mizznk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ahhhhh im almost finish this, it is my first tube, I cant wait to try a more pigmented one. On my pigmented lips this does not do much but make them glossy, maybe evens them, but i wear this every.. single... day, even if i have left the house with l/s on it will eventually be replaced by this, it is SO moisturizing, i love sleeping with it on my lips at night, my lips feel so rejuvenated when i wakeup. these also keep my lips moisturized after it has worn off, which is another big plus. Cant wait to repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yovivbabe on 8/13/2009 1:00:00 PM more reviews by yovivbabe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Clinique's Superbalm in Ginger is the perfect pinky-nude, your-lips-but-better shade of gloss. (Reminds me of a shade they discontinued years ago called "Honey Bee.") I loathe brown shades on my lips--it just looks wrong on me, and this is one of the first nude glosses I can actually wear. It doesn't wash me out or add too much color, just makes my lips look glossy and full. Very appropriate for day wear, and I think it would likely be considered universally flattering. This gloss lasts much longer than most without being overly-sticky (it's still sticky, but it doesn't feel heavy, if that makes sense). It's unscented (which I appreciate) and as are all Superbalms, actually moisturizing. One of my favorite glosses and I hope Clinique doesn't ever discontinue it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Lip Gloss products