MAC • Lip Erase - Pale • Lips

rated 4.1(32 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BCbabe on 6/6/2014 8:17:00 PM more reviews by BCbabe

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

If you have a very light skintone, lighter than NC30, and you've always wanted to "erase" the pigment in your iips, or you want to tone down the pigment so that lighter coloured lipsticks actually apply true to colour, then this might be your ticket. I purchased both Dim and Pale when they launched since I didn't know which would work better for me (it turns out Dim is better for my skintone). Pale is almost whitish looking on me, but I kept it anyways. (I think I ordered online and returns would be a hassle...). Anyways, the concept is good but bear i mind that these are not "balms" and I personally do not find them moisturizing at all. You will definitely need a separate balm under this. One lippie removed for that... I prefer to apply these with my fingers. I swipe across the product and tap onto my lips, building up to the desired opacity. They look matte and flat by themselves so you will want to apply a gloss over top and/or lipstick. I find using a lip brush is preferable over applying lipstick from the tube as it can disrupt the "erase" underneath.

The second lippy was removed because I'm trying to decide if this is actually an improvement over just using a pale nude lip liner (ie: MAC Naked lip liner). At least with a pencil, you don't actually have to get your fingers dirty and I myself find a pencil a bit easier to use. Another benefit of a pencil over this is that you can do the "ombre" effect by lightening the outter perimeter of your lips and fade it to the inside where you can do a deeper shade. It's kind of clumsy with Lip Erase. Fingers just don't have the precision of a pencil, ya know? It's not impossible, just more clumsy.

So there you have it. Lip Erase is a good idea for a quick blotting out of the lip but it's not entirely unique in that a pencil can do that too. I'm not positive I'd purchase again but I'm not writing it off just yet... but realistically my pencils get more use. IF these were actually moisturizing & pigmented lip balms, then I think MAC would really be onto something...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 clarissa90 on 12/27/2013 11:16:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great product/concept. However, I find that the Dim Lip Erase suits me much better, therefore I will stick to that. I will not purchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bionicbigjames on 8/13/2012 6:22:00 PM more reviews by bionicbigjames

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am a fan of this product. It does exactly what it says and it does it well. I love wearing a nude lip & before I found this, I was using concealer on my lips to tone down my naturally rosy lips, which never lasted long enough. This lasts several hours on me, which sometimes includes me drinking from a straw & whatnot. I have read some have had some issues with this being a bit drying, but I have never had that problem with it. But, I always exfoliate my lips before putting any lip product on and I am an avid chapstick user (it's an obsessive-compulsive issue...I can't survive without my chapstick. LOL), so my lips are in good shape & I never have any cracking problems, even in the winter, so maybe that has something to do with me not having a drying problem with this product.

I'm not too crazy about the packaging. It comes in a pan, like a lip balm pan, only much larger. It doesn't seem very hygienic, but then again, I'm not sure how else they could package it. Because of this, I use a brush to apply, then I blend it with my fingers. I like how much product you get: 15 mL/0.5 US oz. I paid $24 for this on eBay. I couldn't find it on the MAC website. I suppose that's because it's a MAC PRO item. Not exactly sure. Either way, it was worth every penny. I would recommend it to anyone with pigmented lips, looking for a way to wear lipstick or lipgloss in its true color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nattyngeorge on 4/25/2011 11:26:00 PM more reviews by nattyngeorge

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is meant to cancel out the natural hue of your lips. Why? Well, if you have little to no color in your lips, you may not find this product at all necessary. But, if you have rosy, pigmented lips, you may find this product helpful. Your natural lip color has a big impact of how certain lipsticks and lipglosses will look on you. It's only usually when lip colors are very opaque, that your natural lip color may not have an affect on how the color will look. On the other hand, with sheer lip colors, your natural lip color has a very big impact on how the lip color will look. The best way to achieve the color you see in the tube, is by giving your lips a clear canvas, with little color (unless, like mentioned, the lip color is very opaque & will cancel out your lip color regardless). Of course you can use a concealer or foundation on your lips, but sometimes the foundation or concealer can be too thick & end up "mixing" with your lip color, completely altering the shade or it can be very drying to your lips. What I like to do, is apply a moisturizing lip balm to my lips, and after I have applied my foundation to my face with a brush, I take the brush and tap it gently over my lips to cancel out any rosiness. This only adds a little foundation residue to my lips & isn't heavy or drying. Some may find that their foundation/concealer trick works fine for them & don't feel the need to invest in this product (or similar). I really like this product though. If you are familiar with MAC Lip Conditioners & Tinted Lip Conditioners, this product comes in the exact same packaging and has a very similar feel. I originally thought this product would be thick and heavy like a concealer - but I was completely wrong. It's actually incredibly thin, and lightweight and has the consistency of a lip balm. It was actually a little difficult to get a decent swatch of the color because it is so sheer, but it cancels out the lips wonderfully. Once applied to my lips, I don't find that the color moves around after I apply my lip color over it. I also don't find it drying. My lips are normally dry, but I didn't find that this dried them out any more than usual. Because it is light, it will emphasize dry skin, so I like exfoliating my lips prior and putting a light coating of lip balm on. I think this product is extremely handy and it will be a product that I can pop in my bag and pat on my lips after meals before I apply my lip gloss or lipstick. I'm very happy I decided to get this product, and I'll surely be wearing more of lip glosses that I tend to neglect. I love this especially under my YSL Rouge Volupt #26. Without the lip erase it appears very rosy/coral on my lips. With the lip erase, it appears much more pink - exactly how I always wanted it to look on me.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 usernamelogin on 2/5/2011 5:30:00 AM more reviews by usernamelogin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have very dark lips and have always found it hard to wear lipstick because it never shows its "true" color on my lips. I found out about MAC lip erase and was very excited to finally have a solution in my hands.

I bought this product at a MAC pro store in dim. Exfoliating your lips before using it is a must because like everyone has said, it will accentuate your fine lines. Put a lip balm then pat it dry with your back hand then put MAC lip erase on. Wait for a few minutes then apply your lipstick by dabbing gently. This saved me and I was quite happy with it.

However, I noticed that it actually wears off so fast. Retouching is very hard with this because you have to take off the whole thing then do the process all over again. Moreover, even though I exfoliate, I have vertical lines on my lips that when I smile, you can actually see the lipstick settling in to them (courtesy of MAC lip erase). The packaging could use some improvement as well. It would've been better if it was in a more hygienic package like a twist up lipstick Since I have long fingernails it's harder to get the product as well.


I wish I found out sooner about Make Up Forever's Rouge Artist Intense Lipstick Line. I just love it. It has so much pigment that whatever colour I choose, It actually still shows up on my dark lips. I can't believe I don't have to go through that long process of putting on MAC lip erase everyday, instead I can just glide the lipstick with one hand and touch up whenever I can like everyone does.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vanityxbarbie on 1/7/2011 5:44:00 PM more reviews by vanityxbarbie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

BEST PRODUCT I HAVE EVER BOUGHT IN MY LIFE!!!!!!! I have extremely deep red pigmented lips and i got this in DIM and it works fantastically!!!! COMPLETELY removes and kind of color on your lips which is what i have been looking for FOREVER!!!!! feels amazing on the lips (exfoliate lips before using). It dries perfectly on lips after 4 or 5 minutes so you can apply a lipstick over it and not have it mix colors with the lipstick you put on top!!! I recommend this 9092834092809423232 % hahaha i just absolutely am in love!!!! <333333

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rachama2 on 11/10/2010 7:56:00 AM more reviews by rachama2

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am deeply in love with this product. I wanted to have this product a long time before I got a chance to buy it. I really liked nude lips and the concealer trick was not working for me. It got into my lines and it didn't stay on for very long.
I got a chance to go to a pro store and without thinking I grabbed this. And I am so glad I did. It takes all of the color out of my lips since they are very pigmented which I don't like. I really like nude looks and I think you can wear them when ever you want. And I couldn't without THIS!

Okay, you have to make sure your lips are smooth, but I use a scrub or a toothbrush. Then I put on some lipbalm and it looks fine!
Other thing is that if you use your fingers to apply the product (which I do) little frizzies stay at the surface. I don't mind but it looks a bit dirty...

I would really bbuy this product again but I don't think I need to because I have had this product for about 4 months now but you can't tell I have used it every day. It looks like it's still new !!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tatt2thruandthru on 11/9/2010 6:01:00 PM more reviews by tatt2thruandthru

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Unfortunately I don't love this product at all and actually I barely like it. If you have an ounce of dryness anywhere it will show. I even used lip scrubs and could not get an even coverage with this product. It dimmed my lip color down, it was semi-drying in general, but it did help bring out true color in lipsticks and glosses. The pot packing is completely unsanitary. I can't see myself using this and it is being returned online. FYI I'm nearly 100% sure that this is the EXACT same product as the Prep + Prime Eye. Seriously.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 joshen444 on 11/8/2010 1:16:00 AM more reviews by joshen444

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i'm disappointed...
i got this online
i can understand the packaging but it's not the best
i really wish they can have it in a tube but using finger might be the best way to put it on because your body temperature kind of warm and melt the product so it's easier to apply
i have really pigmented lips (which i don't like at all, and they're super dry...)
i really want to try nude lips but it's always impossible
this product...drys out my lips and make my already cracked(nasty) lips look horrible
it's kind of the same as using a regular concealer on you lip...so...i'm disappointed

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 miszdeniise on 10/13/2010 4:23:00 AM more reviews by miszdeniise

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this product. I have really really pigmented lips and it takes out MOST of the color. I think it will be hard to just wear this alone. I use it as a base and its fantastic. My lipstick lasted a long time and made the color pop more.Everytime I re applied more lipstick it was still nice and smooth, not all balled up and in lines. I use this with Myth and sometimes fleshpot. Love it!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lips products