St. Ives • Oatmeal and Shea butter • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.4(144 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 silverbrook on 3/16/2014 11:58:00 AM more reviews by silverbrook

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Very inexpensive and effective for getting rid of horrible bumpy itchy winter skin... I have been using an anti-itch lotion (Sarna) and this seems to work better and last longer at moisturizing and relieving itch. It's dirt cheap too. Highly recommend!

The only negatives are that they oddly put in artificial colors and fragrance. I won't lie, I'm a sucker for fragrances, but I know I shouldn't be. And artificial colors... wtf? Why does lotion need to be tinted slightly yellow?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kblimm on 2/16/2014 11:48:00 PM more reviews by kblimm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This lotion is definitely worth the money!!! I love how it doesn't feel super thick and sticky like some lotions tend to feel. The smell is perfect, and it isn't too overbearing. My skin felt instantly smoother after just one application. My skin has been extremely dry in the past few of these brutal winter months, and this lotion didn't even irritate the razor burn on my legs. Definitely a clean smell and highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Gunmetal21 on 2/8/2014 3:48:00 PM more reviews by Gunmetal21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

To give a bit of background: I've been using this specific kind of St. Ives lotion since around 2010, when I began working in a bakery. I had to wash my hands constantly throughout the day with a harsh soap, and my hands began drying out and cracking/rashing. Using St. Ives, since it was very non-greasy AND they didn't test on animals/use animal products, was my major reason to keep purchasing and it was pretty cheap for such a big bottle.

They've had at least two product changes since then, but I found the last change to be tolerable. It wasn't any more greasy or more fragranced since I'd last picked up a bottle, and it still say they didn't test on animals, use animal products, etc. This time however was a bit different. (I've had this last bottle for about a year now.)

After deciding it was getting a bit pathetic to continue scraping to get all the lotion out (rofl) I picked up a bottle while I was out for lunch at work from the grocery store. Still a pretty cheap price, and I didn't think they'd changed recently because the bottle looked mostly the same (except for no "NEW LOOK" sticker on the side).

I pretty much instantly noticed it was a lot more scented, and my hands remained greasy feeling for a long time afterwards. I kind of didn't think about it for a while, but I finally have both my old and new bottles in front of me and they're actually pretty different.

The new one no longer states that it's made without phthalates, not animal tested, and does not contain animal products. I noticed fragrance is MUCH higher on the list now; it was the last ingredient besides the colours on the old bottle, and now there's about 10 more ingredients between it and the colours. It looks like they've now added soybean oil to the mix as well.

I'm not entirely sure if this is helpful for anyone, but maybe it will be? I picked up St. Ives initially because it was cruelty-free AND it wasn't greasy. Now it doesn't do either. Sigh.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 donaliew on 11/23/2013 10:29:00 AM more reviews by donaliew

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Love the scent, the coconuty smell motivates me to put them on. If apply at night, skin wakes up softer the next morning. But i guess every body lotion posses that function =/ However, when read the ingredients printed at the bottle, it tells colouring (yellow, blue..) and also fragrance. A setback in confidence, not so natural after all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dontwannausername on 11/20/2013 1:08:00 PM more reviews by Dontwannausername

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I don't write too many reviews: something really has to impress me one way or the other. That said I have really, really dry skin - when I take off my sock, it looks like they have been powdered. I bought this stuff based on the reviews and it was on sale buy 1 get one 50% off (and it's usually $4 a bottle, so ya can't beat that). [FYI: I have the site as a short cut on my phone and it's saved me who-knows-how-much while shopping, thanks all!]

I'm really very happy. I use it after a shower, it sinks in pretty quickly, isn't greasy, I don't need much and while I'm not amazed with the smell (it's not horrible, some kind of vanilla/oat scent) it isn't heavy, doesn't clash with any perfumes I wear and fades within a very short time. I can get through the day and my skin hasn't dried out by evening, which is rather impressive, and I do indeed believe it's helped to improve the condition of my skin in the short time I have used it (a third of a bottle/a couple of weeks)

This is one of a small group of lotions (Curel, Gold bond, Nivea) that I would buy again, and this is much, much more reasonable in price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FaceofMaleah on 11/17/2013 1:06:00 AM more reviews by FaceofMaleah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This body lotion, much like the body wash doesn't do anything for my skin. They both smell amazing but do not hydrate my skin at all, even leaving it feeling a little on the dry side. This body lotion is fairly thick so you would think it would be hydrating but once this absorbs in to my skin (or rubs off), it is just gone, leaving no sign that it was ever there. My skin is just as dry and flaky and rough. I feel like there is a lot of misplaced hyped surrounding this range which is really too bad because for the price of these products, I would love for them to actually work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vaniessa on 10/22/2013 9:46:00 AM more reviews by Vaniessa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so in love with the scent!!! it goes on slightly sticky yet it absorbs into the skin and makes your skin feel moisturized. the scent is not too strong and it's subtle, leaving a nice shea butter scent which is just right. so in love with this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gossijay on 10/19/2013 5:54:00 PM more reviews by Gossijay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This lotion is quite incredible. I've been using it for the last year and I have to say that I really loved it.

I've never had an HG body lotion, but this is definitely it. One day my mom and I happened to try this lotion and we loved it. This lotion has such an incredible texture; it's thick, creamy and moisturizing.

The smell is quite nice and not overpowering so if you're easily offended by scents this shouldn't bother you. It's warm and sweet, but I can't put my finger on the exact scents.

The lotion does take a little bit of time to absorb, so you can't just throw your clothes on immediately after you apply it.

The moisturizing effects are effective and long-lasting. I have the type of skin that itches when it's dry, and it doesn't itch at all when I use this lotion once a day. I used to use Garnier's Body Intensive Cream and my skin would become dry and itchy less then four hours later. This lotion keeps your skin moist until the next day!

This lotion is really inexpensive for the amount of product you get, which is another added plus. In short, this lotion is fantastic! Great moisture, yummy smell, huge bottle and cheap price all wrapped up in one product. I will definitely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarah2495 on 8/4/2013 7:32:00 PM more reviews by sarah2495

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE THIS . it smells amazing. its not expensive at all. it is a huge bottle. V
ERY moisturizing and hydrating.
i use it as soon as i can when i come out of the shower. i do not have dry skin, just normal it can get dry sometimes. but only sometimes.
if i were to go without body lotion for a week or so, my skin would obviously get dry.
if you have eczema or sensitive skin or dehydrated skin or pimples on your chest/back, get this.
even if you have oily skin, still try it out its great. its definitely not thick but its not runny either. LOVE IT. my HG body lotion. w
ill repurchase for life! will have this all over my house when i have a family! lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kyuen on 7/29/2013 2:16:00 AM more reviews by kyuen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff! My parents always have a various amount of different body lotions all throughout the house and my mom finally recommended me to try this one. My skin has been suffering through rashes from the heat and sunburn. The original bottle I had had actually went missing and I went through a couple weeks without this.

What I noticed were my rashes had completely subsided, my skin was no longer itchy. When I stopped using it, the rashes came back and my skin was destroyed due to the excessive scratching.

This is the first body lotion that I have ever stuck with since it has a somewhat mid-heavy fragrance. (I wish it was fragrance-free T_T) The price is amazing and I believe it works better for my skin than high-end brands. It really absorbs through my skin really well and I'm not sticky after a couple of minutes. I would definitely buy this again and will use it throughout the winter months!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More St. Ives products

More Lotions/ Creams products