Neutrogena • Healthy Skin Anti-Wrinkle Cream (Night) • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(87 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 DeeDee60 on 6/1/2014 4:20:00 PM more reviews by DeeDee60

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I really love this cream. It feels great on my face. Nice and smooth and disappears right into my skin. But what I really love is the packaging. Not a lot of money spent on fancy jars. Just a tube where you can squeeze as much as you want and the rest stays sealed and uncontaminated. Why don't more moisturizers come in a tube like this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hanknelmer on 2/18/2014 8:58:00 PM more reviews by hanknelmer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This stuff is amazing. I've used it off and on for about 10 years it must be by now... definitely reduces acne, improves complexion. I wish it was cheaper, but it's a bargain compared to other products. Highly recommend. Maybe start using every other night at first to see how your skin does. I have used it twice a day before also.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CODYKERI on 2/16/2014 3:43:00 PM more reviews by CODYKERI

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This made me break out, with large cystic type acne and made my skin horribly dry and irritated. Will not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cloroxcowgirl on 2/3/2014 6:02:00 PM more reviews by cloroxcowgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this product for close to a year, and more consistently over the last several months. When a product claims to reduce or eliminate wrinkles I always take the claim with a grain of salt, so I wanted to give this product some time to work it's magic. About my skin: I am 35 with very fair, sensitive skin. I have a few wrinkles on my forehead and some faint fine lines (not too many thanks to lots of sunscreen over the years) and also some faded acne scars on my chin. I get the odd break out here and there, but my acne has calmed down due to a number of factors (good skin care, healthier eating, getting older, etc.). I had previously used prescription Retin-A as a teenager for cystic acne, but found it way too harsh for my skin. That said, with consistent use this product does what it says. I have seen a reduction in the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles, as well as reduced acne scarring and breakouts. It also gives my skin an overall glow. I have received several compliments about my skin when using this product. I just use a pea sized amount all over my clean face before going to sleep. Because I have such sensitive skin, I find I can use it no more than twice a week, or it will start to irritate my skin (a common side effect of chemical exfoliation). But even then I get good results. If you have normal skin you could probably use it every night, or every other night. Just make sure to wash it off well in the morning and use a good sunscreen during the day, as retinols make your skin more sensitive to sunlight. Honestly, I couldn't be happier with this product; I think it is worth a lot more than it costs. I am starting to run low and will absolutely repurchase.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 1BeeBee on 1/26/2014 6:00:00 PM more reviews by 1BeeBee

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Black    

If I had to take one beauty item with me and nothing else, it would be this Neutrogena Healthy Skin Anti-Wrinkle Cream Night. Be sure to use the Night. I have been using this every since it first came out and if I have any beauty advice to young women it would be to use this. I will soon be 55 and I have no wrinkles around my eyes. You have to get a high powered mirror to see faint fine lines. I grew up when there was no such thing as sunscreen only oil and lotion to bake in. I have though, taken good care of my skin with every new step in skincare that could be bought in a drugstore and only in recent years spent money (mostly wasted) on more expensive items. I`ve read, compared, and gone over everything known to man and woman to try to figure out all of the twist and turns my skin has gone through, but I always come back to this. I have a redhead`s fair skin, but I will tan and have freckles. My skin is dry and oily, I have blackheads and never had pimples until 50. I can`t blame menopause, I had everything removed at 26, and it caused not one skin problem. In fact, my skin was great until 50. I may never figure out why I have sensitive skin that needs scrubbing, but looks humiliated afterwards or why every sunscreen breaks me out or why correcting one problem leads to two more. All I know is use this cream, wear big sunglasses and big hats, never sleep with make-up on, and believe you really don`t need to suntan. Neutrogena really does make the best products all around for cost and reliability. I use and have used all types of their products through the years and have learned, at great expense, just to stay with them rather than wreak greater havoc on my skin.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KittyKat0813 on 11/21/2013 1:59:00 PM more reviews by KittyKat0813

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Let me start out by saying this: I am a GOO HOARDER!! What's a "goo hoarder?" Someone who tries numerous amounts of products, and is left with drawers and closets full of unused products just sitting around for no apparent reason. I've always struggled with skin issues. I have combination skin, that usually leans more towards the oiler side with some occasional dry patches near or around my mouth and chin. I am 26 years old, and although I no longer suffer from an insane about of angry red pimples, I did suffer with blackheads into my 20's. It was always been a constant struggle trying to find face products to help with the blackheads that didn't dry me out too much or make the problem worse. Nothing I tried seemed to work, whether it be expensive high end products, drugstore products, or natural products or remedies. Now that I am getting into my mid 20's I wanted to start taking better care of my skin and begin using anti aging products to fight wrinkles and discoloration from acne scars. I knew retinol was the way to go, but wasn't sure how my skin would react, considering my skin didn't seem to like ANY of the products i had used in the past. They either left me overly dry, Scaly and tight, OR extremely oily!! So I figured why not try retinol? What do I have to loose?

Rather than buy an expensive cream from sephora, I went with neutrogena because I am on a budget. I do not regret it at all! This night cream is the best thing that has ever happened to me! Not only has my entire complexion improved, but my blackheads and pore congestion has reduced significantly! Nothing has ever worked in the past. Not benzoyl peroxide, salicylic acid, or natural remedy. On top of having clearer skin free of blackheads, my skin is so ridiculously smooth! I can't stop touching my face! No more bumps under the skin! I also noticed my skin is soft, supple and the discoloration And acne scars are slowly going away. I couldn't be happier.

Another thing I love about this night cream is that it is very suitable for oily skin. Most night creams are very rich and provide an insane amount of moisture that I don't need. This provides the perfect amount for me. On a day that I feel more dry than usual, I can just apply a little extra or spray my Mario badescu rose water/Aloa spray over this. I notice that after applying this cream, it immediately soaks into the skin. My skin literally drinks this stuff up leaving no oily residue. Most creams I tried In the last left me feeling greasy immediately after applying, and lotions targeted towards acne tended to dry me out completely. This cream however is te perfect balance!! My search for a cream that will not only perfect my skin and help with anti aging, but also control acne/blackheads is OVER!

If you have oily/combination skin and or acne prone skin and you are looking for a great moisturizer... This is it! Try it, you will not be disappointed.

Thank you retinol, and thank you healthy skin night time moisterizer!

Also, I use the neutrogena healthy skin daytime lotion with SPF...(original formula) and that it great to. Highly recommend!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 s0fieee on 10/20/2013 8:06:00 AM more reviews by s0fieee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have only used this for two nights so I'm not sure how it works in long term but I already feel that it has evened out my skin tone. it absorbs quickly and doesn't feel greasy. one good tip my dermatologist suggested to me when I started using differin: if you are new to retinol apply the cream for one hour the first night, two hours the second day etc. and then wash it of your face with just water. that way you won't experience any irritation and your skin will adjust just fine to the retinol :) i did that and never got any sensitivity or any side effects at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aladie on 10/3/2013 12:30:00 PM more reviews by aladie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product. I have been using it for 6 years and I never thought to review it. I think I can call this my fountain of youth because I just turned 33 and people are constantly in disbelief of my age. I get mistaken for being 10 years younger than I am and I recently got carded for an R rated movie! If that's not a testament I don't know what is. I use it once a day, just a pea sized drop over my face at night after cleansing. I have sensitive acne prone skin and this stuff works great for me. And it is also is amazing at healing redness from a recently popped pimple(bad I know). I have had to look a little harder to find this exact product as I have seen a newer packaged and slightly renamed version of this product on the shelves recently. I took off for packaging because if you bend the metal tube when its getting low, the product squeezes out of the sides and I think that compromises the effectiveness of the retinol.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aspiecutie on 8/26/2013 3:10:00 AM more reviews by aspiecutie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

A CLASSIC.
This stuff has been around for ages and still remains the best Neutrogena has to offer, despite their "advanced" range with endless retinol products. THIS is their true powerhouse.

It has a fragrance-free light cream texture that can work well for oily skin. Anyway, you should apply only a pearl-sized amount. Drier skin types should go ahead and use a more moisturizing cream over this, and definitively a rich moisturizer during the daytime. My skin is combination and this works surprising well over a gel based product like the DDF Wrinkle Resist Plus Pore Minimizer Moisturizing Serum. I always wear sunscreen during the daytime.

If you want to try a retinol product this is the place to start. Not that you really need to leave, unless you want to move on to the 'prescription side'. The formula is quite effective. It's true that it causes sensitivity in some people, but isn't that a good thing? It shows that there's enough retinol in there, and it remains stable with time. You need to start slow and apply the minimum. And be careful.. If you apply too much, the adverse effects will be felt after 2-3 days. It will be impossible to go back. Be patient, be slow, and experiment. Once you find your dose, you're on your way to skin that's firmer and visibly healthier.

Contrary to popular belief, this product does not contain less retinol than any of the products in the Ageless Intensives line. In fact, judging from the position of retinol in the formula it contains more than most, and probably more than the best. I do not think that Neutrogena would release a product with a higher concentration of retinol since this is already enough irritating. Who would want more than this? Packaging wise, the metallic tube is superior to pumps or all those plastic tubes that tend to expand and suck air inside.

Overall, the greatest improvement will be noticed in skin tone. For hyperpigmentation you should consider HYDROQUINONE, and for fine lines also 10% L-ASCORBIC ACID. Don't forget to exfoliate - BHAs and AHAs, but be gentle. Daily sunscreen is a must.

40ml tube, about 14.50 USD. 17.50 CAD at Walmart. For retinol you don't really need to spend more, and chances are it won't even be as effective. RoC, SkinCeuticals, Murad.. So many options out there but I am not willing to replace this. A complete skincare regimen includes many different products. Not to mention applying the recommended amount and repurchasing regularly. Johnson&Johnson have certainly done their homework, and know how to compete in the market with a product that is cost effective.

You do not need to be above a certain age to start using this product. Retinol is actually the name of the entire vitamin A molecule. A small amount converts into Retinoic Acid and increases cell turnover. But as it is, it provides additional benefits and is also a powerful antioxidant. It would be excellent to start using in the early 20s to prevent future signs of aging.

It might not be as fast and effective on wrinkles as a RETINOID, but it is less irritating and has its own additional benefits. Moreover, it has very similar outcomes in the long run. In a way, it's like a lower than prescription strength retionoid that does additional things and can be used safely around the eyes. Moreover, retinol can also be applied during daytime because it remains stable even with exposure to daylight, especially under a sunscreen, and even more so when accompanied by other antioxidants. Let's not forget that the texture of this cream is much better and contains a large amount of green tea. The formula of a retinoid in comparison is basic, coarse, and stripped down.

Now it's up to you to choose one.

-------------------
By the way, prescription Retin-A is produced by Janssen, a large pharmaceutcal company owned by Johnson&Johnson which also happens to own Neutrogena.

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jehill6612 on 8/26/2013 12:36:00 AM more reviews by jehill6612

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE LOVE LOVE this stuff! It has worked wonders for my face. It has made my skin tone more even and has worked amazing for my blackheads!! As it contains retinol, it will make your face a little flaky but that is normal. The flakiness subsides but it is definately worth. My akin has never looked as good as it does now. I will definately be repurchasing this!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Moisturizers products