Neutrogena • Healthy Skin Anti-Wrinkle Cream (Night) • Moisturizers

rated 4.2(94 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Doodleses on 12/5/2014 2:20:00 AM more reviews by Doodleses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Acne-scarred sisters and brothers, rejoice! A pea-sized amount every night after a shower does the trick!

I don't know when--definitely a few months back, but I discovered retinoids/retinols as a possible cure to help lighten acne scars and smooth out uneven skin texture and skintone. Skinacea, maybe? Dark spots and scars have been a problem for me for two years now--the flare-ups are gone but the damage had been done. So off I went to Paula's Choice to look up products with the best ratings under the Retinol category -- and this night cream came up as one of the best for the price.

For the things I've done to lighten the scars: lemon juice, Sudocrem (which I still use for the occasional pesky zit), PMD, glycolic acid masques... this cream did more in a week alone than sticking to a regime with the above. If I could quantify it, I'd say my scars lightened up by 70%? They were still there--faded, but not glaringly obvious. I also use this cream in conjunction with the advanced toner moisturizer (also in the Paula's Choice Best Retinols list) in the morning since your skin becomes sensitive as its peeling due to the retinol.

It will sting on first application, and your skin might peel and redden over the next few days. Once you start using it nightly for a while, the cream just melts onto your face when you work it in! I'm almost at the end of my second tube and it doesn't burn anymore (I also started using an AHA serum exfoliant from Alpha Hydroxat night before the night cream) and I'm seeing less results. Probably because my skin has adapted to the ingredients, and are now less effective.

Yes, a pea-size is all you need. It spreads thinly, but I think after using a bit more cream at night made it work less? The results weren't as drastic, I mean.

I'll definitely be looking into products with higher concentrations of retinol now, now that my skin can't get better without it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 star4emily on 11/11/2014 5:54:00 PM more reviews by star4emily

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

After seeing all the great reviews on many different sites I decided to give this a try, worst decision ever for me. After applying for one night only I broke out in a eczema type rash all over my face and my neck along my jawline. I do believe it was my skin that just didnt like this and I have learned my lesson and will spot test new products from now on. Just be cautious if you have sensetive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bteaster5 on 10/22/2014 6:47:00 PM more reviews by bteaster5

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

BEST for your buck! The metal tube supposedly keeps the retinol stable. I've had bad reactions to retinol products in the past but this one is just right. Not to harsh but still effective. Great night cream and very moisturizing. Will use long term.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* crystal105 on 10/10/2014 8:10:00 PM more reviews by crystal105

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

My skin is a giant pain in the butt: super dry in spots, super oily in spots, hyperpigmentation, congestion, sensitive...it pretty much blows. My main goal with this was to prevent wrinkles, but it will be years before I know how well it worked for that (I'm 26). However, I have been using this for 5 months now and do notice a difference in my skin. It's not a miracle (my skin still kind of blows) but overall, it's better. This cream is moisturizing without being oily. It absorbs well and spreads easily. I use it on my whole face (including around my eyes) and have had no issues with dryness or redness. I put this on every night and have had no irritation. After 5 months of nightly use, I'm still on my first tube. I would highly recommend this. I think it will be good for the long term, but honestly I have skipped a couple of nights, and I can tell the next day. Fantastic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jewels04 on 9/20/2014 5:33:00 AM more reviews by Jewels04

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is an excellent product for the price, surely must be the best anti aging and anti acne night cream that you can buy for under $20 NZ at a supermarket. I have been using it most recently for 3 weeks I cleanse my face with cetaphil and use a pea sized amount each night. My skin is definitely softer and looks clearer. It has reduced some little bumps and blackheads also. I will be continuing to use it. I used this product 6-7 years ago after reading a book by Paula Begoun. I can't really think why I ever stopped using this other than when I was pregnant I felt I should only use completely natural products. I only use this one retinol product I do not use the day version. I always wear SPF during the day anyway but it is most important to when using this cream as the retinol will make your skin more sensitive to the sun. I will definitely be repurchasing. So glad it is still available, tube will last a while, starting to really need this stuff now. It was $18NZ on special at Countdown.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ckb on 9/16/2014 10:21:00 PM more reviews by ckb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I just purchased my second tube of this cream. I have used it for about 6 months and I love this product. Sometimes retinol products can sting or irritate my skin -- this one doesn't. Sometimes retinol products leave my skin flakey -- this one doesn't. I apply it at night time, after cleansing, and I usually mix it with PC Vitamin C serum. The result is bright, smooth skin in the morning. I don't see any major wrinkle reduction, but I feel like this smoothes my skin and works perfectly with my skin. My only complaint is that I can't find it in stores anywhere. I purchase it on amazon and it's less than $12.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mauraezg on 9/3/2014 3:51:00 PM more reviews by mauraezg

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely LOVE this product. I'm almost done with my first tube and I started to notice results within 2 weeks of using it. It's the perfect night cream for my skin (pretty oily) because it's creamy and moisturizing, but my skin absorbs it and it doesnt weigh heavily on my face while I sleep. I noticed a general improvement in my skin tone after a few days: a lot of unevenness and redness was gone, and my parenthesis were a little less deep. Awesome!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DeeDee60 on 6/1/2014 4:20:00 PM more reviews by DeeDee60

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I really love this cream. It feels great on my face. Nice and smooth and disappears right into my skin. But what I really love is the packaging. Not a lot of money spent on fancy jars. Just a tube where you can squeeze as much as you want and the rest stays sealed and uncontaminated. Why don't more moisturizers come in a tube like this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hanknelmer on 2/18/2014 8:58:00 PM more reviews by hanknelmer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This stuff is amazing. I've used it off and on for about 10 years it must be by now... definitely reduces acne, improves complexion. I wish it was cheaper, but it's a bargain compared to other products. Highly recommend. Maybe start using every other night at first to see how your skin does. I have used it twice a day before also.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CODYKERI on 2/16/2014 3:43:00 PM more reviews by CODYKERI

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This made me break out, with large cystic type acne and made my skin horribly dry and irritated. Will not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Moisturizers products