Neutrogena Healthy Skin Anti-Wrinkle Cream (Night)

4.2

104 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, C12 15 Alkyl Benzoate, Glycerin, Cetyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ethylhexyl Hydroxystearate, Dimethicone, Camellia Oleifera Extract, Retinol, Panthenol, Disodium EDTA, Tocopherol, Cetearyl Glucoside, Tocopheryl Acetate, Polysorbate 20, Triethanolamine, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylene Glycol, Diazolidinyl Urea, BHT, Carbomer.


on 7/19/2015 9:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this product for a little under one week. I have clear skin, and small pores my real issue is uneven skin tone. I always wanted to be like those girls that can just walk out with no make up. I hate having to use full coverage foundation all the time. With in two days my skin tone was COMPLETLY even I can actually get away with tinted moisturizer. I use a pea size every night after I wash my makeup off and use toner. I usually just use coconut oil or Nivea cream at night. I'm in my mid- thirties and read I should start using moisturizers with retinol now even if I do not have wrinkles as prevention, and that is the main reason why I purchased this. I have had no issues with reactions to the retinol. I will continue to use.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 7/16/2015 2:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Ok this stuff is amazing. A little about my skin- I'm a smoker, and for years I've had "smokers acne". I don't get pimples per se, but Ive always had tons of whiteheads, bumps, congested pores, discolouration... Since puberty, my skin has always just looked and felt gross. Last year, I went on prescription retinol and although it worked well for getting rid of whiteheads and bumps, it dried the crap out of my skin so I went off. Benzoyl peroxide dried me out too, and salicylic acid just breaks me out. So last month I started looking into over the counter retinol creams since they have a lower concentration of retinol. The neutrogena night cream keept popping up as one of the most highly rated, so I grabbed some. I've been using it for a month now and I'm obsessed. My skin felt much smoother within the first week. I have way fewer whiteheads and less congestion now. I feel so confident I even bought a bb cream instead of my usual max coverage foundation. Although it dries me out a bit, if I rub some grapeseed oil onto my face before I apply and it really keeps the dryness down. As for wrinkes, I only notice a change in my forehead- my scowl lines are really shrinking :D

TL;DR
Smoothes bumps
Reduces whiteheads
Decongests pores
Some wrinke reduction
A little drying, but easily fixed with better moisturizer.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2015 11:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Other

My new HG night cream. I have very oily, very acne prone, very sensitive skin with large pores and some discoloration. I read that this was a top pick from Paula's Choice and this supposedly has amazing ingredients in it, and has amazing reviews so I decided to give this a try. OMG, this stuff is amazing. My skin has reacted badly to other products with retinol in it, but this has produced NO irritation whatsoever (not even around my eyes!). This is perfect for oily skin; it is just the right amount of moisture and doesn't leave my face greasy/shiny. I was looking at my skin in the mirror today and have been so impressed; my skin tone is more even, my pores are smaller, and my complexion just is overall brighter. I also really love the tube packaging. I am really impressed with this stuff and I will continue to buy it again and again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/25/2015 3:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have only used this product 2 nights and i can see results already. I have terrible sensitive, oily, acne prone skin with alot of active acne and dark spots. I am very cautious about what i put on my skin as i will break out terribly. I decided to add this to my regime because i needed to use a night cream and i like that it has retinol. It really works! When i wake up in the morning, my skin is less inflammed, the scars look lighter and my skin looks healthier overall. I am 26yrs old so i can't comment on wrinkles and fine lines as yet but it is definitely helping clear up my adult acne.

Here's my night routine: cleans face with gentle cleanser, use a alcohol free toner, apply neutrogena anti-wrinkle. I use it every other night for now just to see how my face tolerates it but i will slowly start to use it everyday. One again another great neutrogena product.


on 4/26/2015 10:25:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I am really glad I found this product. I have been on a hunt for a new retinol product ever since my favorite Roc serum (blue bottle) was discontinued. It never fails, so far, every single product that has become my favorite eventually gets discontinued or the formula changes. Very very frustrating, especially because my skin is so picky and it takes forever for me to find a product that my skin tolerates, much less likes. My skin even doesn't like Hyaluronic acid for some reason, it makes me break out even though it's water-based but they put that in a ton of retinol products. This is one of the few where HA was not added. I bought this at Walmart for around $12, which is the cheapest I have ever spent on a retinol product and the best part is this works! I was previously using a retinol product by Exuviance which costs around $70-80 and I wasn't crazy about it. I finished the tube but I did get some slight breakouts with it. With this product from Neutrogena, my skin loved it right away. I have only been using this for a little less than 2 weeks but I know my skin loves it. They say you should wait at least a month or so before you can determine whether your skin adjusts to a product but that's never been the case for me. Either my skin loves something or it doesn't, I've never had a situation where my skin gets worse before better.
Anyways, as soon as I started using this product, my skin started getting soooo smooth. I have to be so careful with my skin or else it breaks out and this has really cleared up the little pesky blemishes that would not disappear with Exuviance. I'm pretty amazed at the clarity of my skin, I think this is even helping with the dark spots I had from previous acne. I was a little scared to try this at first because it is called a cream but it is not greasy at all, it leaves your skin matte and I actually mix a few drops of jojoba oil to add a little more moisture. For me, that works because I'd rather be able to adjust it to suit me than start off with a greasy product that I can't change.
As far as for wrinkles, it is too early to tell if it would prevent/help with wrinkles but I also don't have too many issues in that area because I have taken care of my skin and used retinol products for a while. I'm 34 so I am still fairly young to have major wrinkle issues but I am confident this will help prevent that in the long run since it seems so effective in clearing my skin, which means it's working. I love this product and will continue buying it. Please don't ever change the formula or discontinue!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 4/5/2015 8:51:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I was living in a land of denial that my skin was finally starting to age/wrinkle. I'm only 38, but I'm starting to get the little crows feet and decided to start with preventative measures first. After reading through various reviews both here at the 'Don't Go to the Makeup Counter Without Me' book, I decided to buy it.

First, I was a bit shocked at how small the tube is for the price. I followed other readers instructions to put this on at night every other day for a while until my skin gets used to it. I have eczema prone skin, and it stings a bit, but it goes away.

I will say this - I can tell a difference. The biggest telltale sign is how I look without makeup on. A bigger difference is how much foundation I use now - not much at all!

I still use this about every other night instead of nightly for now.

The biggest tell tale sign came when our family took a long weekend vacation and I chose to just bring my daily moisturiser along. At the end of the trip my skin was rough and my eczema patches has returned. Two evenings of using this cleared it up again. Would differently buy again!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2015 6:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

this is the very first retinol product I ever purchased and I like it. It irritated my skin only slightly in the beginning, which seems to be perfectly normal for retinol creams. It leaves me skin soft and plump. I cannot really tell if it reduces wrinkles because I donīt have any yet and am only using it for prevention. Overall, I will keep using it for a while.


on 1/29/2015 11:59:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I used to use this years ago but then they jacked up the price. Decided to get it again and yep it is still as great today as back in the day. Pricey for a drugstore skin cream but it does work wonders.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/29/2015 10:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

HOLY LIVING SHlT! THE SKEPTIC IN ME ALMOST DIED! Will continue to use, will continue to buy.

Brief history of my skin before. I have combination skin with an extremely oily T-zone that miraculously is also extremely dry and flaky. I had black heads everywhere that despite using AHA's, and my trusty comadone extractor, they just kept on coming back in force. I've been cleaning my skin products out of anything harsh, with dyes, perfumes, parabens, alcohols ect. ect. ect. ... I'm not a hippy, but something had to be done. My skin was driving me crazy. All that, and I was also starting to get fine lines under my eyes IN MY 20's! WTF? I rub my eyes all the time I guess :/ I eat healthy food, drink lots of water, I run, I work out, I have a good skin routine. I had reached a plateau in skin quality it had seemed.

So I looked into getting a product for bad acne, blackheads, oily skin, and flaking. Low and behold, I find Retinol. Retinol helps with all of these problems, including fine lines. Lucky me. You can get Retinol in prescription products, but they're expensive and you have to go see a doc, and other brands use jar packing which allow the active ingredients to break down (waste of money).

So I found out that this product has Retinol in it, in fairly high concentrations, for like... $24. Cheaper than my Olay Regenerist that I had been using for my dry skin, and concidering that other anti aging products with Retinol can push you between $60-140, I'll say it's a good deal.

All I have to say is... holy crap ladies. Holy crap. My skin is awesome. It's been a weak. I'm not wearing foundation half the time, I don't need it. I've found that my black heads have significantly decreased, and those in my worst zones are extremely superficial and were so easy to get out. I would suggest that you read up on Retinol to see what it does. Because it's awesome, old person skin or not. I'm so happy! I've had ONE zit! ONE!

Though I will advise, Retinol can be hard on people's skin. You have to SLOWLY introduce it to your skin. For the first few days I was mixing it in with my normal gentle moisturizers, and patting skin friendly oil over top so I wouldn't dry out. I still mix it in for the day into my moisturizers and sunscreen, but at night, I put it right over top of my serums.

It absorbs fast and isn't greasy. But that can be bad if you have dry skin. It WILL dry you out, and if you let that happen, you will get red, itchy, flaking skin. Prevent this with either a good moisturizer, or skin oil. Surprisingly cold pressed EVOO works fine for this. Slowly introduce it to your skin by mixing small amounts into your normal sensitive skin moisturizer, gently increasing the mix as your skin can tolerate.

Final product I've seen. Clear happy skin, almost no blackheads, no more break outs, the fine lines under my eyes are almost gone.

I would definitely recommend this product to people who have any of the concerns I mentioned above. It works. I haven't seen fast results like this like... ever. Read my other reviews, I'm not usually anywhere this kind with products, even if I like them. This is truly a first.

Overall 5/5
Price 5/5 (considering it's an anti-aging product with active retinol)
Packaging 5/5 (light proof, air tight tube to protect active ingredients)
Will buy again.

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.


on 1/17/2015 10:12:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I am on my third tube of this. I use a different brand of moisturizer in the morning (the day lotion like this made me break out.) I tend to break out pretty easily, but having a night routine of double washing and using my clarisonic, then finish up with this, my skin is actually looking very clear. I really don't know about the "anti-wrinkle" properties, I am just getting to the age where wrinkles are starting to show up, but like others I have read that this is one of the best drugstore retinol moisturizers and it is working well for me so far!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top