Spectro • Spectro Jel Cleanser for Blemish-Prone Skin (Fragrance Free) • Cleansers

rated 4.1(136 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 scriibblez on 12/15/2014 3:42:00 AM more reviews by scriibblez

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for years. It's a much better alternative to that other liquidy "good for acne" cleanser out there. Spectro must be getting much more popular these days. The price has jumped up a bit since I started using it, and they've rebranded the bottles and the logos as well. Still the same good old product, although I will say I miss the smaller squeeze bottle that they've replaced with the mini pump bottle. I use this when I feel that my skin is getting irritated after my cleansing oil, or alone in the morning.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sweetcherry3 on 12/2/2014 6:58:00 PM more reviews by Sweetcherry3

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Amazing product, but it takes getting used to. This has been a staple in my house for over a decade and it works beautifully for certain uses. It doesn't dry my skin out, limits breakouts and reduces redness. I use it only in the morning, though, as it isn't effective at removing makeup.
It seems to work best for me if I follow the instructions and gently rub it for 30 seconds. If you're used to squeaky-clean cleansers, this might feel odd at first. It's a sort of creamy gel that doesn't lather and doesn't leave a squeaky finish. It feels different, but it really works for my sensitive, combo, very breakout-prone skin.
It's also one of the only things my baby's skin can tolerate. The typical J&J and Aveeno baby washes irritate him and many so-called gentle and natural baby products give him a rash. It's the only one I've found that doesn't dry out his skin or cause any irritation.
If only it removed makeup, it would be perfect!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 atomickittenlove on 11/11/2014 9:02:00 PM more reviews by atomickittenlove

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I used to use this waaaay back in the day to clean my piercings - the price has gone up... A LOT. you used to be able to get a huge bottle for around $6!

Anywho, I only used this a few times before I called it quits. I repurchases it after all these years after reading all the positive reviews here. Im trying to get my acne under control and have been on epiduo for three months. I did have a breakout after using this product but i can't say it was directly caused by this as I switched up a few things in my routine. However, I won't ever give this another shot because the smell really bothered me!! It smelled like pure alcohol, which freaked me out considering my skin issues. I can't say if it removes makeup since I only used it in the morning. I think there are much better options out there for the (new) price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annex1 on 9/17/2014 4:06:00 PM more reviews by annex1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best face cleanser I have ever tried! It is perfect for sensitive, oily, combination and/or acne-prone skin. When I use this, it doesn't make my face red nor does it strip the moisture from my skin. It removes all dirt, oil and impurities so well and gently. However, I don't wear makeup so I don't know how well it removes makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 snowprinc3ss on 9/6/2014 2:53:00 PM more reviews by snowprinc3ss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

It does not clean off makeup and I dont care how gentle it is, if it doesnt do what it is made for then it is not a good cleanser. There are definitely better cleansers out there that clean without stripping off moisture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nekkun on 7/9/2014 1:35:00 AM more reviews by nekkun

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this because it was no frills, no fuss. All the ingredients seem to be non-irritating, so it should've been perfect, right? Wrong. My face felt "tight" after washing which is a sign of a compromised moisture barrier! I also felt like this cleanser contributed to tiny little red spots on my face. I didn't want to have a full-on breakout so I stopped and returned to Pond's cold cream. I still have 95% of this stuff left and I don't know what to do with it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 darthvaderette on 7/8/2014 6:42:00 PM more reviews by darthvaderette

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is absolutely an HG product for me and as long as they keep making this, I will keep on buying it.

I have acne-prone skin that only worsened when I hit my mid twenties. I would wake up routinely to new cysts on my chin and jawline and no product under the sun seemed to be working. I tried expensive cleansers, cheap cleansers, oil cleansing, not cleansing. My bathroom cabinet was full of various spot treatments, many of them barely used, lonely and collecting dust. I tried keeping my hair off my face, washing my pillows, praying to every known and unknown deity. Nada.

Finally, when I was about to resign myself to my fate of horrible adult acne, my dear friend recommended Spectro Jel. A bit hesitant at first that something seemingly so simple could be so effective, I bought a small bottle at SDM and though at first my expectations were very, very low, I was pleasantly surprised by my results. Within 2 weeks of morning and evening use, my skin was slowly beginning to clear up. The breakouts slowed and eventually stopped (barring the odd pimple here and there when Aunt Flo shows up), leaving me with beautiful and clean (but not stripped, which I have learned is very important!) skin.

This stuff works. The packaging not fancy or pretty. In fact it's pretty basic and utilitarian looking. But it's no-nonsense and the large pump bottle is very economical. Don't expect this to remove your make-up, because it won't. You will need to invest in a good make-up remover to do all the pre-work. I personally use Jojoba oil before the Spectro Jel and this regimen has served me well. The product itself is a non-foaming gel - slightly slimy and has a weird smell, but it feels so smooth and refreshing once you massage it into your skin. The instructions state that you can use this on dry or damp skin and I prefer to use it with damp skin as I find it glides easier, but others may feel differently. Also, I can't stress this enough, but follow the directions that tell you to massage the product for a full 30 seconds - it really does make a difference in lifting the dirt and grime from your face and leaving your skin clean. And it is just the right kind of clean - the skin feels fresh and dewy and yet not tight, or stripped. I have found that I need less moisturizer since this maintains my skin's natural moisture.

Overall, this is a great product, it has served me and my skin well and I can't recommend it enough to those suffering from similar issues. I have really found that simplifying my cleansing routine by using this simple product has massively improved my skin and ultimately the quality of my life.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bbbrittany on 5/30/2014 2:35:00 AM more reviews by bbbrittany

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is the ONLY cleanser that doesn't leave my face feeling tight and parched, as most anti acne cleansers are wont to do. It also effectively cleans my skin, so I'm not oily or shiny.
You see, I have the ULTIMATE in combination skin (eczema patches and acne prone in my t-zone) and after about ten years of trying various cleansers that claim to be gentle and non-irritating, I have found my HG cleanser. One that actually feels soothing on my eczema.

My favorite part is the texture; it's like moisturizer. It helps to glide your hands over any acne or irritated skin, lessening any further irritation. It's also fragrance free (really! unlike some other brands that make similar, but false, claims--I'm looking at you Clinique!). It also contains absolutely no foaming ingredients, which feels really weird the first few times, but your skin will thank you for it!

It also works really well with the clarisonic. It provides a nice slippery surface for the brush to get to work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SofiaGroter on 5/7/2014 11:11:00 PM more reviews by SofiaGroter

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

The amount of face wash you get for the price is pretty good, and it has a really convenient pump, so three stars for packaging and price. The product itself is what I had a problem with. My doctor told me to start using spectro a couple weeks ago spectro so I found this in my cabinet. I washed my face with it and I swear the next morning my face was red as a tomato and incredibly dry and flaky, it almost felt like a sunburn. I for some reason thought it was my moisturizer or the fact that it was old. So I went to the store and picked up the combination one, my skin went back to normal and cleared up a little. It's been three weeks and I just got a new bottle of this and instantly the exact same thing. My skin isn't even sensitive and the worst part is it hasn't helped clear up my skin at all. I'd give the product no stars if I could. I would never EVER suggest this to anyone unless they had incredibly oily skin, and even then I doubt it'll really do much good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Angelseleena on 4/27/2014 11:37:00 PM more reviews by Angelseleena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I use to use the Effaclar moose cleanser by La Roche Posay & you'd think that at 30 something dollars a pop it would work wonders... But for me it didn't. The formulation was way too harsh on my skin and though it effectively cleansed my face of makeup, my face felt tight and moisture was completely stripped. I'm not saying it's a horrible cleanser, but for sensitive dry skin it didn't work. So I switched to Spectro Jel. And honestly, I used this years ago and still it remains my favourite. It leaves my skin clean AND soft. I have no issues taking off my makeup. The Jel isn't harsh at all and there's no added frangrance(which can cause breakouts). My skin is clear, soft and subtle. I love this stuff! I use it every morning with Aveeno Positively Radian daily moisturizer with SPF 15 & at night with Aveeno Positively Radiant Night Cream & my skin has never felt or looked better. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Spectro products

More Cleansers products