Neutrogena • T/Gel • Hair Treatments

rated 3.8(79 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 sindoodoo on 9/13/2014 9:51:00 PM more reviews by sindoodoo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Great for controlling dandruff and regulating oil production in the scalp. It was recommended to me by a dermatologist. The shampoo itself is weirdly sticky (more like a gel), and it definitely dries out the hair -- make sure to condition very carefully after!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sophie_au on 2/11/2014 9:33:00 AM more reviews by sophie_au

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the T/Gel Therapeutic Shampoo Therapeutic Formula with the brown cap, the only one readily available for sale in Australia AFAIK. I used this product to treat psoriasis of the scalp, (which it does) rather than dandruff.

I bought this shampoo when I ran out of my Ego Sebitar Scalp Cleansing Treatment which is only available from pharmacies. As I desperately needed to treat a psoriasis flare-up I bought this from a local supermarket in a hurry.

I'd used it once before, years ago, and forgot why I didn't repurchase, but now I remember.

The packaging and price are fine, the fragrance is fine and fairly neutral, as far as tar-based shampoos are concerned.

BUT it's just too drying for my hair and it feels so stripped immediately after use, that I have to pile on my conditioner. Once my hair is air dry it's only slightly drier than normal, but there are better shampoos out there, even specific psoriasis-treating ones, so why bother?

The packaging, price and availability are fine, but there are superior formulas for both treating dandruff (pyrithione zinc) and psoriasis (pine tar) and cleaning hair, not to mention cheaper.

So unless you have normal-to-oily hair and specifically need a coal tar shampoo, skip this one, (or at least try another variant of this shampoo by Neutrogena.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* applecour on 1/31/2014 10:23:00 AM more reviews by applecour

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I really tried to give this shampoo a decent shot. Being that the bottle is almost empty, I felt like now would be a good time to review it.

My husband and I both have pretty severe dandruff. If you hold our hair straight up and look through closer the she scalp, you can see how scaly and flaky it is. My husband's is just severe dryness while mine is accompanied by severe itch in certain areas. I bought this based on a recommendation from a family member who has psoriasis on the scalp and it really helped him.

We have been using as directed, leaving the shampoo sit on the scalp for many minutes before rinsing, etc. Over all it just hasn't really been working for me. I have not noticed any differences from regular shampoo with this other than the fact that my hair smells like a burnt cigar, even with conditioner.

I wouldn't repurchase. I thought I should have bought the maximum strength, but got this because the bottle was larger and my husband and I were both going to be using it.

I'll try the max strength next, and then I'm going to the doctor's to see if something prescription grade can help us.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 12jenabee on 10/30/2013 5:49:00 PM more reviews by 12jenabee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Disgusting smell. Smells like dog shampoo. I can't get the smell out of my hair after washing it with a different shampoo and putting hair products on it. Nothing masks the stench of it. It also dries your hair out. I don't recommend it try something else. I had to leave work early to go home and re-wash my hair this stuff smells so bad!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LilacShine9 on 10/28/2013 3:32:00 PM more reviews by LilacShine9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This Neutrogena T-Gel Therapeutic Shampoo, Original Formula is great to use a few times a week to get rid of build-up without stripping and help with dandruff. My hair and scalp seem to like it pretty well. It has minimal ingredients. It smells kind of gross, but it's effective, so I don't mind it. http://www.drugstore.com/neutrogena-t-gel-therapeutic-shampoo-original-formula/qxp262220?catid=183494

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marnif on 9/10/2013 1:10:00 AM more reviews by marnif

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My husband uses this shampoo a couple times a week for his seborrheic dermatitis and it helps a lot.
That's not why I feel compelled to review it...
I tried it myself yesterday in desperation because my scalp had been itchy for a few days. I do not have problem scalp as a rule: no dandruff, no oiliness, no flaking.
I lathered and let the foam stay on my head for a few minutes. My hair was pretty darn tangled and stripped feeling once I rinsed it out. I conditioned as usual, rinsed, and combed out my hair--my usual routine.
Wow. My scalp felt much better. Little sore spots and clogged-feeling follicles were healed. My hair was very full and smooth. I got several compliments today on how my hair looked, including the color (I have high and lowlights). I plan to use it regularly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KateGuil on 9/8/2013 5:19:00 PM more reviews by KateGuil

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Hubby uses this and likes it! effective.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rubylola on 9/1/2013 4:26:00 AM more reviews by rubylola

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have seborrheic dermatitis which is not severe but occasionally flares up on my scalp above my ears. So it looks like dandruff but comes off in larger flakes in patches. My dermatologist previously prescribed a coal tar treatment which is expensive and stinks and to be honest, this shampoo works just as well. The formula has been improved so it does not smell half as bad as it used to. I apply it quite liberally and get a really good lather which I leave on for a few minutes. It says to repeat if necessary but I don't. I follow this with my usual conditioner. My hair does not smell like dandruff shampoo afterwards and is easy to comb. It treats my dermatitis well. When a flare up occurs I use this shampoo about 4 times a week until cleared up. I like that I can see how much product is in the bottle. The only problem I have is that it is sometimes hard to find in stock. It is more expensive than the regular dandruff shampoos but they have not worked for my SD. If anyone reading this does have SD, the best thing I have found to clear it up, apart from topical treatments is to reduce the amount of yeast in my diet. I still have occasional flares but nothing like I used to have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lr1336 on 7/7/2013 9:32:00 PM more reviews by Lr1336

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I went through two bottles of this shampoo because there isn't as much product in one bottle as I'd like there to be-and I did not see much improvement to my dandruff problem. I kept it on for a few minutes before washing it off because I thought it would be more effective that way, but it wasn't. The tar smell wasn't that bad-it went away after I washed my hair. I won't be buying this again because it's kind of expensive and there isn't much product in one bottle like I said before.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hokstr88 on 3/24/2013 5:06:00 AM more reviews by hokstr88

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Ever since I was a baby, (as a small child I had cradle cap), I have always had bad dandruff, and when I was about 10 my dermatologist told me to buy this. So, I did, and it worked. after about two bottles over a span of 2 months or so, my dandruff was no longer out of controll. Lately, (I turn 14 this year), the dandruff has come back, but even worse.I don't even know if you can call it dandruff. It is mostly larger chunks, and I have small lumps/bumps/bites/WHATEVER all along the front edge of my hairline. (Near the top of my forehead). I told my mum to buy another bottle, and tried it out once more. It is working pretty well so far after about 2 weeks of restarting the treatment. One tip, if you're finding that it isn't mworking for you, is to LEAVE IT IN AS LONG AS POSSIBLE. The longer, the more effective. I personally love this product, and I use it every day along with small amounts of basic conditioners.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Hair Treatments products