Alima • Satin Matte Blush in Mimosa • Blush

rated 4.4(25 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 2/26/2014 12:17:00 PM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

In the jar, Mimosa looks like a matte peachy pink although more on the peach side. When applied it doesn't show up orangey like some peach blushes can, but is quite a strong peach color against my pale skin (NC15).

You have to have a very light hand with this as it is extremely pigmented. The powder is creamy and not gritty at all, and you only need a tiny amount on your brush. I am still struggling with the correct amount to apply to look natural as you need to apply this with a light hand!

I like this blush but I am not sure whether I would consider this a HG. I did find that using a peach blush rather than a pink blush makes my eyes look bluer, so I will definitely keep this blush on hand until it is used up. I just wouldn't be too concerned if it were to be discontinued and so wouldn't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* secondadonna on 1/23/2014 2:30:00 PM more reviews by secondadonna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this blush!! It's the perfect everyday, goes with any look flush. A little pink, a little peach; neither too warm nor too cool. I always thought I needed very cool pinks only, but this livens up my face far better, even though the cooler pinks are cute for particular looks. I reach for this almost literally every day, even though I have many blushes that I love. This is killing them all. For one thing, it's very versatily; I can apply lightly and use contour if I want a more pale/dramatic look, or apply more fully on the apples if I want a cheery flushed look. The "satin matte" formula is a perfect balance, not shimmery or shiny, but not dull.

Like many mineral blushes, it's quite pigmented, so if you only want a very subtle hint you might want to use a skunk type brush. I usually like my cheeks to pop, so I use a slightly angled blush/contour brush with it. However, even for that look I use hardly any product. Even with daily use, I think this container will last a very long time. That makes up for the fact that mineral powder containers don't travel very well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* trickmaus on 10/30/2013 1:48:00 AM more reviews by trickmaus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a PPP with neutral undertones.

This blush is my favourite blush that I've used thus far. It's a soft, peachy colour that isn't too orange, and makes my super pale skin just GLOW. The instant I put it on, it's like my face comes alive, and I look healthy and just...pretty. Though Nars Orgasm is basically everyone's favourite blush in the world, I actually prefer this one. I would go so far as to call this blush my HG.

My only complaints about this blush are the price (Alima is a rather expensive mineral makeup brand these days), and the fact that you have to be very careful when applying this, because the packaging makes it very easy to pick up too much powder on your brush. Applied with a delicate hand, this blush is perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cocorawr on 7/11/2013 11:59:00 PM more reviews by cocorawr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in a sample size, and I love it! I don't like too-pink blushes, as warmer tones look better on me and simply more natural, so this is perfect! A little goes a long way, so their sample has lasted me quite a while! Don't know if I'd get the full size as the samples are just too awesome!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FeralCreature on 4/1/2013 7:29:00 AM more reviews by FeralCreature

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I recently got to try out a sample of Alima's Mimosa blush and the first thing that comes to mind is: This is the peach blush I have been looking for my whole life!

Seriously, I have always wanted to be able to use a peach or coral or otherwise not pink blush and maybe try out that "peaches-and-cream" look I've heard so much about but have always found peachy colored blushes to be too orange, too red or too bronzey. This one is exactly right.

Mimosa is a very (VERY) pale apricot-like color with just enough to pink in it to prevent it looking orange. If you have darker skin, it probably wouldn't show up much or at all and if you want a bold look you'll need to layer *a lot.* If, on the other hand, you are pale like me and your face gets overwhelmed easily by too much blush, this may just work for you.

I like this best as a sheer wash over cheeks and a bit on the eyes for a natural, but more awake looking, face. It balances my too-pink (or plum?) cheeks and it also blends well with other shades; like to warm up a cooler pink or orchid blush or to lighten up a bronzer. Oh, and I also love that it's matte so I don't have to worry about looking like I'm going clubbing in the middle of the day.

Will definitely be purchasing a full size and would recommend to fair-skinned ladies looking for a nice peach blush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Allyxx on 4/10/2012 8:49:00 AM more reviews by Allyxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

On the colour: Its a very pretty baby pinky/peach that is not too warm nor too light. It is PERFECT! Normally warmer blushes tend to almost show up orangey on me because I have very strong golden undertones so if the blush is already warm, my complexion will add even more warmth! But this gives me a very beautifull kiss of colour to the cheeks that makes me look healthy/vibrant/awake. It is matte so its great for those who want to conceal their pores or blemishes a little.

With application for my skintone NC25-NC30, I need to use the MAC 109 brush, this allows for a heavier application which is perfect because this blush is designed for someone with a lighter skintone but still works perfectly given you use the right tools. It may also seem quite chalky and not very pigmented initially but after it warms up and "melds" into the skin, it provides a lovely hue.

Price wise: This is a fairly expensive blush for a "smaller, less internationaly recognised" brand. It costs just as much as BE and MAC. Also the prices of their products constantly go up so I'd predict if I were to buy another one of these next year it will probably cost more.

Overall the product does what it should- performs as a matte baby pink/peach blush. Do I think you shuld run out and buy this? Yes definately get a sample but hurry because next thing you know, there won't be any more samples for cheek products because like their eyeshadows which are no longer available in sample sizes because people weren't buying "enough" of the full sizes so now they have been phased out and you can only buy full sizes WITHOUT trying the shade first. If you don't like it, then you have the option to return it but you pay postage which is a HUGE hassle.

What happened to this company? They were great to begin with but seems to me the bigger they get, the more they try to scam your money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Rienne on 10/6/2011 5:40:00 AM more reviews by Rienne

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The Alima Satin Matte Blushes are lovely, so to be fair, I'm giving this a 3. It just doesn't work for me, because as a C3 I find it's generally too light and I wouldn't repurchase. I can see how it would work for lighter or darker skin.

On me, a very light application is good - it looks like a subtle and natural, but warm, blush. If I apply it any heavier, the problem is that this starts to look a bit orange and artificial.

For those having trouble with too-heavy application - I have found that
1) The #23 Kitten Brush is fantastic for blushes and bronzers, and
2) Using a small bowl to swirl and tap the brush after touching it to the blush makes it much easier to control the application. Even Mimosa can work if I do this.

I will not purchase the full size as there are better options for me in the Alima Satin Matte Blush line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ebgirl on 9/15/2011 1:32:00 PM more reviews by ebgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a fantastic shade for fair skin!! I have fair skin with dark hair and light brown/hazel eyes and it imparts the most subtle, yet healthy shade to my cheeks. You can build the color if you need more of it, but I love how natural it looks. No shimmer, just a very pretty light blush shade. It looks really light in the container and I wasn't sure if it was going to work for me, but it really is perfect on my skin. I use this on the apple of my cheeks and the Maracaibo bronzer shade in the hollows, and they work perfectly together. I love it and will purchase again. By the way, it's rated only 2 on EWG's cosmetic database, so it's great for whoever is concerned about sensitive skin or toxicity. Also, Alima's customer service is fantastic and they always give you free samples with your order.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 eatmyshort on 6/5/2011 11:21:00 PM more reviews by eatmyshort

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Violet    

I purchased this Mimosa blush based on the reviews here on MUA. Unfortunately, it didn't work out as well for me as it did for the other folks. Here are some pros about this blush:

1. it has a smooth application
2. it doesn't make me break out.
3. a very pretty color as long as it is lightly applied. One of the most natural looking blush that can't be detected as a makeup. It looks just like real skin.



here are some not so cheery things about this blush for me:





1. shipping fee is almost 6 dollars for first class. most of the other mineral companies charge average $3.00 shipping. some like lucy minerals give free shipping no matter how much I purchased. sometimes they charge me only 99 cents to shipping for same first class mail.

2. I don't like alima sifter jar. the sifter tend to pop open and minerals spill all over the place ( especially the sample sizes).


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hjjung on 1/15/2011 5:50:00 PM more reviews by hjjung

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really love alima products, especially the blushes!!!! It looks very natural on the skin, and it stays put for quite a while. Mimosa is a light pink color, and it leaves a natural, healthy pinkish glow on the apples of my cheeks. I got this as a sample, so I will buy the full jar when I run out of the sample.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alima products

More Blush products