China Glaze • Lubu Heels • Polishes

rated 3.9(79 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 torre5 on 10/5/2013 8:18:00 AM more reviews by torre5

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Yes, this polish is very sheer but still beautiful. I put two coats over a black or dark gray base. Also, it becomes much easier to take off when you do that. I also have Ruby Pumps, another gorgeous color!! I get a lot of compliments when I wear both of them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 beachesatnormandy on 8/27/2013 10:49:00 AM more reviews by beachesatnormandy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This polish made me so excited when I first received it. The red glitter in it looked so good in the bottle, but as I put the first coat on and it was almost completely sheer I was starting to get disappointed. It took 3 coats for me to get it completely opaque and as another reviewer stated it was very difficult to get the red to show up anywhere but direct sunlight. It just looked like a poor quality black polish. It was also a pain to get this polish off and it stained my nails. I wanted to like it so bad but it just didn't work for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 HazyFuzztone on 3/25/2013 4:01:00 AM more reviews by HazyFuzztone

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This was my first China Glaze nail polish. It looked great in the bottle, however, when applied it was very streaky. Another disappointment for me is that unless in direct sunlight, it looked like a sloppy black nail polish. It was a bit tricky to work with the polish as well. Love the idea of red glitter in a black polish, but I think China Glaze needs to work on their formula. I'd recommend most China Glaze polishes, but this is one I would steer clear of.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 narkiz on 3/23/2013 6:18:00 AM more reviews by narkiz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

If you already have Ruby Pumps, just apply it 2 coats over a any black nail polish and there you have Lubu Heels. Simple and easy. Save your pennies.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Liliaceae2 on 3/20/2013 10:40:00 PM more reviews by Liliaceae2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I normally HATE glitter nail polishes, but this one is absolutely beautiful!! I think it is really not a color for toes, but it's just perfect for tips, specially against fair skin. As the other reviewers have said, once you apply it, it looks very different from how it does in the bottle: the glitter isn't very visible unless in direct light, mostly it looks like a very glossy nearly black polish. It's not very easy to work with, but I could have gotten away with two coats if I had been more careful or if my nails were shorter. The color is amazing anyway, and I'd surely repurchase and recommend to anyone whole likes dark, vampy nail polishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NightAtTheOpera on 2/9/2013 12:47:00 AM more reviews by NightAtTheOpera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown, Kinky   Eyes: Brown    

This isn't a bad polish but it's just missing that special something. You would think a black jelly with red glitter with be stunning. But I personally found it just fell flat on the nail in most lighting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 12/8/2012 more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

A beautiful red microglitter in a black jelly. In the bottle, it looks much more vivid and red than it looks when applied. Make no mistake, this is a very dark polish, and it's more black than red. The microglitter is subtle, and only visible in certain kinds of light.

First coat is pretty streaky and sketchy, and I need an absolute minimum of two coats for good coverage. If you want absolute and even opacity, you might want to put two coats of this over a basic black.

The tip wear isn't great with this, but I've found that to be the case with a lot of jelly based polishes, unfortunately. I've been experimenting with ways to make the tips a little more resilient, including putting a basic clear coat on top and sealing the tips with it, then putting on a top coat, and that helps, but it's still not ideal. I generally can't get more than four or five days without really feeling like I need to remove the polish because the tips are so visibly worn, but as I tend not to let a manicure go much longer than five days anyway (I get bored and want to try something new), it's not a huge issue for me, just annoying.

My favourite use for Lubu Heels is to wear it on on a couple or three fingers for accent/feature, while I've got China Glaze Ruby Pumps on the rest of my nails, as these two polishes work together very, very well.

Also should add that this removes easily, without the usual hassle associated with glitter nail polishes. Bonus!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SkullGlitter on 11/5/2012 11:13:00 AM more reviews by SkullGlitter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

China Glaze is pretty awesome for many reasons: color selection, color payoff, durability, finish and trends.

Lubu Heels is a mostly translucent black with tiny red sparkles. This is amazing over a base coat of black. The sparkles are so tiny and sparkly that they're a hidden gem to the color. This isn't for use on it's own, in my opinion. It's just a bit too sheer and looks muddy on it's own. I haven't tried it over red, but I really should. I think it would be awesome.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bailokaye on 8/9/2012 12:36:00 AM more reviews by bailokaye

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Too sheer. It's a red glitter in a streaky grey-black base. Looked gross by itself and not as pretty as in the bottle when layered. When I did 2-3 coats of it by itself it still looked streaky and..not good. There are much better glitters out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 heyjoni on 6/25/2012 5:59:00 PM more reviews by heyjoni

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Why yes, I'm a vampire. Lubu Heels is super date night sexy. It appears black in low light and at first glance in most settings. In the light, though, is where you notice that it's not just your regular black. That's when the deep red sparkles come through - kind of like China Glaze's Ruby Pumps' evil twin. It's a black/black cherry jelly that's a bit thin, but not too difficult to apply. Some people have suggested to use a black polish and layer a coat or two of this over, which would be a good application especially if you find it on the thin side. If you prefer lots of vampy colors (I do!), this is probably your thing.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More China Glaze products

More Polishes products