OPI • Russian Navy • Polishes

rated 4.6(284 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 RedAngelWings on 7/5/2014 3:00:00 PM more reviews by RedAngelWings

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

OPI is absolutely amazing. It's the best polish I've ever used. It applies smoothly regardless of what color it is, or if it has glitter in it. It dries moderately fast. I love this stuff so much. The only thing I don't like about it is the price. So expensive! Well, even though this polish is pricey, I would recommend it to anyone who loves to paint their nails. This is good quality.
Russian navy is a navy blue color with a tiny bit of a deep purple shimmer. I believe this color would look good on all skin tones, and if you want to have dark nails, but not black, this is the polish for you. Just as a heads up for those who are thinking about buying it, the polish looks more purple in the bottle than it does on your nails. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 av315 on 5/10/2014 10:31:00 AM more reviews by av315

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I don't have many OPI polishes but this is my favorite of my small collection. The formula is a dream, it doesn't streak, doesn't chip, just kind of magically applies flawlessly, and one or two coats at most and you're set. It feels very elegant. I have OPI's Road House Blues and that one is so dark, it is hard to tell it isn't black. Russian Navy has more wow factor. The color when applied to the nails looks very different from the when the polish is in the bottle; I bought this thinking it would be a dark slightly shimmery purple but applied it's like a midnight blue with a hint of purple (I don't think "Russian Navy" really suits the color). Most photos online don't do it justice in my opinion. The color is gorgeous. I kept finding myself looking at my nails mid-conversation (rude!). Love this color!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sensiblenails on 11/5/2013 10:22:00 PM more reviews by sensiblenails

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is Russian Navy; a dark blue base with bright blue and fuchsia shimmer (that my camera has decided to eat). Application was like buttah and it was opaque in two coats. The perfect vampy blue for fall.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jen5276 on 8/28/2013 11:43:00 AM more reviews by jen5276

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Just a beautiful inky navy blue, with red shimmer when held under a bright light or in the sun. I have had this on for about a week and no chipping just a little dulling, which was fixed when I refreshed the top coat. One of my favorite colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 twotwo1 on 8/20/2013 6:16:00 PM more reviews by twotwo1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my first venture into a blue polish. Russian Navy is a dark navy with a high gloss shine. The blue shows in almost all light levels. In the bottle there is a bit of a purple shimmer. On the nail the shimmer is very subtle. It is only visible in bright sunlight. I would recommend this for any season, not just a "winter dark."

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 1/3/2013 11:14:00 PM more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Despite looking somewhat purple in the bottle, this is a deep, inky, navy blue with just a hint of purple shimmer that only shows in the right light. It's quite a dark polish, and in some light, it looks nearly black.

If I'm careful, I can get a pretty even, opaque cover in one coat, but because I'm not always careful enough with the brush, I always end up doing two, which certainly gives full coverage and opacity.

One very nice thing about this polish is that I recently found out through experimentation that it works extremely well for nail stamping (i.e., Konad-style metal plates). That's a nice bonus, I think.

I do love this colour, and it works very nicely with my cool, pale skintone, but I do like dark polishes, and I wear them year round (none of this "only wear dark polish in winter" for me!). This is one I wear when I want a nice, deep, sophisticated polish that isn't black and isn't warm. This also works well under a surprising number of glitters, and adds a bit more colour/mood than a plain black would. Very versatile polish.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 spicymulberry on 10/17/2012 4:26:00 PM more reviews by spicymulberry

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Gorgeous inky blue, the perfect dark cobalt. It looks purple in the bottle, but on my nails (fair skin with light olive undertone), it's a deep cobalt with a wine-purple shimmer to it. One of my favourites, and it's really unexpected. It can look black indoors, especially at night with artificial light, but I hardly mind. Just beautiful. Lasts a decently long time with a topcoat, I just have to be careful to let it really dry before I put on the topcoat, and give it some time to cure -- anything really harsh that digs into the nails will dent and chip it for an hour after. (I learned my lesson trying to open a flip-cap on a bottle of spices.)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misanders on 10/16/2012 10:36:00 PM more reviews by misanders

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love the color, but this polish did not last on my nails. This was chipping within a day, by day 3 all my nails had chips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dsqrd44 on 10/16/2012 8:27:00 PM more reviews by dsqrd44

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I love this fall color, this is an amazing navy shimmer but it is not just flat blue shimmer unlike some navies. This navy has red and purple shimmer in it besides just the normal blue tones. I would recomend this to people looking for a good fall color that isn't your run of the mill red or maroon!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* underage on 9/17/2012 9:35:00 PM more reviews by underage

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My absolute favorite winter color. I used to love Lincoln Park After Dark but this has replaced it. The color is a deep purplish blue. You only need 2 coats for it to be perfectly opaque and it's not streaky at all. I love the new OPI brush! It makes it so easy to coat your nails and it does not chip easily. Works for every skin tone

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products