MAC • Pro Lipstick - Show Orchid • Lipstick

rated 4.7(87 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 7/22/2014 3:42:00 PM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I think this is MY perfect fuchsia color. (NW20, deep soft winter, brown eyes, mauve lips)

I have way too many versions of this shade, but this is the version that wears the easiest on me. I swatched my collection and Show Orchid landed right in the middle of the red toned to-pink toned -to slightly berry toned fuchsia shades. FYI, from most red toned to pink to more purple toned fuchsia's went like this: Revlon Fuchia Fusion, MAC Girl About Town, Show Orchid (very opaque, best texture,) tied with Fuchsia Shock (very sheer/gloss like), Sephora Pantene shade in Radiant Orchid and then Revlon Wild Orchid.

It's an amplified finish, it is gorgeous. I feel guilty because I have so many types of this shade, but this has the best texture of all (tied with MAC GAT), but the pinker tone of Show Orchid wears so much easier for me. Mental note though, I need to stop buying fuchsia shades ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 VeronicaVasquez on 6/4/2014 10:54:00 AM more reviews by VeronicaVasquez

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This shade is very ... VERY bright, but i love to use it at night when i'm going out to dinner and the club but never for during the day way to gaudy for that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stimwink1 on 4/26/2014 7:30:00 PM more reviews by stimwink1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of MAC's pro colors so the only way to purchase it is at a pro ware store (which for me is downtown Chicago) or on line. I purchased wet and wild's fuchsia with blue pearl and UD Cat fight which I like but I wanted to try MAC's. I read reviews and finally bit the bullet and bought off the web site know I could return if it was really awful.

I wasn't disappointed. Yes it is a bolder lipstick but compared to the other two lippies this color is closer to a more subtle color to wear during the day time. I added it over a balm with a lip brush and got more of a wash of color than a creamy. This is an Amplified cream so it's not really a matte but the color is still strong. I have lite/medium skin which tends to be neutral. I can go either yellow or cool toned but I prefer cool. This is more a cool toned lippie but I see it paired with peaches/yellows as well and being very pretty.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hishoney on 4/18/2014 5:17:00 AM more reviews by hishoney

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my first MAC lipsticks, and I have to say, this is a lipstick for a fun-loving girl. It's bold! But wearable. I wore this in school and received lots of compliments. Since it's an amplified, it's a breeze to apply. It's creamy and very pigmented, and it's fairly hydrating and non drying to my lips. BUT for gals like me living in the Philippines who wants to try this color without the MAC price, try In2it's Pink Alarm. They're almost identical! Show Orchid is just a tad purpler while Pink Alarm is pinker, but same idea, same sheen.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 britishgal92 on 3/21/2014 9:35:00 PM more reviews by britishgal92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Show Orchid is absolutely stunning - my favourite MAC lipstick and one of my favourites in my collection. I wear it a lot for nights out and it makes me feel confident and pretty. There are plenty of dupes out there but for me the particular sheen and finish of this lipstick makes it special. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 daisyspirit4 on 2/1/2014 7:32:00 PM more reviews by daisyspirit4

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my "YES Spring Has Ariived" announcement go to lippy. I have it prepped and ready on my vanity when the very final snowflake of winter was ,elted and the tulips I planted on my Yaya yard begin to bloom.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TootsDiva on 12/1/2013 8:09:00 PM more reviews by TootsDiva

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Totally love this color. It is very opaque and just wears fab! Looks great against my dark skin and isn't drying on the lips. Totally recommend it. Check out me talking about purchasing this lipstick on my channel :)




3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emmiemc on 10/15/2013 5:09:00 PM more reviews by emmiemc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I really absolutely love this color. It's a super bright fuchsia, really strong out of the bullet, though it can be easily applied sheerly for those less bold. I'm NW20, though I feel pretty certain this is a color that would work well on anyone!

The texture is nice -- no dryness -- and it lasts well enough, probably 4 or 5 hours (without eating) before I feel like I need a touchup. It doesn't last through food or drink, but in my experience that's a lot to ask. Maybe I eat anti-lipstick foods, I don't know.

My new favorite thing to do with it is to layer it with Media, or any dark color, to get a slick, shiny dark plum (so perfect for fall!).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Notthatkindofdoctor on 9/20/2013 2:51:00 PM more reviews by Notthatkindofdoctor

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Switched from Impassioned (which is more corally) to this as my go-to bright-bright fuschia. It's in your face, but so flattering! Amazing with a subtle matte eye or a lightly shimmery nude eye.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Parisa909 on 1/26/2013 2:26:00 AM more reviews by Parisa909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Show Orchid is definitely a cool-toned fuchsia pink lipstick with this gorgeous blue sheen. Itís incredibly bright, I think maybe the brightest hot pink lipstick I own. I love the finish (another amplified creme) and on my lips it applies smoothly and 100% opaque. The pigmentation is incredibly, surprisingly for such a cool-toned lipstick, it really suits medium-tan skintones. Itís long-lasting too, it lasts me through eating and drinking (great for nights out!) and fades to a stain on my lips that is still visible the next day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products