NYX • Eyebrow Cake Powder - Taupe/Ash • Brows

rated 4.5(72 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 addkg777 on 8/27/2014 2:32:00 AM more reviews by addkg777

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

this cake powder is now a holy grail. at 4$, you cant beat it. the colors are awesome and its fool proof. it last all day even on my oily skin and the look is so soft and natural on my brows.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mellykate16 on 8/19/2014 5:47:00 AM more reviews by mellykate16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

IN LOVE! Holy grail for my eyebrows! The shade is perfect and they are so incredibly pigmented. I love how it stays put all day - up to 12 hours somedays! For the price you can't go wrong. I am in love with this product and would most certainly purchase again! :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bribi on 8/11/2014 4:32:00 AM more reviews by bribi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this, and am surprised that the powder lasts as long as it does. It's very pigmented, a little goes a long way, and with a decent brow brush and that baby spoolie included (I like it- the tininess is convenient, for me, and the bristles are firm. I'm not hating on the cheap spooolie) you can shape your brows with no problems.
What I don't like about this, is the color. Don't get me wrong, the tone is perfect. I'm happy it's not reddish brown like a lot of brow products are. But it's SO DARK. I have ombre hair, so It's hard for me to find a color that matches my root (which is an ash brown,) but doesn't look too harsh next to the blonde all around my face.
This, to me, is too much for blonde, light brown or ombre hair. Maybe when I go dark in the fall, I'll come back to this, but for now, it's giving me Charlie Chaplin brows.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ringu on 7/25/2014 4:50:00 AM more reviews by ringu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The product is nice, but the packaging is awful.
I love the wax, but it runs out too early so I don't have any reason to wear this product anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luisawang1 on 6/30/2014 12:48:00 PM more reviews by luisawang1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Holy grail eyebrow filler <3 I use this with the Sonia Kashuk eyebrow brush and my brows stay defined, thick and tame all day! I am considering tossing all my other eyebrow fillers and just using this. Btw I have dark brown/black hair and taupe is the best shade for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LABeautyGal on 6/22/2014 3:38:00 PM more reviews by LABeautyGal

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I got complimented on my eyebrows my first day wearing this. Good pigmentation, great price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Malvarado on 6/22/2014 1:57:00 AM more reviews by Malvarado

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

I love this product! After running out of Anastasia's brow powder within a short time after purchasing I needed to try a product that was less expensive & this is exactly what I needed!!!! I have extremely sparse eyebrows and a scar on my left eyebrow, this product has great pigmentation, very inexpensive, and has very good colors!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kimmaria on 6/20/2014 2:23:00 AM more reviews by kimmaria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Got it today and wow I am SO impress! Tried it on right after I got it and literally last me all day (8 hrs)
I got it for about 10 CDN. Pretty darn cheap. I got it in black/gray as I wanted my skinny brows to stand out with my fair medium skin and dark brown hair. Anyways.
PRO's:
-VERY pigmented and buildable. I was worried that the grey would turn out GREY on me but it was a soft black/charcoal. Very nice. And black was literally black. You can achieve natural to stand out looks.
-very forgiving... If you make a mistake just wipe it off!!
- Packaging is small and so so cute. It clicks when you close it so no worries of it opening it up on you.
-Wax is amazing to keep your hair flat and nicely in place...I'm not sure how great it would be if you had very thick crazy points I every where eyebrows tho haha.
PRO/CON (depends how you look at it haha)
-comes with a small angled brush and eyebrow brush...use it when necessary otherwise I prefer using a full size angled brush. The angled brush had very stiff short bristles..ouch! !
-wish there was a mirror, came with a highlighter...but whatever

How I applied it: Used wax to comb thru my eyebrows. Than with the same angled brush I used gray for first half than black for last half. Lastly I gentlybcombed it to blend.

I'm going back to get different shades. As a person who likes the pricey brand make-up stuff...this feels just as "expensive. "

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Schmanna22 on 6/12/2014 9:04:00 PM more reviews by Schmanna22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This. THIS. I Iove this product so hard. The colors are perfect, not too warm and very natural looking. The price is unbeatable and you get a ton of product.

If you're anything like me you'll toss the included brush and spoolie and use your own, and probably ignore the wax (I use a wax pencil). I have the Anastasia brow powder duo and still opt for this product 9 times out of 10 when I'm using powder on my brows. (I tend to rotate between powders and gels, depending on my mood/effect desired).

This stuff stays put and has great texture and pigmentation. The packaging isn't terribly exciting, but for the price it's not an expectation to have snazzy packaging. The plastic snap closure is trustworthy, so it's fine for travel or tossing in your bag.

All in all, I recommend this product for those who prefer to use a brow cake. NYX really knocked it out of the park with this one!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 englande on 5/23/2014 12:55:00 PM more reviews by englande

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This has got to be the best eyebrow product I've ever tried. The brushes it with it suck which is OK since this kit is not expensive. They are way too small and you can't hardly hold onto them. Plus, the bristles are too stiff and slick. They don't distribute product at all. I use a different long handled flat angle brush. My eyebrows are already thick and don't need much addition except to smooth out the edges and fill in small sparse ares. This powder is perfect for that without looking unnatural. It defines the edges crisply, but also with some softness so it doesn't look drawn in. You can also build it up if you need more product to fill your brows. I like the taupe/ash neutral colors. They work well with my dark brows. The powder is very smooth and fine. It stays on all day! I found the gel to be less useful. It seemed to be a bit messy and hard to spread. It is good in small portions if you need to tame some wild hairs here or there. For all over coverage on my brows, I pair the powder with NYX control freak clear gel and you couldn't ask for better results. Love this stuff and it has become a staple in my collection.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Brows products