Fyrinnae • Loose Powder Eyeshadow ~ All Shades • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blooiejagwa on 8/14/2012 8:54:00 PM more reviews by blooiejagwa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

These are the BEST!! If you like playing with colours, I think you will like these. You need to know how to use loose shadows, though. Also, I detest the packaging, tis very easy to spill or tip over. I've used loose eyeshadows by Marcelle, Bella Pierre, and Annabelle- those are good, but Fyr offers the prettiest array of interesting colours! unlike the others, it's an indie brand, and i am glad to support it.
/
Every single day since receiving my order, I've been using these, and every single day i get compliments. They also work well with other brand e/s. Even if it's a cheapskate brand. Today it was just Tyr patted/swept on, with a bit of the lid shade from WnW Walking on Eggshells on inner lid. Even DH loved it. Zero effort required. In fact, when i had just Mephisto on, it looked like i'd painstakingly blended like 3 different shadows on. (effect didn't last long, but that's a different review).

The other day i got loads of compliments on my eyes (not makeup) from several strangers thruought the day-with Sorceress wet as eyeliner and blended, dry, in crease, and Shenanigans on lid. Somehow my normally dark brown eyes looked like a beautiful golden hazel with that combo. Soooo lovely.
/
These eyeshadows have so much depth and beauty. However, they don't look garish. I love them.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* seramadis on 1/20/2011 11:30:00 PM more reviews by seramadis

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

These are the BEST eyeshadows in the world!! They aren't the easiest to apply, not easy to blend, but they are still the best in the whole world. You will NEVER find any colours even similar to these, at least I never have. I've ordered from them several times. Perhaps it takes a little longer to learn how to use them, you can't just swipe them on with a brush and go. But once you get the hang of it it doesn't have to take any longer than applying a pressed powder shadow. I do my eye makeup in 5 minutes now. And it is so worth it because you will NEVER find any colours so deep and complex as these.

I think the trick is in the application. Before applying eye makeup I apply a veeery thin layer of VASELINE as an eyeshadow base/glue. I've never tried their Pixie Epoxy and I don't have it, so I can't compare, but Vaseline as a base is the WORKS! After that I gently PAT on the eyeshadows of choice with a little sponge applicator. This shadow is admittedly a bit difficult to blend, and I wouldn't recommend it when you are going for a really blended out look. Blending also takes away all the gorgeous multicoloured glitter and sparkle which is what makes these shadows unique and pop. So blend only on the edges or where 2 shadows meet.

If you do this you should have only minimal fall-out and the shadow will be vibrant and last all day. You can also apply over the bathroom sink, so you can just rinse away any powder that falls. I actually like to apply sitting at a table, I put a mirror on the table and look downwards into the mirror. Or sometimes I'll stand the mirror up but tilt it, so I still look mostly downwards.

These shadows, I find, don't work at all if you brush them on dry. Dry they just all fall off and disappear. You really must use that Vaseline/Pixie Epoxy or other sticky base and pat it on. Or foil it with water. Since I'm in Europe I'm always afraid of shipping charges when I order from the States, but this company has incredible shipping charges, maybe 3 for a smaller order and free shipping overseas for larger orders.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rocynthia on 1/12/2011 11:17:00 PM more reviews by rocynthia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Fyrinnae is my favorite loose powder eyeshadow ever! Great price,amazing colors, and amazing quality I have bought about 20 samples at $2 each and I love them all and they last a really long time. I plan to order much more their colors are so complex, creative, and unique.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 someidiot on 12/20/2010 5:55:00 PM more reviews by someidiot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is glorified mica....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Morganna777 on 9/7/2010 2:12:00 AM more reviews by Morganna777

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Other    

I really adore Fyrinnae, their shadows are complex and multidimensional and so gorgeous i love just looking at my little pots just sparkling there on my table. The lip lustre in lollipop looks hot over lip gloss and their prices and philosophy is very admirable. I tend to prefer their lighter highlight shades as they do work better and the colors are much more interesting and prettier but overall it doesn't have as much pigment power as I would like, if they could fix this it would be [perfect but it tends to look prettier in the pot.
Their darker colors especially do not have much color or sparkle payoff as ..say my LM mineral powder shadows. But overall I get a lot of enjoyment from Fyrinnae

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dcoulon on 8/16/2010 5:06:00 PM more reviews by dcoulon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love love LOVE Fyrinnae eyeshadows! They go on smooth and vibrant (remember to pat them on instead of brushing them on, because it makes a HUGE difference), especially over the Pixie Epoxy, which is my HG of primers. The colors are unique, and while everyone always raves about the super bright colors, my favorites from Fyrinnae are actually the neutrals. Their neutrals are so subtle, so beautiful, I can't emphasize enough how much I love them. I currently have a ton of Fyrinnae colors and have yet to meet one I do not like.

My only complaint is the lack of a sifter. I dropped one of my little jars of eyeshadow and it landed facedown (of course), dumping out ALL of my eyeshadow. I was able to salvage about half, but it was a harsh lesson! Nevertheless, I would always choose Fyrinnae shades over any other brand because of quality and uniqueness of the colors.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cloroxcowgirl on 8/10/2010 7:40:00 PM more reviews by cloroxcowgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I had been wanting to try Fyrinnae eyeshadows for a long time, being a fan of mineral mu in general and having heard such great things about them. I ordered four samples (and also received a complimentary sample) and have used them with mixed results. I do not find any of them to be particularly pigmented. Applying them wet definitely amplifies the color, but not to the level of intensity I expected. Some of the colors are sort of chalky and flat, while others are very, very shimmery. The only two that I can see myself using regularly (and MAYBE repurchasing) are Rapunzel Had Extensions and Kurisumasu! I wanted to like these because the company is cool, and they shipped my order very quickly as well. I'm not swearing off trying other colors, but so far I just can't get into these like some of the other reviewers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Zoffe on 5/17/2010 2:16:00 AM more reviews by Zoffe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I can't believe the negative reviews! Did they reformulate their eyeshadows or something?

I'm absolutely LOVING these!
The samples come with a lot of product, and they're only $2.00!
I haven't ordered any full sized ones yet, because I'd rather try a ton of different ones and the samples will last me a long time anyway.

So far, I have around 40 of them, and I don't have any that I don't like. They have so many complex and very unique shades.

I use MAC Paints or ArtDeco eyeshadow base underneath these, and they show up really nicely. If you want the glitter or shimmer to really pop, try their Pixie Epoxy! It works wonders :)

The texture of these varies quite a bit depending on the finish of the shadow, but overall I found them to be quite smooth and fairly easy to blend.

I've just placed an order for 20 more samples and can't wait for them to get here :D


The only downside is the time it takes for Fyrinnae to process your order, but at least they always write on their main page how long you should expect it to take, and the two times I've ordered from them, it has always taken less time than what they wrote.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 piratefemme on 5/5/2010 3:30:00 PM more reviews by piratefemme

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I can't say enough good things about them. I've had the same pots for five (?) years the colours are so vibrant and highly pigmented - able to use them wet or dry.

I bought ten. I'd buy ten more if it didn't take over a month to get to me (London UK). But after five(?) years and I still haven't quite made my way half way through...

It's a learning curve on how to use them. definitely. Well worth it. You do have to use a very good primer - my UD works perfectly with them. this was before they had the fixer and had suggested using a b vitamen cream that sort of worked...

wet they are mind blowing. Dry they are fab. Yes, pat them on with a brush - there is a lot of fall out. I needed to get a fan brush which made my life a lot easier. Blending is very easy. Much easier than cake minerals - I stopped buying UD eyeshadows for quite a while when I found these.

What a great product. You can use them as eye shadows, cream eyeshadows, eyeliner... if you get a mixer - there's plenty out there - there's that option. However I've always just put on primer and mixed them with water.

the rare product that gets full marks from me.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dulcetpurr on 4/23/2010 3:57:00 PM more reviews by dulcetpurr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

After buying some of Fyrinnae's shadow samples, I'm pretty much in awe. I feel like I didn't know what eyeshadow was before seeing these. It's like a whole new world has opened up to me, and I'll never look at eyeshadow the same again. I know that sounds dramatic, but I'm totally serious. Each of their shadows is a work of art. And please, PLEASE do not judge them by the pictures on their site. You HAVE to see these shadows in person, pictures do them no justice. Every single one I've tried is absolutely spectacular; glittery, complex composition of colors, intense pigment.


It's actually kind of a good thing that I found Fyrinnae so late in the game, because they really are a different animal that need to be applied and treated differently. If I'd tried these back when I was a shadow newb I would've been completely overwhelmed, frustrated, and I'd probably have given up.


Please do foil these. Please do gently PAT them on rather than swiping; swiping will ruin their complexity. Please do try Pixie Epoxy to glue the glitter in place, although there's quite a learning curve on that particular product as well.


I love that their sample sizes are so generous, and cheap to boot.


Every eyeshadow connoisseur should try some Fyrinnae. Afterwards, you may just find yourself looking at your high end shadows and going 'meh.'

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Fyrinnae products

More Eye Shadow products