Serge Lutens • Louve • Fragrances

rated 3.0(58 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.37%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 willowlady on 8/2/2014 3:10:00 PM more reviews by willowlady

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I am a Serge Lutens fan and LOUVE is my latest acquisition and I'm delighted.
It smells like nothing I've ever sprayed on me before, I smell a very big raspberry/cherry fruit cooked into a jam with rose florals. I think it's terribly sexy, sweet and feminine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FeeFee34 on 7/7/2012 3:55:00 PM more reviews by FeeFee34

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This review is based on a Luckyscent sample. Overall, I find the scent a little cloying and sweet, but lovely nonetheless. It's an almond, cherry, and floral confection. I could do without the floral notes, and with more vanilla. Otherwise, I find this pleasant, similar to Keiko Mecheri, and fine to wear every once in a while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 YoHarajuku on 5/30/2012 12:49:00 PM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Far to cherry sweet and heady for me. I'm not keen on sweet fragrances so this is just wasted on me. Its easy to see why fragrances lovers would be enticed by it though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mlle_Elle on 11/8/2011 11:56:00 AM more reviews by Mlle_Elle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I first tried Louve years ago, right after it came out, because I had been (and still am) entranced by the lovely Rahat Loukoum. I remember smelling my sample of Louve and scrunching my nose up - it was not for me - I think because I had enormous expectations and a predisposed notion that it was supposed to be similar to Rahat Loukoum. I never really evaluated it for what it was - I had only evaluated it comparitively. Fast forward to present day. I was going through my jar of samples and came upon the long-ago sample of Louve. I spritzed it on my wrist, just because. The first few moments were almost medicinal - like cherry cough syrup - but that was fleeting, and Louve quickly settled into something I really can't place. Just a feeling and a mood. The next day, I grabbed the hoodie I wore the previous day, when I had nonchalantly worn Louve. It was in that moment that I wanted - needed - more of this lovely scent. Just like that. I know fragrance is a very subjective thing, so I can only really speak for myself. For me, this fragrance is something special. The only way I can describe my experience with Louve is that it's like my baby's cool, sweet cheek. That moment when I hold him and my cheek presses against his. It reminds me of my baby son and the way his skin smells. Something about it is comfortable and magical and beautiful. I know I will always and forever wear this to capture that special moment so I can always revisit it. The ultimate drydown of Louve does remind me of sort of a ghost of Rahat Loukoum - but Louve is definitely its own being.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 5/7/2011 4:36:00 PM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I fell in love with this when I got a little sample spray. It felt like a junction of two universes, one cuddly, warm and truly lovely with almond sweetness and the other rather mystical with a hidden smokiness. Since I got my full bottle, however, I have been yearning for that early experience. Louve now feels pretty cloying, too warm and a tad too rosy. I rarely reach for it and hate wearing it with anything wool - gets too warm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheEmpress on 5/3/2011 2:14:00 AM more reviews by TheEmpress

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Louve is Rahat Loukhoum's Twin Flame (soul-mate). In my opinion Rahat is a masterpiece that can be worn by men and women. However it does lean over the male spectrum a tad bit. Rahat has the same powdery and almondy notes as Louve but Louve is feminine, softer and sweeter. As of now Louve is a lot easier to find in the US than Rahat.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 chrystelica on 2/21/2011 4:21:00 PM more reviews by chrystelica

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

From initial whiff, I was excited, hoping this was going to magically transform into the almond-animalic musk scent I got. Quickly, the cherry and baby powder/vanilla powder came out and was told I smelled like a "really old lady."
It wasn't unpleasant to me, certainly not as bad as Mitsouko (forgive me, but the scent was awful on me) but not a repeater. It's quite nice but the baby powder aftersmell is quite bad, and this is the drydown. Not for me. It also wore off extremely quickly, was gone in 2 hrs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 greydovefeatherwing on 2/15/2011 9:30:00 AM more reviews by greydovefeatherwing

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I first tried a sample of this, just one drop on my wrist at bedtime and was really transported. This smell is very unusual, very personal, and it tells a story! Its sort of like a fairytale. I totally get the she-wolf moniker. There's something milky, and comforting about it. There's the musk/fur like background, but its not smelly fur, its the clean fur of a wild animal snuggled down in its den. There's the sweetness of the cherry, and something tart and metallic coming through that's reminiscent of blood, but only verrrrrrrry slightly. Its comforting but there's the suggestion of something wild and fierce there as well. I ended up buying a full bottle not because I want to seduce someone with this, or impreses anyone, but because its a fairytale in a bottle. Really amazing that fragrance could tell a story like this. I like to wear it to bed, but I could also see wearing it at night to go out. a little goes a long way. Mist it and walk through after a bath, I think that gives it the best application. Dabbing makes it cloying and too heavy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WentworthRoth on 1/25/2011 11:37:00 AM more reviews by WentworthRoth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Notes: almond, rose petals, fruity notes, jasmine petals, amber, musk and vanilla powder

This fragrance opens with an almond cherry accord that reminds me of Austrian marzipan confectionery. As the fragrance progresses its floral notes emerge and therefore it is no longer foody, but veers towards the powdery, soapy. This is a pleasant and unobtrusive fragrance and smells fresh and clean, especially in its later stages. Last for roughly six hours on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* marymary on 8/15/2010 6:48:00 PM more reviews by marymary

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Starts with a blast of warm almond and cherry cookie, which very quickly subsides to almond with a touch of sweet. Underneath all that, bizarrely, is musk and powder, which becomes more pronounced as the fragrance wears on. I would say that the base is similar to that of Clair de Musk (which I love).

I like Rahat Loukhoum more but cannot justify the price so got this instead. Also Rahat has a curry note which I am not 100% sure about. Louve is much less challenging. I think it is straight up likeable despite the other reviews.

If this is a she-wolf, she is soft and milky and nursing her cubs.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Serge Lutens products

More Fragrances products