Serge Lutens • Sarrasins • Fragrances

rated 3.6(31 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 gmstrack on 2/2/2013 2:39:00 PM more reviews by gmstrack

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

According to the Serge Lutens official website, when Sarrasins is “applied at night in a Moorish silence, it barely touches the skin…” Sarrasins made its mark when I applied one spray to my dry, ivory skin just below the wrist. The pale violet stain almost appears as a bruise, yet this is my secret to hold. This fragrance, however, is anything but a secret; a bombastic cloud of jasmine cut with grape jam fills the room. This white floral struts, tosses her hair, wears too much gold jewelry, and spends all day on her iphone. I was just about to dismiss Sarrasins as another hyper-feminine fruity-floral (albeit high quality), when suddenly, the initial romance receded to expose the underbelly of contemporary humanity: melting plastic, sweet animalic excess, and yes, feces. A monster.

Sillage and tenacity: Good

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 YoHarajuku on 12/9/2012 10:01:00 AM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I know Serge Lutens are love/hate for people but how anyone can find anything good about this is beyond me. There is no nice way of saying it, it smells of a toilet, or more specifically what you find in a toilet (In the bottle and on the skin). I hoped it would dry down to something much more acceptable, but sadly no. No Jasmine to be found. I'm a big perfume lover and although I'm picky about what I wear I usually can find something good about most perfumes. There has only been 3 perfumes I have ever tried that have made me physically recoil. And this is the 3rd. You have to be pretty brave to wear this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kerriki on 10/25/2012 7:49:00 AM more reviews by kerriki

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A powerful earthy apricot jasmine, yet paradoxically has a sweet airy quality that makes it quite an easy and optimistic wear for me (A La Nuit requires a little more commitment in my opinion). Absolutely unique, yet another master stroke from the Lutens - Sheldrake union...

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chayaNY on 10/23/2012 3:57:00 PM more reviews by chayaNY

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with KelseyP below, this never gets to the swooning, beautiful part on me. I'm not a fan of Jasmine so there's that but also I'm a novice in learning about perfume and maybe don't have the knowledge to appreciate this and how it differentiates from other similar scents.

I like obviously pretty scents yet hope my nose "grows" to be able to appreciate more complex ones. That said, I love to try new perfumes/makeup wise, sort of like a "beauty itch" I have to scratch when I've heard about a product getting raves. So I'm glad I tried it but maybe the finer things in life are wasted on me. This is why "we" can't have nice things lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* condesadepitimini on 2/5/2012 6:40:00 AM more reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Excellent jasmine-based fragrance. But not your average jasmine, mind you! it's rich, deep, cloying, skanky.
Definitely indolic (and you may want to consider this carefully, as indolic may not be appropiate for all occasions!).
It's sweet and sweaty, enlightened but some rays of fresh jasmine, with a strong dirty leather note. Super feminine. Drydown is rich, ambery and leathery. Excellent frag all in all, but must be worn in small doses (can be cloying!).
Absolutely a must try!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 1/4/2011 12:47:00 PM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Jasmins playing good cop/bad cop. One facet of it is airy, sunny friendly jasmin while the other is lush and indolic - unfortunately, I don't get on well with indoles. These two facets take turns on my skin, one following the other for a good 3 hours. Actually one sniff takes me to my mother's garden where airy, amicable jasmins sometimes had this indolic note - not to this extent, of course. I'm grateful for the nostalgic experience but don't enjoy this on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* A88A on 12/18/2010 6:06:00 PM more reviews by A88A

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Sarrasins is predominantly jasmine. This isn't the soft, innocent white jasmine of À La Nuit, but a big, syrupy sweet jasmine, and the juice is a shockingly rich grapey purple. Underneath the sweet jasmine is an odd leather note. I don't know why, but this reminds me of one of the babes from an 80's metal video. I wish I liked this more, but the jasmine is too sweet for me. I've already been spoiled by what I consider to be far superior and more realistic jasmine fragrances. I do like the leather, and find it the only truly interesting thing for me in Sarrasins.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BigEars on 11/10/2010 7:32:00 PM more reviews by BigEars

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Imagine you are going horse riding and before you go you spray on a good quality jasmine. After about a hour of heavy riding you get home. You are damp, sweaty, and smelling of leather saddles. This is what I smell in Sarrasins. Jamsine,sweat, indoles and leather. make you want to roll round in the hay with a groom or maybe a gamekeeper! Lady Chatterly should have worn this.

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chrystelica on 5/18/2010 9:39:00 PM more reviews by chrystelica

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

A poetic, beautiful, yet melancholy, sad jasmine. Like the jasmine you would smell in between sobs and tears streaming down your face. This is a very dramaticly pretty fragrance, to be worn when saying goodbye to a lover. To get over someone, or remember them, or some combination of the two.
I give this 4 stars because I prefer SL A La Nuit to this, both are similar takes on jasmine, this would get the sad drama mask, the tragic, and ALN would get the happy mask, the comedy. Although it is not particularly funny, A La Nuit, as one pert MUAer has noted, is a scent to spray on before making out with someone, when you're in love, or just highly in lust; this one is what you'd wear before playing a piano concerto and crying yourself to sleep. Still beautiful, timeless, unforgettable-- also impossibly sad.
I get a very pretty, breezy jasmine from this, fairly linear, no skanky or sweaty notes or indoles. I cannot detect any leather, and I'm very sensitive to that. I fell asleep with this on and had a dream of baby poo with whole fruits in it though (yes, I am a mom). If I stretch my mind a bit I can imagine apricot, but mainly only jasmine, albeit a very pretty bush of them wafting through the breeze on a terrace.
EDIT: As beautifully crafted as this is, I'm giving it 3 stars because I would never wear this except very occasionally... the sadness is too poignant.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cors on 3/28/2010 3:23:00 AM more reviews by cors

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I must say that I am first drawn to Sarrasins because of the inky juice, but this is now my favourite jasmine. I find it deeper, darker and more sensual than offerings like A la Nuit and Jasmine de Nuit, and the leather makes it so intoxicating. Not sure if it is just me, but this starts out overpowering and indolic. I then struggle to detect anything for the next hour, before it becomes stronger again. I can barely detect the apricot throughout and I find Sarrasins fairly linear on me, but I do like it that way.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Serge Lutens products

More Fragrances products