MAC • Paint Pot in Blackground • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(115 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 3/25/2014 9:23:00 AM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I waited a while to write a review on this because I kept hoping I could get this to work. After several tries though, despite my love of MAC Paint Pots, Blackground is a no go.


I was hoping this would be similar to my beloved Graphito paint, color wise it's slightly darker. But where this fails miserably is in performance & application. Compared to my other paint pots, Blackground is SO dry. Application is patchy & uneven and it's difficult to blend. I've bought /returned this twice thinking maybe I got a bad one, but the end result was the same. This is destined for my swap list in favor of my Graphito paint for my smokey eye needs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 8/20/2013 1:27:00 AM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

NW13 naturally, N20-25 from a bottle : ) Gray eyes. Color season is True Summer.

This is my new favorite eye shadow base! So many amazing and complex looks can be done with this base and another shadow on top : ) Do yourself a favor and buy this to give it a try. I love putting a sheer shimmery wash of color over it for a jewel-toned black look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 float on 12/14/2012 10:30:00 PM more reviews by float

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It's a brilliant base for a perfect smokey eye.
I love that it's not completly matte, stay all day, just add a black (Carbon) eyeshadow on top and it'll last longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FaceofMaleah on 12/13/2012 2:59:00 PM more reviews by FaceofMaleah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Can't really say that I am a fan of this point pot. I bought it a few months ago and have used it once though I was intending to use it a lot more often than that. I find that this shade though it is called 'blackground' is much more of a medium grey than black. As well it dries super fast and by the time I get to blending it, it just will not move :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 10/21/2012 4:59:00 PM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love this paint pot, seriously, it's the best black eyeshadow that also serves as an amazing eyeliner. I think this comes off as very black, not grey really unless you put only a small amount on and then smudge it out. The best part about it is its staying power, it lasts all day even without a primer. I can get a very thin line with the right brush, and it comes off more precise than any stick or liquid liner I've ever used. It is a bit pricey but well worth the money when you realize how long the pot will last, I used to spend at least double the amount on black eyeliners every year and this little pot will last at least that long. I hope they don't ever discontinue this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xloveleighx on 8/9/2012 12:47:00 PM more reviews by xloveleighx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

LOVE this paintpot! This is my first mac paintpot so i don't know how it compares to the others but i really like this product. I mostly use if for a smokey eye on nights out. Its great to use by itself for a more subtle grey smokey eye, or you can put black eyeshadow over the top for a more intense look. I love how its not just a plain black, it has a beautiful subtle glitter in it. Its never creased for me, even in sweaty clubs. The price may seem a lot at first but i would definitely repurchase.

xxx

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dizzielittlerascal on 7/1/2012 4:50:00 AM more reviews by dizzielittlerascal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got this Paint Pot in a swap, and I have to say this is hands down my favourite paintpot to date. I love the fact that one layer gives a deep grey with a hint of sparkle, but can be built up for a more definite dark grey. But most of all I love it as a base, and today I have teamed it with Mac's Greensmoke, and black mascara. No, its not natural or minimal, but a beautiful smoky eye - just how I love it! Can't wait to team it with other colours and see them in a new light!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bailokaye on 6/27/2012 6:28:00 PM more reviews by bailokaye

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Pros:
+Very easy to use
+Versatile multi-purpose product (eyeshadow base, 1 step smokey eye, eyeliner, etc.)
+Can be sheered out or layered so it can work for many looks, light or dark
+Longlasting and doesn't crease (unless you use too much product)
+Good size jar for the price, it will last a long time

Cons:
-Jar isn't very sanitary, but its cute. If you're worried about that, just make sure to use a clean brush everytime.
-A bit expensive ($18.50), but you use such a small amount each time that it will last forever
-I personally don't like the small glitter/shimmers in this, and wish it was matte, but it isn't super noticeable once on

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AntiqueGlitter on 4/13/2012 5:48:00 PM more reviews by AntiqueGlitter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This, along with Painterly Paint Pot, is an absolute must-have for eyeshadow users. I know that people don't purchase this because they're intimidated by its black color, but its color is actually the key aspect of this product.
You can use this under any pigmented eyeshadow to get a richer, intenser color.
The reason why I say only pigmented eyeshadows is because if you use this underneath badly-pigmented eyeshadows, you're going to see mostly Blackground and not necessarily the eyeshadow itself. If you use this underneath pigmented eyeshadows, the eyeshadows layer on perfectly and much more vibrantly.
Basically, Blackground will make any eyeshadow color layer on more intensely.
Please note that Blackground itself isn't that pigmented, so if you want an intense black, you need to layer on more. If you use less, you'll get a gray color.
The $17.50 price is well worth it. (:
Would I repurchase? Yes.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 3/6/2012 9:44:00 AM more reviews by stls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Who knew one and only product would make my eye shadow collection so versatile!
I won't describe the product because it's already described below and the pictures are quite realistic.
First of all it's a pleasure to apply on the lids, so smooth and creamy! I have only tried finger application so far and it works. But I have in mind to try the 217 brush soon to.
It's beautiful on it's own with some black eyeliner and mascara BUT with a colorful layer on top it's out of this world!


My favorite combinations so far:
- with nocturnell on top: instant gorgeous amethyst smokey eye
- with deep truth: sultry deep sapphire color
- with noir emeraude by borjuois: mysterious emerald
- with sumptuous olive: vibrant golden green
- with typographic: classic black smokey
- with satin taupe: deep taupe since it cancels the purple undertone of the eye shadow


I'm still experimenting with it but I believe it's truly gorgeous. I love jewel colored smokey eyes and it's ideal for that purpose, makes the color so deep and vibrant at the same time, I'm not sure if I explained it well!
Only problem is a bit creasing so I use TFSI underneath and lasts all night.
Of course I will repurchase, I still consider to give one as a present to all my girlfriends!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products