Vivienne Westwood • Let It Rock • Fragrances

rated 3.8(13 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ancatje on 1/19/2013 11:21:00 AM more reviews by Ancatje

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Bought this without trying it, after hearing it's a more "interesting scent" than your typical girlie or spicy perfume. You can find deals on this often I think, as when I looked for it lots of places seemed to have them.
Now for me, this smells like old ladies, a bit soapy. I gave it a few good tries but never got to like it, it always seemed a bit too heavy and weirdly sweet.
So I gave it to my mum instead, and she is rather happy with it.
I know the same fragrance can smell differently on different skins, but considering my experience I'll have to agree that maybe it's not a scent for the under 35-40s.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lilmi on 3/7/2012 4:29:00 PM more reviews by lilmi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This scent made me feel nauseous. It's very strong, smelt like an old lady scent. Very heavy, overpowering, can definately smell the patchouli.Despite the packaging and title of the perfume, I think it'd suit older ladies. I can't imagine many people under 30 would like it.

On a positive note, the dry-down [I mean the day after you've sprayed it] isn't SO bad but still not great imo. You can shop around and get this cheap at a lot of places but even discounted I don't think it's worth it.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gemski107 on 12/17/2011 12:17:00 PM more reviews by gemski107

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this perfume blind, as I couldn't find a tester in any shops...when I first sprayed it, I was disappointed, it smelt like old ladies! However, within five minutes this perfume smelt divine! It dries to a very floral, but quite sophisticated scent.
I use it as a daytime perfume and I am always getting compliments on it. I love how not many people wear it as it's quite difficult to find and I love how people don't immediately know which perfume it is.
This perfume was also a bargain, I picked it up on the cheap smells website for less than £20 for a 50ml bottle! I will definitely purchase it again, I've been wearing it everyday since i bought it!
My only issue is the bottle...I think the bottle is cute and fab, but it doesn't match the scent at all! The bottle suggests that the scent is young and fresh...whereas I would say that the scent is quite mature and luxurious, not really for a teen!
Overall, I would recommend this perfume, I think it's gorgeous...but I think it definitely isn't a scent that will suit everyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sambalina82 on 12/8/2011 8:19:00 AM more reviews by Sambalina82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I like this perfume! It's light from the bergamot yet heavy from spices, its not too overpowering and its well rounded. Haven't smelled anything like this before. Cute bottle too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sydcricket on 3/15/2011 12:20:00 PM more reviews by sydcricket

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My new love! I encourage anyone who is curious about this one, see if you can find it and give it a shot! And definitely try it on your skin. I was not so sure at first -- there was a strong, licorice-y smell initially but this tones itself down after a matter of minutes into pure deliciousness. Sweet smoky and rich. Rather unusual. And excellent lasting power. Not something I could wear every day, but when I'm in the mood for something more interesting than my day to day 'safe' perfumes it ROCKS. My man seems to find it quite alluring too.

It seems this fragrance isn't terribly popular. I had a hard time finding it to try it on, but after I decided I needed it I was able to score it for just less than 30 bucks (shipping included) on ebay.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iceskate on 4/3/2010 3:49:00 PM more reviews by iceskate

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this recently on ebay as it was only £20 for the 50ml gift set inc 200ml lotion.Its like nothing ive smelt before very unique and flamboyant could imagine lady gaga wearing this fragrance.would say that this is very feminine musky & sexy.Love the packaging!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kcairns on 3/12/2010 4:10:00 PM more reviews by Kcairns

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Well, this is certainly an interesting one. At first spray I was overwhelmed by an smell that reminded of those cheap little tree-shaped air fresheners found in mini cabs everywhere. Like a blast of cheap and nasty aldehydes used in products that exist only to cover the nastiest of odours, rather than to make anthing actually smell nice. After maybe 45 minutes this subsided somewhat and I got the aroma of lozenges as described by other reviewers - not a 'bad' smell to me, but not something I'd really want to wear. It wasn't until the next day when putting my scarf on that I caught a whiff of some lovely aroma I didn't recognise. It took a couple of minutes before I could even work out what it was and then I recalled my unsatisfactory run in with Let it Rock the previous day and realised that it was the residue of that! Well it was a surprise to me given my initial negative reaction to it. It was good enough that I had to have another shot at testing it. Sadly on the second wearing I found my experience exactly the same as the first time - pretty unpleasant. Sadly there's not much I enjoy about this fragrance except in the (very) long drydown. I can only assume from the many positive reviews I've read of this scent (on mua and elsewhere) that others must experience these lovely soft floral notes I get from it the next day at a much earlier point than I do so I've given it a 3. Definitely not for me though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* traes on 8/8/2009 11:04:00 AM more reviews by traes

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Beautiful. I can detect most of the individual notes in this, the bergamot, the mandarin, the jasmin, even a hint of patchouli. This is so much more than just an amber fragrance. I have liked many amber fragrances, especially the one mentioned below, Ambre Precieux, but never found them wearable. Let it Rock is a very wearable amber fragrance. I purchased this unsniffed based on reviews here and elsewhere, and I am not the least bit disappointed. This is a very feminine fragrance, but not overly sweet. Not too spicy or too woody. Not too perfumey. Just a beautiful blend. I *love* the way I smell right now.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lilly_munster on 7/13/2009 2:34:00 AM more reviews by lilly_munster

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a great fragrance but unfortunately the packaging doesn't do it justice. Personally I wouldn't like to smell it on a young girl and I can't figure out why they put it in such an unsophisticated girlish package. It's mature and sophisticated so if you're over 30 don't be fooled by the ugliness of the bottle and give it a try. Chances are you'll end up buying it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fascinationbeauty on 6/17/2009 3:46:00 PM more reviews by fascinationbeauty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Hello ?!


why are there only 3 (!!!) reviews ?

This fragrance is special.



And i am almost a fragrance authist ... i smelled all the fragrances out there from Serge Lutens, Dior, Chanel, Lancóme, Ferragamo, Cacharel, DKNY, Guerlain, Hermés, Elizabeth Arden, Dyptique, Comptoir Sud Pacifique, Viktor&Rolf ... YOU NAME IT. I guess people´s fragrances in the subway o.O


HOWEVER : i´ve fallen in love with this Vivienne Westwood Creation .. i smell amber (best amber i eveeeeeeeeer smelled - i don´t like amber AT ALL actually) , jasmine (MY facourite smell), myrrhe (sexy, smokey ... but only a bit) and an austrian soda called "Almdudler" (with herbs and lemon).

Great.

I feel like a grown up "free-spirit". And very british.

I love fragrances giving me a certain feeling in no time ...


TRY IT !

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Vivienne Westwood products

More Fragrances products