MakeupAlley has a FREE Android App!

MAC • Lipglass in Lychee Luxe • Lip Gloss

rated 4.1(324 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laratron on 7/8/2007 3:27:00 AM more reviews by laratron

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    



Picture:Lychee Luxe Lipglass applied generously to unlined lips. If the image above isn't working, you can find it mirrored http://mac.larahill.com/swatch/displayimage.php?pos=-294.


Confession: I am not a coral or orange person. I'm pale with very strong pink undertones, and past experience has proven time and time again that I find it incredibly difficult to find an orange or coral colour that will suit my complexion and work on my eyes, lips or cheeks.


I only purchased Lychee Luxe because I needed to use up a credit note at MAC, and found myself in the pleasant position of not needing anything - no eyeshadows, no powders, nothing. I didn't even require anything from the current collection that was sitting on the bench. Finally I asked the lovely girl behind the counter to randomly recommend me something, and she replied 'Lychee Luxe lipglass' and handed me the tester. I swatched it on my hand, internally cringed a little bit but decided to follow her advice. I could always pass it on to my mother, give it to a co-worker or add it to my already giant working kit, right?

When I got back to the car, I cautiously applied a bit to show my fiance and was very pleasantly surprised by his positive response. Even in the harsh light of a sunlit carpark and viewed in the altogether cruel passenger mirror, it looked fresh and vibrant but not OTT. My fears of looking like a washed-up, post-menopausal Vegas showgirl were unfounded, and instead I looked the picture of radiant healthfulness. It was flattering, subtle without being invisible, shimmery without being glittery and didn't split or slide when applied over my lipbalm.


Swatched on my hand, this colour is bright. Think Vegas Volt lipstick - super intense orange with a coral twist. When applied to my lips with the doe-foot applicator, the colour mellows out and picks up the natrual pinkness of my lips to turn into a gentle semi-sheer melon-based coral. The golden pearl becomes more prominent and adds some subtle sparkle and 'lift' to the lip colour. The colour intensity isn't that overpowering unless I apply the gloss thickly.


The colour itself is uplifting and refreshing, and it isn't garish against my pale features unless I really pack it on. Since MAC tweaked the formula of the lipglass range, they're nowhere near as sticky or smudgy as they used to be. The formula still has the lasting power of a thick sticky gloss, but it now has some 'slip' that prevents it from sticking to itself and leaves a smooth sensation on the lip.


Would I repurchase this? I've said yes because I was incredibly surprised at how well this actually worked with my colouring and complexion, and one should never let a rare make-up success story slip from one's fingers! If you're interested in purchasing this, I highly recommend trying before you buy.


Ingredients: Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Octyldodecanol, Silica, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Tocopheryl Acetate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, Tin Oxide, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Acrylates Copolymer, Vanillin, Isopropylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben. May contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Carmine (CI 75470), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Red 6 (CI 15850), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red Lake 28 (45410), Red 30 Lake (CI 73360), Red 33 Lake (CI 17200), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985), Yellow 10 Lake (CI 47005).


I am: PPP, MAC NW15/NW100, KA SSE SX 01, Prescriptives Real Camellia, black hair and blue eyes.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jeana on 4/29/2009 11:53:00 AM more reviews by Jeana

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Gorgeous colour!!!


I was kind of scared to use this at first, as I usually stick with basic pinks and this looekd pretty dark and reddish-orange in the tube. I am slowly trying other colours and I am soooo happy I ordered this. Also, I am fairly pale, so I was worried that it would be too much colour for me - boy was I wrong :)



On me, this is a very nice, somewhat opaque, pinkish-red coral colour with very fine shimmery gold. I don't pull orange or peach with this like some of the other reviewers. I seem to get more of a red tint to it, but not an overwhelming red or anything like that.




This looks great on its own, but looks even better paired with MAC Blow Dry Lustre l/s. I use Gosh Peach Pearl Lip liner before I put on Blow Dry (matches well). This is a great spring/summer colour, especially nice when combined as above.



The lipglass is of course, a bit sticky, but lasted a surprisingly long time on my lips. It has a nice shine (not ott), and feels really nice on.



This colour really warmed up my fair skin, and I received many compliments when I wore this out the other day. My hair has hints of auburn in it now (due to the sun), and this went really well with my hair colour.



I have to hide this one, as my teen daughter has been trying to get her mitts on it!



For reference: NW15, blue eyes, med. auburnish-brown hair.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lucdiaz on 7/2/2006 2:52:00 PM more reviews by lucdiaz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Intense coral gloss which looks amazing with spice or stripdown liner (tan or brownish). Will not be re-purchasing because E.L.F. makes a gloss called "Watermelon" which is an exact match, but for the taste and smell (which I happen to like) and only costs $1!!! A couple of the E.L.F. glosses are exact dups for the MAC ones: Candlelight for Prr, Pink Ice for Cultured, Watermelon for Lychee Luxe.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lareinarumbera on 5/11/2010 1:50:00 PM more reviews by lareinarumbera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i'm generally very scared of corals (the dreaded "cheetos lip" effect), but that being said, i loooove lychee luxe. in the tube it is a almost frightful neon orange-pink (in the sunlight it looked a bit more pink but still scary), but on the lips it's a golden, pretty, shimmery coral-pink that is totally fab on my pale asian skin (NC 15/ BE fair/BB cool beige). it gives the lips a kick of summery color and makes them look plump and lush. standard MAC vanilla & long-lasting, sticky feel.


i also tried pink lemonade, which was also pretty, but too glue-y on my naturally pigmented lips - as in, the color seemed to be forming a coral-tinted elmer's glue like film and didn't mesh well with the natural tones of the lips. if you had less pigment in your lips though, you could go for that one - but you don't need both (one is essentially a lighter version of the other).


would buy again - joins my two favorite lipglasses, prrr (a ballet-slipper-esque peachy satiny pink) and nymphette (rosy pink with fine gold pearl) for topping off lipstick/lipliner and for wearing on its own :). i'm a convert!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Trinity675 on 6/25/2009 10:46:00 PM more reviews by Trinity675

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this one. I LOVE this color and this gloss!!! Whenever I feel blah or if I feel like something is missing from my look or I want a pick me up, I wear this color!! Lychee Luxe is always the right choice!! I got it a couple months ago and I've almost used it up!

Gorgeous glowy, shimmery coral color and great texture, as expected from a MAC lipglass. It brightens up my whole face and makes me look alive. My favorite way to wear it is a summery pinup: some black or deep brown winged liner, blush, and this gloss!! Gorgeous!!! Definitely a HG for me and I will definitely repurchase again and again.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Edoosh on 6/10/2012 8:48:00 PM more reviews by Edoosh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I enjoyed this lipgloss! I love all of MACS lipglass. This shade is really pretty, especially if you have light-medium (Beige) skin like mine, it brings out your warm undertones and is a perfect color for summer. I wouldn't use to much since it is pigmented. This lasted me for a really long time- maybe 2-3 hours! I would reccomend this to everyone!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KeyWestBum on 3/20/2012 10:15:00 AM more reviews by KeyWestBum

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this shade on me. I have cool toned pigmented lips so this coral gloss pulls more pink then orange on me. Lychee Luxe is very pigmented and I got bright true to color coral with one coat. There are tiny sparkles in this gloss as well. I am a big fan of the color on me. Coral anything really compliments my skintone.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LeMinx on 1/29/2012 11:29:00 PM more reviews by LeMinx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Since I'm always on the hunt for the "universally flattering shade" of lip gloss/stick, I bought this online after reading the many fabulous reviews. While I do like the formula (hence the two lippies), this color is atrocious and completely unflattering on me.

I have tan/olive skin (think Beyonce), and Lychee Luxe tends to pull very orange and coral-y on me. That might be tolerable if applied lightly and topped with another gloss, but this contains so much glitter that it looks like I kissed a craft table. Personally, I don't understand the need for so much glitter in every day makeup. While glitter can be cute and whimsical when you're younger, after a certain age you just look a bit loony walking around with a glittering face and lips.

I would not repurchase this again simply because the shade isn't right for me. Great formula, great vanilla smell but awful, awful color.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glitternglitzy on 6/9/2009 1:06:00 AM more reviews by glitternglitzy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I just bought Lychee Luxe tonight for the first time. I've been on a lip gloss kick lately since figuring out I don't need anything on my face but moisturizer and some tarte cheek stain. Things have changed since the days of full face foundation and powder and so has what I love on my lips.


I think lip gloss usually appears more youthful and so since I'm going for that 'younger' glow I picked up four really pigmented lip glasses for summer (MAC - the most pigmented on the market so I've heard) so I can always have a different look without having to wear lipstick. I got Lychee Luxe (Coral), Russian Red (Fresh Rasberry Red), Pop Mode (Plum) and Pink Poodle (Fresh bright pink).


I expected Lychee Luxe to be great on the lips and I was totally right! It is very fresh and summery and shows up a coral pink on my lips. It is oh-so flattering and it's simply STUNNING on. I bet this gloss would look great with just about any eyes/cheeks. It's not a blend in color but it is not loud and doesn't shout. It's a very awake and alive color that makes me feel energetic!


Out of the four I bought I would say this and Russian Red are my top two favorites. This coral lip gloss is about as youthful, fresh and glowy as a color can get. A must have for summer or anytime of year!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maliastyle on 5/3/2004 7:40:00 PM more reviews by maliastyle

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My hands-down, no contest, absolute favorite Lipglass - or lip gloss, period. It does to my lips what Fabulush and Orgasm do for my cheeks - a healthy, summery coral flush that doesn't make me look "done," just fresh and glowy. Perfect!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lip Gloss products