Worth Courtesan

3.4

17 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/1/2014 7:44:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Grey, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

A whisper of a perfume on me, hardly anything, washed out to the point where I am seriously doubting its freshness. And yet there is something to it that I half suspect I would like. There's a whiff of pineapple, a fleeting hint of it. Hells bells, I have to find me another bottle to try. Other reviewers attest to its strength, the spice, the musk. Not in my bottle, which came from an online discounter, maybe old stock. This is not a reliable review!



on 12/24/2012 8:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've been wearing Courtesan for 3 days now, and having swapped for it unsniffed, I am happy to say that it's a real winner for me.


Like other reviewers have noted, it is subtle, but definitely present, with an average sillage that fades considerably in less than 3 hours, and then it becomes a subtle skin-scent.


Courtesan is lovely to me because it's a slightly sweet, ultra-feminine fluffy white-marabou powderpuff scent, but it has a bit of slightly tart pineapple and a very piquant, spicy warmth to it, too, without delving into oriental or gourmand territory. It starts with light, sweet pineapple, which to my nose isn't oppressively sweet in the least because it's a dry, high-pitched sweetness, laced with classic rose-violet floral notes and face powder.


There's a strong undercurrent of dry, hot spice, which seems like a perfect blend of cinnamon and cedar with a sigh of cumin. I usually detest cumin in fragrance, but here it's very light and lends humanity to the perfume. The effect smelled instantly familiar -- hot, dry skin, warmed by the sun or sauna in a dry heat, with no glow of perspiration at all.


I don't find Courtesan over-the-top sexy, but it *is* an unmistakeably high-femme fragrance with hints of clean, warm skin, which make it feel intimate. I see myself wearing this more at home and to bed than out. The notes stay pretty linear throughout, but eventually blend into one-another in a perfect, cuddly radiation of warmth.


It's not a remarkable perfume to me, but it's an easy, appealing pick for ultra-feminine, classic, but never dated moments.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 12/10/2012 4:38:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Sadly, I couldn't get past the extremely sweet pineapple in the beginning. It was really intense on me.


on 10/12/2012 8:47:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Other, Cool

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I bought this fabulous perfume having never smelled it first! (Quelle Horreur!) I bought this fabulous perfume on the recommendation of some fellow Perfumistas whose opinions I value - some of them on various perfume blogs, and some of them right here on MUA.

It happens that I adore Courtesan. It is a beautiful yet subtle fragrance. There is something vaguely familiar about it, not that it smells like a particular perfume I already know, but that it smells like a wonderful amalgam of feminine things. To my nose, it smells like a boudoir -- like one has just entered the dressing room of a Courtesan who has prepared for an evening at the Opera -- traces of perfume hang in the air, there is a subtle suggestion of face powder and lipstick, there is the delicate scent of silk stockings, possibly worn during the day and now hang carefully, draped over a dressing screen. I can smell the warmth of skin, fresh from a steamy bath.
That is my impression of Courtesan by Worth. I think the creator of this perfume, Pierre Bourdon, has captured the essence of how that elegant boudoir, belonging to a beautiful Courtesan, might smell upon entrance to that special domain.
Courtesan is somehow familiar, but it is different enough, and changeable enough to be a delight to wear from beginning to end. It wears lightly on my skin, but has enough presence to be detectable from close proximity. It is the kind of scent that I don't think most people would identify as "perfume" - it is the kind of scent that would elicit the simple comment "oh, you smell nice!"

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2012 11:34:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

One of the sexiest scents out there. It is a sweet spicy scent with notes of the bakery and apothecary. I get mixed spice, honey and vanilla. Lovely and unusual and doesn't get nearly enough love imo

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/4/2011 11:15:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Good Lord this scent is sexy! It certainly has the right name because I find this scent to be outrageously carnal and alluring. It is a floriental really, with top notes of fruit drenched in liquor and cinnamon with a flower bouquet heart and a soft peachy base. It features notes of: cinnamon, cardamon, clove, pineapple, red berries, bergamot, orange blossom, magnolia, jasmine, rose, sandalwood, peach, caramel, cocoa beans, amber, vanilla and musk.
I see that others have described it as "sweaty" or "skanky" and I totally concur with that (but not in a negative sense), this fragrance DOES smell to me like pure carnal, sweet, amber -fragranced sweat. When it first goes on I get an overwhelming sense of the power of vanilla and amber (which are two of my favourite scents)- almost like a lighter, sweeter and more sultry version of CK's Obsession. As it dries down it smells more like a velvety smooth musk on me. To me, this fragrance screams lust and passion and I cannot get enough of it. I think Courtesan is a very apt name and it actually does bring to my mind the image of a lady of the night from times past. For a modern day equivalent - think the TV series- True Blood- I can imagine this being a popular fragrance among many a female vampire. I cannot be without this fragrance. Ever.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 10/14/2011 3:41:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This was my first head-over-heels-must-have fragrance...and it was because it was sort of a "tabu"scent....heady/naughty/sensual/spicy/sweet. It was everything I want in a fragrance. Very indicative of it's name....it is seductively beautiful to me. There is an under current of a dirty note as mentioned previously, that is mild enough that it just hints and does not overpower. This fragrance is very distinct and I don't have anything else like it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/3/2010 10:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Not bad! Courtesan on my skin is simply cherry-sweet and powdery balanced, and with just a hint of cumin-like spice in its deepest heart. I now regret ordering such a small sample since I'd love to mist it on here and there and test-drive it on a grander scale. Interesting and memorable. Glad to have sampled, will most likely repurchase a larger quantity in the future.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Courtesan, made by the Worth Family, is perfectly named. I almost blushed when I first smelled it!! At first sniff, it smells like expensive makeup and perfume, and then *bang* it smells DIRTY. Dirty in a hot, sexy and almost raw way. WOW. It smells like a beautiful woman walking down an expensive street in Paris after having an "assignment" with the president.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/2/2010 11:19:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Other, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I'm not hating on this perfume. However, it has the overly perfumed rankness of a young, inexperienced girl who is too brash for her own good, and doesn't quite know what she's doing. Or a stripper who does. (Sorry, I had to say it, this -is- a stripper perfume). It smells like something else I have smelled many times... like parties in the Northeast about 10 years ago.
Something about this I enjoy, even though it's slightly too sweet and cloying, smells a little cheap and too strong.

This smells a lot like VS Heavenly, or Body by Victoria perfume, but this is a little better quality.

I can imagine men loving this one, though. They can probably smell it for sure. Most men I know have a hard time really detecting a scent unless it's quite strong, or you've just applied it, and this one is definitely noticeable. But not this 'lady' is not classy to my nose at all, just naked and ready for a good time. lol

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1375 Reviews
Chance
Chance
963 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1887 Reviews
Angel
Angel
1830 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews


Back to Top