FACE Atelier - Ultra Foundation

4.0

89 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclomethicone, Water, Glycerin, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cetyl Peg/Ppg-10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Cetyl Dimethicone Copolyol, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Quaternium-18 Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, Cellulose Gum, Nylon-12, Tribehenin, Lauroyl Lysine, Tristearin, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben. May Contain: Ci77891/Titanium Dioxide, Ci77492 Ci77491 Ci77499/Iron Oxides, Mica Ci77019


on 6/23/2015 1:02:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I just received my samples and I have to say I'm in love! I have fair, combination skin with large pores around the cheek area. With this makeup my pores look smaller, I don't look oily or dry, and it looks like my skin - not a bunch of makeup. I had this on the other day and actually ran around running errands in this Oklahoma heat and although I broke out in a sweat a couple times, my makeup still looked good even after wiping the sweat away. That's never happened before!
I wear a sunscreen underneath, as well as a moisturizer and it doesn't pill up. It layers very well where you need it. I use a setting powder over it (Bare Minerals Perfecting Powder), and it lasts until I take it off at night.
I can't wait to order more, and I was glad to see the listings for the two others sights to order from here in the states instead of Canada. I plan on getting the 0++ in order to keep up with my skin getting tanner this summer. What a great idea!
The two other places that sell it online in the states are:
http://camerareadycosmetics.com/ and http://whiterabbitbeauty.com/.
It is not tested on animals - another important plus for me, and it is fragrance free and vegan.
Give it a try!



on 3/25/2015 5:29:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Looks very skinlike on my 52 yo skin. No primer necessary, lasts all day without touch ups. One pump more than completely covers my face, and it's cruelty free!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/25/2015 1:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Hands down, the BEST foundation I've ever used!


on 3/22/2015 6:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I purchased this in the 0.68 oz sizes for $34 each, in two shades: Porcelain & Ivory. I found from the original samples I had ordered that I was able to mix the pefect shade for my pale warm complexion by combining approximately equal amounts of the two lightest shades, Porcelain and Ivory. On Face Atelier's website, they describe Porcelain as a "cool" shade, but it looks pretty neutral to me. Ivory is described as "warm," and I have to agree, it is both warm and yellow. In purchasing the Ultra Foundation, I hoped to use it to cover some areas of hypopigmentation, essentially Leucoderma, along the same lines of vitiligo. It's probably related to my underlying autoimmune disease of Lupus. The rest of my complexion is nice overall, but I have those dreadful white splotches along my cheekbones down to my jawline that look like someone stippled my skin with white paint on a small paint brush.
:-(

Anyway, I squirt one small dot of each foundation color on a flat foundation brush, and lightly tap the product on the sides of my face, from my cheekbones down to my jawline, where the Leucoderma is present. For the most part, this foundation covers the hypopigmentation and looks basically like my real skin! I'm very pleased with the result. Being the Virgo perfectionist that I am, though, I still go back in with a concealer brush and lightly stipple in some of my Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation Stick in the shade Porcelain. This step further blends in the pale areas, but I could probably get by without it. Because I want to make sure my handiwork stays put from dawn till dusk, I do set it with a powder. I like my Merle Norman Ultra Powder Foundation for this step, in the shade Ultra Fair. On the rest of my face, I usually apply a TM or BB cream, something that won't settle into any fine lines on my 41-year-old face (around my eyes and the nasolabial folds). After all of that work, I dab on a cream blush, usually Ben Nye, and then I set my T-zone with a light-diffusing powder (Nars Crystal or Guerlain Meteorites). After the final powdering, I like a light misting of natural rosewater, and find it brings life back to my skin so I don't appear too powdery. Overall, the Face Atelier Ultra Foundation feels comfortable, and is long-lasting. The silicone base eliminates the need for a primer under it, so that is nice. I've tried wearing it all over my entire face, which is nice if I want to look perfect for an evening out with my husband, but it's just as well for me to only apply it in the aforementioned problem areas so the product will last longer between purchases.

All of these cosmetics I've just described comes from the results of A LOT of trial and error, all of which has been quite expensive. In the past, I found that I didn't really care for DermaBlend, because it felt so thick and spackle-like and the colors never really matched my skin. I hope my review can provide insight for others who have hypopigmentation or hyperpigmentation to hide.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/18/2015 6:52:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this in zero to use as a corrector for foundation that is too dark. and I am so glad I did! my skin changes color - I am more pale in winter. but I buy ELDW foundation and cant afford to buy a new shade every time my skin changes tone. this is the perfect solution. I mix a dab into my ELDW until the shade matches my coloring and voila I have the right shade of the foundation that I love. I have sensitive acne-prone skin and have not had any issues.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/7/2015 6:30:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I don't understand the big woop about this foundation. It's a nice foundation but expensive for being only 'nice".

Let me be upfront and say that I probably have "extreme" foundation needs. I need coverage because I have rosacea and many small broken caps on my face. I'm also at the age where I have the dreaded "fine lines" so I need coverage that doesn't cake or dry out my skin too much. My skin is also very sensitive, so many products break me out. So, I'm asking A LOT of any foundation.

My skin is fairly light - I usually take the lightest shade in most foundation lines. With Face Ateiler, I need a mixture of Porcelain and Ivory. Okay, I've found that I need to mix most foundations to get the correct color, but when you're paying $$$ to do so, it's "ouch" time. That being said, my blend matched great and there was no line of demarcation to show where the makeup ended and my nude skin began.

Luckily, I bought samples to play with, so no big commitment. I mixed the 2 shades about 50/50 and have applied with my fingers, blending with fingers, and another time with a damp foundation brush. I've had to really build to get coverage and it never gets to the point where it's "heavy". The good of that is my skin doesn't look made-up; the bad is that I'm far from "flawless". I've also found that by the 8 hour mark, I've got patches of makeup fading off and redness coming out.

The finish is very nice - very "real skin" looking, a tad matte but not very. It doesn't make my fine lines look really bad, and the makeup feels nice and light on the skin. I've found that it needs to be set with powder or it will transfer very easily. My skin is fairly dry and I can't imagine this lasting on oily skin, but as they say YMMV.

All in all, this makeup would be worth a try if you don't need heavy coverage. If you have "average" skin, it would probably work very nicely, but you'll probably have to mix your color as they don't have a huge shade selection. Your skin will look lovely and nobody will know you're wearing makeup. It's currently very cold outside, so I can't judge how this would hold up to heat, humidity, or sweating.

Buy samples if you want to try this - it might wind up being your HG, but for me unfortunately, the search continues.



7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 12/16/2014 4:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a truly PROFESSIONAL foundation (M.A.C. lemmings, please take note), and there is a reason why authentic professionals keep Ultra Foundation as the kit "must have". It does what it claims to do, beautifully, and makes their jobs much easier.

The colours are beautifully calibrated (I wear Porcelain), and the finish is impeccable. Yes, it's very pigmented, and feels thicker initially, but this is because the formulation is silicone (not water) based -- a little goes a long, long way! It glides on, wears for a long time, does not look cakey or mask-like, and suits ALL skin types, including dry and mature. It's goof proof, and as there is no SPF, it's flash photo friendly.

Animal friendly, fragrance free, available in two sizes, and you're paying for QUALITY, not marketing or packaging.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 11/2/2014 2:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Such a disappointment! I was so looking forward to using this foundation, it ticked all the boxes- non-comedogenic, fragrance free, no alcohol etc. But it broke me out soooo badly! Every time I wore it new pimples would inevitably crop up (I generally have very clear skin due to using the pill). Not only this, but it was very cakey and made my skin feel suffocated- all I could think about is how much I looked forward to washing it off, not a good sign for foundation.

It did have good coverage, and I could imagine avid MAC fans would like it. I would advise against using it if you have sensitive, break out prone skin- it could potentially be a very expensive mistake (I forked out over 70 bucks!). Sometimes I wonder whether folks with pre-existing acne give good reviews to high coverage foundations primarily because they do a good job of hiding blemishes, not realising the product could be inflaming their acne. To me, a good foundation is sheer and breathable with a natural finish, with the label of non-comedogenic, no alcohol and preferably fragrance free/ very low fragrance. Apparently a combination almost impossible to find! (RIP Revlon's New Complexion foundation....how I underrated you!).


on 10/8/2014 1:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I am a long time lurker here but for this foundation, I am willing to write a review.
The FACE atelier Ultra is the best foundation I ever tried.
The texture of the product is amazing, applies smoothly. Medium coverage, just what I like. Doesn't sink into pores, doesn't smear, blotch, doesn't melt away during the day, and most of all: AMAZING COLOR. This is the first foundation that is not too dark for me (I wear the Porcelain shade). Bought their white foundation also: great for highlighting cheekbones or undereye area.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/7/2014 10:44:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I purchased this in zero minus (white) and it is probably one of the best makeup purchases ..... FINALLY I have foundation that is a match and does not oxidize .... this is a godsend for the super pale like myself ..... I use a beautyblender buff this incredible white foundation and then use one of my favorite concealers that in the past were off in terms of shade for me and buff that in and the end result is perfect coverage that is my perfect shade ..... zero minus is a MUST for anyone that can never find the right foundation shade .... it goes on perfectly, blends well and is long lasting ...... no more wasting money on foundation or concealer that is always off in color for me because zero minus saves the day ....a must buy!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Face Atelier Ultra Foundation Review & tutorial by starlitmakeupchick



Back to Top