Unlisted Brand • FACE atelier Ultra Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.9(78 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 supergal197 on 4/28/2014 8:23:00 PM more reviews by supergal197

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation. I bought a couple samples, and when i first put this on my face i was impressed. It looks natural, but still has good coverage. I used real techinques expert face brush dampened to apply this. To me it has a natural finish, not a dewy one. I don't like dewy foundations, they look oily on me, and they emphasize my minor (pitted) acne scars. A good thing about this foundation is that it doesnt sink in and emphasize my scars. Also i've been using benzoyl peroxide to clear my breakouts, and this doesnt cling to the dry patches either! Literally the only con about this foundation is that because my skin is combination, i will get really shiny in the t zone. The powders i own don't do much to control the shine. I'm considering ordering ultra matte and seeing how that works, because i've already gone ahead and ordered the full size of this foundation. I would absolutely recommend this, especially if you have normal - dry skin. If you're combo oily, this would be good for shorter periods, if you're taking pictures, or longer if you can find a good setting powder and/or setting spray.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tovah on 2/27/2014 3:06:00 PM more reviews by Tovah

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a beautiful foundation with coverage I've never before experienced. It creates a flawless, gorgeous matte finish; without being flat "matte" like old-school, clay-infused foundations. Since I usually wear sheer foundation, I wasn't sure I would like this, but I decided it was worth a try because of my hope to find a foundation that actually lasts more than a few hours. Believe me, this foundation is that and more.

This foundation almost fools me into thinking I have perfect skin all the time. Seeing my real skin after washing my face at night is a let-down! The stunning thing is that even though the coverage is fantastic, this looks "skin-like" and it feels shockingly light. A major selling point for me is that I don't need to powder my face after application. Sure, occasionally I need to touch up my nose (I blow my nose often because of allergies), but this foundation "sets" all by itself and asserts its presence. I am wearing shade #6 "Honey" (my skin is medium/olive, MAC NC35). I believe I look younger when I wear this, though I'm loathe to admit I want my foundation to make me look younger.

Like another reviewer mentioned, this foundation takes some getting used to. I've read reviews of this foundation that compare it to Armani Luminous Silk, and to La Mer, neither of which I've ever tried ("luminous" on me usually means "greasy", and my MOM wears La Mer so it must be "old" for me, lol). I guess these comparisons made me imagine that Face Atelier would feel silky, luxurious, and smooth. Surprisingly, it does not. In fact, without a damp sponge and just my fingers, I find it somewhat difficult to blend, and it can feel like it's going to be cakey. If you can stand it, though, do give it a few tries with different application methods (brush, sponge, etc.). It may be as worth it for you as it was for me. I apply it with a damp Beautyblender, but I still have to be careful not to use too much. The concentration is incredible. A drop the size of a dragée covers my whole face.

At first I thought this was too "full coverage" for me, but that's not the case at all. Yes, it's full coverage, but it wears like a sheer foundation. Also, at first #6 Honey seemed too light for me. A swatch of it on my chin practically glowed, and shade #6 is quite a bit lighter than my other foundations (see attached photo with swatches of MUFE, MAC, etc.). However, somehow, once it "sets" it works. I plan to purchase Tan soon, to trying mixing for the perfect shade. This foundation doesn't oxidize at all, plus, it works nicely with sunscreen underneath it; a priority for me. I am so glad I read the reviews and decided to play around with application and lighting. After "living" in this for a few days it's clear to me why this is the choice of makeup artists for Lady Gaga, Fergie, Madonna, Taylor Swift and the list goes on. It's hard to imagine ever finding a foundation better than this one. I am extremely impressed with the quality, longevity,texture, concentration, and elegance of this product, and I intend to explore many other products from FaceAtelier.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Videotapeses on 1/25/2014 10:57:00 AM more reviews by Videotapeses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

I bought samples from Camera Ready Cosmetics (who have $2 shipping vs the $10 shipping on Face Atelier's website. I got Porcelian and Zero Minus. The porcelian shade runs dark for my Nars Siberia skin tone, so I'm going to review the Zero Minus.
I'm super pale. I've used Nars Siberia in the past but HATED the formula, the color was a perfect match, very yellow and pale. There are not many dupes at all for Nar's Siberia. I suspect I'm even paler now after a year of weekly glycolic acid peels and daily sunscreen use.
The Zero minus formula is probably one of the best formulas for someone who owns a bunch of foundations that are too dark. It mixes well with most foundations. I'm currently using it with Armani Luminous Silk and it doesn't change the formula. If you're in the market for a white foundation to mix you pretty much have three options: Illamasqua, Face and Body by MAC and Face Atelier. The Illamasqua textures aren't good to mix with most foundations, the skin base sticks to dry skin and the rich liquid is extremely rich. Face and Body mixes with face and body.... The white shade is very runny and not pigmented enough to really tone down a foundation.
So on to Zero Minus:
Pros:
1. It's sillicone based. It has a smooth texture and you don't need to use a primer.
2. It's REALLY long wearing.
3. It works for dry skin. It doesn't settle in my pores and give my skin a rough texture like Nars Sheer Glow, and many other foundations.
4. Again, you can use it with many foundations and BB creams. Instead of shelling out $48 for a 1 ounce bottle or $33 for a .68 pro bottle AND having to purchase a colored foundation and double that price, you don't have to.
5. The bottle pumps very little product or a full pump, it doesn't waste product.
6. You have two options, A glass bottle or a plastic bottle, both have pumps. The price is fair for the smaller bottle with the amount of product you get.

Cons:
1. You have to work with it. It's not a one and done mix it with your foundation and you're good to go. I usually apply foundation with my fingers but this stuff dries the foudation down and you have to work really fast. I add a little moisturizer in to give myself more time. I also apply it with a flat top kabuki from everyday minerals.
2. It doesn't change the visable texture/ way a foundation sits on you skin but it does change the coverage. My very little coverage foundations are now medium to full. If you don't like that you can add moisturizer to thin the coverage.
3. You have to use more than a drop or two to lighten your foundation. I use a quarter to a full half pump.
4. It looks better the longer you wear it. The first hour is "meh" but it really looks better and dewier after time.
5. It seems to oxidixe a little. Or maybe that's my foundation. What I've found is I need to mix my foundation and zero minus lighter than my skin for it to be the right shade an hour later.

But yeah, I really think this is worth the price, and if you're not sure but intrigued order some samples from camera ready cosmetics. I spent $10 getting two decently sized samples and including the $2 shipping.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Leeleegbb on 8/20/2013 12:20:00 AM more reviews by Leeleegbb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have used this foundation on several skin types, color and age and it has not disappointed. I use a powder brush/kabuki to apply and blend it in. I find it has a full coverage and not much product is needed. A keeper for my kit.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetfart on 6/25/2013 5:07:00 PM more reviews by sweetfart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is the most overrated product that is under-advertised IMO, if that makes sense. What I mean is, Face Atelier is really only heard of amongst MU junkies and not sold in chain stores across the US. But I think it's overhyped by MU junkies who know about it.

Yeah, I get that this is loaded with silicones and that's great but so are many other foundations. The shade availability is meager and personally think it's a ripoff for Atelier to suggest buying the color correctors to add. Why don't you just make a wider range of common skin shades instead of making us buy another product and mix it ourselves?

Immediate finish was shockingly oily (you say dewy, I say oily, tomayto tomawto). How dry does my skin have to be to work with this stuff and make it look normal? It didn't accentuate pores and indents but it didn't blur them either. I was expecting them to be blurred with all the hype I heard.

Coverage is full.

Thankfully they offer samples. But I paid $10 in shipping to get those samples which I had so much hope for. There is nothing special about this foundation that you can't already find at Sephora.

Similar and better foundations: Lancome Teint Ultra, Hourglass Veil Fluid, Covergirl 3 in 1, Laura Mercier Moisture Supreme, Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* barcodegirl on 5/29/2013 2:30:00 PM more reviews by barcodegirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I only use zero minus to mix with other foundations, so I can't say how this performs on its own. But zero minus is an HG for me. Most foundations I try are too dark, even in the lightest shade. I had so many foundations that were just sitting around because I really had no use for them. Now, I just mix some of this in, and the foundation matches my skin tone perfectly. This doesn't seem to change the formulations of the actual foundation either. The one thing about this, though, is that that it doesn't do much if the foundation is too orange or too pink, since it's just pure white. But at least I can feel more comfortable trying new foundations, since I can just mix a little of this in if they are too dark.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* garstrieper on 5/1/2013 12:36:00 PM more reviews by garstrieper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased a sample of this and the Porcelain shade on Face Atelier's website on the recommendation of the MUA Lisa Eldridge. The porcelain shade was laughably dark and brown in undertones, so I passed it along to a friend, but I've been mixing the white with my HG concealer (that I currently use as a foundation), Amazing Cosmetics in Ivory, and am getting interesting results. It's lifting the AC concealer to my exact skin tone, and it's also counteracting the oiliness of the concealer for a more matte look. I'm still on the lookout for my HG foundation that will match, correct, conceal and not be too heavy, cakey, oily or matte, but until the day comes when the clouds part and the Heavens shine down on the perfect product somewhere, I suppose I'll purchase this Zero Minus and use it to mix with some different things until I find something that works. DAMN YOU PALE SKIN!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nocturnem on 4/28/2013 2:50:00 PM more reviews by nocturnem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this foundation in Zero Minus because I'm so fair (about NC5) that I can never find ready-made foundations that work for my skintone. I mix it with a Korean BB cream (Skin79 Orange Vital), and for the first time in my life, my face matches my body! It's been a lifesaver for that.
It is, however, a bit tricky to work with. The BB cream I have glides on easily, but mixing Zero Minus into it makes it dry very fast so you have to put less at a time and work in layers. It will also make flaky skin more noticeable, so instead of applying it in a circular motion or buffing it into the skin, I find it's better to apply with fingers in an up-down way, like painting. It somewhat shortens the staying power of the BB cream too, and although I use a primer under it and powder on top, by the 6-7 hour mark my skin is kinda oily and the foundation has caked a bit and emphasized lines. Color wise, my skintone is very yellow and I do not find that Zero Minus cools the color of my BB cream, which is warm toned. I would say it's a neutral white, so it doesn't really change anything.

All in all, it is a good product that does its job well enough. There aren't too many similar products in the market (Illamasqua does have two white foundations I believe, one neutral and one pink, but they are tricky to find in the US, Sephora only carries the pink), so even though there are things I don't like, I will probably repurchase. I'd only recommend staying away from it if you're very very oily, or have a lot of flaky skin and dry patches. Also, since the formula isn't stellar, it's probably best to mix Zero Minus with any silicon based foundation you already like instead of with another tone of FACE Atelier ULTRA foundation to minimize the problems.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 29atheart on 3/27/2013 10:16:00 PM more reviews by 29atheart

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is wonderful. I have hard to match coloring so I'm used to mixing foundations. The fact that this company designed colors for mixing is awesome!!!! ( it's because a woman runs the company). I use #6 which is too light, but matches my undertone best. Then I add some zero plus and it's perfect. It seems the odd numbers are more on the warm side and odds are on the cool side. I apply with a beauty blender. This foundation feels great on my face. Looks awesome. Love the pump. My only complaint is I wish it had better staying power. I would by this again.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gitts on 2/24/2013 12:17:00 PM more reviews by gitts

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the FACE Atelier Ultra Foundation in #12 Sable at the IMATS Toronto in November. Only recently, I started using this foundation and I am in love. Very few makeup brands are able to get colors right for women of color. This is one of the first liquid foundations that has matched my skin tone so well. I apply the foundation with the beauty blender for a flawless slightly satin finish. I use a pump and a half to cover my face. The coverage is medium but very buildable. Once set, this foundation lasts me a full 12 hours.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Liquid products