Kerastase • Spray Volumactive • Styling Products

rated 3.3(16 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 12/3/2013 3:32:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on my 3rd bottle of this. First the bad: it's obviously overpriced, and if you have long hair this tiny bottle will not last long at all, and lastly - this doesn't give much volume, it's almost like a very light leave-in conditioner.

The good: I love the scent, very fresh and clean. I have long hair (past bra strap currently) that is thick but flat, colour-treated and highlighted. I have used tons of volumising sprays from Bumble and Bumble thickening spray (adds volume BUT reaks of alcohol for over an hour on my hair, very very drying, I'd pass if you dye/highlight your hair), Pantene Root Lift (very good, actually I prefer it to Kerastase for a more textured look) and Pureology Root Lift (good as well) and L'oreal sprays (meh - not much difference). I like the Kerastase for a more natural, soft voluminous look. Pantene Root Lift is one of my favourites and gives more volume than this but leaves hair slightly drier. I tend to spray a bit of Kerastase and then more Pantene at the roots for more volume there.

Overall - this may work better for short to medium length finer hair, it worked well on my long thick hair but did not give me as much volume as I would get with some other products. Also the bottle is only 125mL and I need more than double the spray that I would use with other brands so I go through this rather quickly. I like it best for a daily, natural not too textured, more professional work hair styles. It gives very light lift, and leaves my hair soft and not crispy at all. I get Kerastase from a family member so it doesn't cost me - but for my hair, I would *not* buy this when Pantene works better at like 1/8 the cost.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Moonchitaa on 3/3/2012 6:05:00 AM more reviews by Moonchitaa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Utter crap. I have struggled with fine, silky limp hair my entire life and have probably tried every volumizing product known to humanity and this was one of the worst. Ever.
It did literally nothing at all- my hair looked the same after using this as it did if I just air dried it with no product at all- and its not cheap. I dont get it- Kerastase is a high quality brand and yet for some reason they suck when it comes to fine, limp and oily rooted hair. If your hair is coarse, dry and damaged they are fantastic and their products for this type of hair really work (they worked on mine after I had a perm and my hair was like straw). Now my hair is healthy again and my oily roots have come back I can find nothing in their range to work for me. In fact, the entire green "volume" range is useless- I may as well be spraying plain water on my hair for all this range did for me.
For the price of this product, its VERY disappointing and I will not be repurchasing.
I still think Kerastase have a fantastic range for dry and damaged hair but when it comes to limp, oily hair they really dropped the ball :(

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 YoHarajuku on 12/15/2011 6:18:00 AM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have very oily, long medium thick hair and have always been wary of applying products directly to my roots but decided to give it a try as volumizing products I have applied to the rest of my hair gave me so so results. I applied alot of this product directly to my roots, blow dried with a bristle brush. Was quite pleased, hair was definetly fuller and bouncier at roots. No sticky or greasy feeling.

This product was very expensive 17.90 in a luxury hair hair care shop at my local mall. I normaly buy all my beauty products online to save money but was going on vacation and couldn't wait for it to arrive in the mail. I do think it is over priced especially as it is a small bottle. I found that after only using it a few times it already looked half used! I would definetly buy again but not for the full retail price, only if I can get it at a discount online.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 swedishsweets on 5/9/2011 4:17:00 PM more reviews by swedishsweets

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This spray from Kerastase is the only spray I have ever purchased that has delivered on it's promise to add volume. It trumps Bumble and Bumble Thickening spray and Phyto's Phytovolume. I have long, color treated, fine hair and with a few pumps of this stuff, my hair looks totally sex kitten. You do have to be careful not to over use...too much = matted hair. I have found that one good spray at the roots on the crown and one sweeping spray at the roots on the back of my head gets the job done. If you are thinking of getting the Volumactive shampoo & conditioner to go with it...try a sample first. I found that they made my hair way too dry.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kayelle on 5/12/2010 10:45:00 PM more reviews by Kayelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this in Australia where it was painfully expensive (about $60 USD), but I think it was actually worth it. I find most hair products disappointing on one level or another, but this just works perfectly. It gives just enough long-lasting volume, without creating crunchiness or stiffness. I'll definitely purchase again, but back home where it's about half the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blushie on 8/5/2009 5:31:00 AM more reviews by blushie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was so hoping I would get what I paid for with this. The hairdresser used it on me after she washed my hair with the matching shampoo, and it looked really good.....I picked up a bottle on the way out after being impressed with the results. My hair was flat when I got home half an hour later though. My heart sunk a little (being a student, this was a big luxury), but I consoled myself with thinking maybe it was because it had been raining and the damp air had got to it. No..it was the spray. I've used it a few more times and the same thing happens...big hair for about half an hour, then it flops again. I'll keep using it because I like the smell, and I don't want to waste it entirely, but I will not buy this again. So disappointed!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 helenesq on 6/12/2009 7:50:00 PM more reviews by helenesq

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This did absolutely nothing! Volumizing, are they kidding?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JClarke on 4/5/2009 2:23:00 PM more reviews by JClarke

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I find this adds a little volume to my fine straight hair but it's not a dramatic effect. It tends to be a bit more dramatic the more you use but this is expensive! I like it but it doesn't add as much volume as the Kerastase Volumactive mousse. However, I find it much easier to use than the mousse since you can spray it into the roots, whereas the mousse goes all over the place.
Best used in combination with Volumactive shampoo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andee on 11/27/2008 7:33:00 AM more reviews by Andee

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Grey, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is my HG volume spray. I used to use Phytovolume Actif. I still have one left but never user it as the Volumactive is so much better. I'm just keeping it in case I ever run out of the Volumactive.


My hair is fine, though I have a lot. It is cut short and "peicey" (sp?). I just spray on the roots to my crown area and it gives me just the volume I need with no stiffness.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yslgitz on 8/25/2008 12:28:00 AM more reviews by yslgitz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

this stuff is really good,av been using 4 past 3 months...its really good....av fine curly hair..it doesnt weigh down hair...but u have to spray from a distance...not too close,i use oleo curl shampoo and conditioner along with it and my hair feels really good....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kerastase products

More Styling Products products